Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment text provided· [2019] KEELC 3415 (KLR)

Canon Assurance (K) Ltd v Ali Hamadi Mwagude & 4 others [2019] KEELC 3415 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court of Kenya
9 May 2019
5,099 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~20 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Diani landowner lost its property dispute because holding a title deed alone wasn't enough—it had to prove how it originally acquired the land.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, a company, sued seeking declarations that it was the lawful registered owner of KWALE/DIANI/203 under a title deed issued on 20th August 1998, that the 4th defendant's 2007 registration of the 1st defendant was fraudulent and a nullity, an injunction in respect of the original and subdivided parcels, and rectification of the register to reinstate the plaintiff. The 1st, 2nd and 3rd defendants each asserted genuine titles derived from an allocation by the Settlement Fund Trustee to the 1st defendant, with the 2nd and 3rd defendants pleading bona fide purchaser status. The 4th and 5th defendants denied fraud and raised the notice requirement under Section 13A of the Government Proceedings Act. The plaintiff called the former Land Registrar (PW2), who supported its title and alleged the Green Card had been fraudulently replaced in 2007, while the current Land Registrar (DW2) testified that the records were intact, contained no entries supporting the plaintiff's title, and showed a chain of title from the 1st defendant to the 2nd and 3rd defendants. The court framed the issue as which of the two proffered titles was sanctionable. Applying Munyu Maina, it held that a registered proprietor must prove the legality of acquisition beyond merely producing the title instrument. Finding that the plaintiff failed to prove its root of title, that the alleged fraud was not proved on a balance of probabilities, and that the 2nd and 3rd defendants had demonstrated due diligence in acquiring their titles, the court dismissed the suit with costs on 9th May 2019.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff discharged the evidential burden of proving its root of title

Holding

The plaintiff failed to discharge the burden; merely producing the title deed did not demonstrate how it acquired the property

Reasoning

The court held that where a registered proprietor's title is challenged, the proprietor must prove the legality of acquisition. The plaintiff's original purchase documents from the Settlement Fund Trustee were said to be lost, with no evidence supporting the loss, and the official register (per DW2) contained no entries supporting the plaintiff's title. The onus lay on the plaintiff, not the defendants, to call the SFT witness.

p. 5
02

Whether the alleged fraud by the 1st and 4th defendants was proved

Holding

The fraud alleged was not proved on a balance of probabilities

Reasoning

Although the plaintiff's PW2 (a former Land Registrar) testified that the 2007 entries by Mary Kai were fraudulent and that the Green Card had been replaced, DW2 (the current Land Registrar) testified that the registry records were intact, with no interference or reconstruction. The court found no evidence proved the pleaded particulars of fraud.

p. 5
03

Whether the 2nd and 3rd defendants were bona fide purchasers for value without notice

Holding

The court accepted that the 2nd and 3rd defendants demonstrated how they acquired their titles after due diligence, protected as purchasers without notice

Reasoning

Relying on Fletcher v Peck as cited in Eunice Grace Njambi Kamau, the court noted the protection of innocent third-party purchasers. The 3rd defendant conducted searches, obtained Land Control Board consent, and the defendants' evidence (DW2's chronology) supported the chain of title flowing from the 1st defendant to the 2nd and 3rd defendants.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • A registered proprietor whose root of title is under challenge must go beyond the title instrument and prove the legality of the acquisition
  • Indefeasibility of title under the Torrens system can be rebutted only by proof of fraud or misrepresentation in which the buyer is himself involved
  • A certificate of title under the RLA is merely prima facie evidence of the matters shown therein
  • Purchasers without notice for valuable consideration are protected even where a conveyance is set aside for fraud between the parties

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The plaintiff's suit is dismissed with costs

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Government Proceedings Act, Cap 40Section 13A
  • Land Control ActNot specified
  • Registered Land Act (RLA)Sections 30 and 32(2)

Cases cited (11)

  • Rose Wakinyi Karanja & 3 Others as legal representatives of the Estate of the late Kirundi & Another
    CA No. 172 of 2010
  • Arthi Highway Ltd and West Butchery Limited & 6 Others
    CA No. 246 of 2013
  • Munyu Maina –v- Hiram Gathiha Maina
    Civil Appeal No. 239 of 2009
  • Kenya Railways Corporation –v- Fermento Investments Ltd
    C.A. No. 163 of 2009 (unreported)
  • Katende –v- Haridar & Company Ltd
    (2008) 2 EA 173
  • Falcon Global Logistics Co. Ltd –v- Management Committee of Eldama Ravine Boarding Primary School
    (2018) eKLR
  • Jackson Kamau Kanyuru –v- Stephen Githinji Weru
    (2018) eKLR
  • Charles Karathe Kiarie & 2 Others –v- Administrators of the Estate of John Wallace (Mathare deceased) & 5 Others
    (2013) eKLR
  • Eunice Grace Njambi Kamau and Arthur –v- The Attorney General & 5 others
    civil suit No. 976 of 2012
  • Fletcher –vs- Peck
    10 U.S 87 (1810)
  • National Bank of Kenya –v- Lawrence Otweyo Gumbe
    (2006) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court under Article 162(2) of the Constitution (implied; not expressly cited in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Later judgments citing this (2)

#

Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Canon Assurance (K) Ltd v Ali Hamadi Mwagude & 4 others [2019] KEELC 3415 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2019). Not stated in the judgment text provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2019/3415/eng@2019-05-09

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.