Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the extract

Kalama & another v Attorney General & 7 others (Land Case E061 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 2577 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
27 April 2026
907 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Environment and Land Court in Malindi froze all activity on six contested Kilifi land parcels until the ownership dispute is fully heard, but refused a broader injunction.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is an interlocutory ruling of the Environment and Land Court at Malindi delivered by Mwangi Njoroge J on 27 April 2026. The plaintiffs sued over land measuring about 18.9463 ha known as Kilifi/Pingilikani/151, 162, 274, 275, 507 & 573, alleging that their deceased ancestors' ancestral land was properly adjudicated in 1995 but that titles issued in 2023 following deliberate delay did not reflect the position on the ground. They plead fraud in adjudication objection proceedings undertaken in the names of deceased persons, non-owners or fictitious parties, enabling the 4th to 8th defendants to appropriate the greater portion of the land, with fresh beaconing occurring in 2025 allegedly under the supervision of a DCI officer and armed police. The court had earlier, on 21 January, dismissed the 4th and 5th defendants' preliminary objection seeking striking out of the suit, holding that Sections 29 and 30 of the Land Adjudication Act did not bar the claim and that even a first registration title may be challenged for fraud under the Land Registration Act. Applying Nguruman and the Giella v Cassman Brown principles, the court found the plaintiffs had established a prima facie case and that disposal of the property pending trial would complicate and protract the litigation. The application dated 9/6/2025 was allowed only to the extent that the status quo prevailing over the suit parcels shall remain undisturbed by any party until the final hearing and determination of the suit. No costs order appears in the judgment.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the plaintiffs have satisfied the conditions for an interlocutory injunction, in particular a prima facie case
  2. 2.Whether preservation/status quo orders are necessary pending the hearing and determination of the suit

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiffs established a prima facie case

Holding

Yes - the plaintiffs showed a right threatened with violation sufficient to satisfy the first Giella limb

Reasoning

The court adopted its earlier ruling on the preliminary objection, in which it held the suit was not barred by Sections 29 and 30 of the Land Adjudication Act because the plaintiffs allege fraud after adjudication, with beaconing as recently as 2025. Relying on Nguruman, the court found the plaintiffs had demonstrated a threatened right needing protection, satisfying the prima facie case limb.

p. 2
02

Whether preservation of the suit property is necessary pending trial

Holding

Yes - disposal of the property would complicate and protract the litigation, justifying status quo orders

Reasoning

The court reasoned that if the defendants disposed of the suit property it might be taken beyond the plaintiffs' reach and would unnecessarily complicate and protract the litigation. Preservation pending hearing was therefore warranted, though only as a status quo order rather than the full injunction sought.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • An applicant for an interlocutory injunction must show a right which is threatened and needs protection
  • Even a first registration title is not immune from challenge on the ground of fraud under the Land Registration Act

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The application dated 9/6/2025 is allowed to the extent that the status quo prevailing over the parcels of land known as Kilifi/Pingilikani/151, 162, 274, 275, 507 & 573 shall remain undisturbed by any of the parties until the final hearing and determination of the present suit

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Environment and Land Court jurisdiction under its constituting statute (not expressly cited in the extract)

Relief refused

#

A full interlocutory injunction in the terms sought (restraining entry, trespass, cultivation, building, sale and disposal)

The court granted only a status quo order rather than the full injunction prayed for

p. 2

Costs

No costs order stated in the judgment

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

the application dated 9/6/2025 has merit and the same is allowed to the extent that the status quo prevailing over the parcels of land known as Kilifi/ Pingilikani /151,162,274,275,507, & 573 shall remain undisturbed by any of the parties until the final hearing and determination of the present suit.
p. 2final orders - status quo pending trial
It is clear that the plaintifis have satisfied the limb of a prima facie case as one of the conditions set out in the case of Giella Vs Cassman Brown 1973 EA 358.
p. 2prima facie case
the provisions of the Land Registration Act under which the title in the year 2025 was issued do not exclude any title from challenge on the basis of fraud, not even a first registration title.
p. 2indefeasibility and fraud
This court would be in a position to order, if such fraud was proved at the hearing, that the titles issued to the 4th to the 8th defendants be cancelled.
p. 2potential remedy on proof of fraud

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The parcel numbers are inconsistently stated - the injunction prayer and order list Kilifi/Pingilikani/151,162,274,275,507 & 573 while the quoted earlier ruling refers to 547 instead of 507

minor

The case number of the suit and the application are not stated in the judgment extract

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kalama & another v Attorney General & 7 others (Land Case E061 of 2025) [2026] KEELC 2577 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the extract. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2026/2577/eng@2026-04-27

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.