Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Court of AppealDismissedNot stated in the judgment· [2024] KECA 418 (KLR)

Chutha v Ndung’u (Civil Appeal 293 of 2018) [2024] KECA 418 (KLR)

Court of Appeal
26 April 2024
3,717 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~15 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan title deed alone doesn't prove land ownership; courts will demand the full paper trail showing how the title was actually acquired.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a first appeal from the High Court concerning ownership of land parcel Ruiru West Block 1/673, originally allotted through Githunguri Constituency Ranching Company Limited. The appellant, the registered lessee, sued for injunction, eviction and damages for trespass; the respondent counterclaimed for a declaration of ownership and cancellation of the appellant's title, alleging he had bought the land from his aunt, the original shareholder Teresia Wambui Gitahi. The trial court dismissed the appellant's suit and allowed the counterclaim, cancelling the appellant's title as fraudulently and unprocedurally obtained. On appeal, the Court of Appeal framed a single issue: whether the learned Judge correctly decided who the rightful owner of the suit land is. The Court reaffirmed that under section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act a certificate of title is only prima facie evidence of ownership and can be challenged where obtained through fraud, misrepresentation, illegality, unprocedurally or by corrupt scheme. It found the appellant's account internally contradictory: he pleaded purchase from an original shareholder but testified he was the first allottee; he produced no sale agreement, receipts or ballot paper; he never met the vendor, did not know the land's location, and failed to call the intermediaries involved. The Court held that a title arising from a land-buying company must be supported by the full documentary trail of acquisition, and that waving a title unsupported by such documents is not proof of ownership. By contrast, the respondent sequentially proved the aunt's shareholding, the attested sale, the transfer and his possession. The Court also held the appellant could not challenge CID witness statements admitted by consent without objection. The appeal was dismissed in its entirety with costs to the respondent.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the appellant's registered title to Ruiru West Block 1/673 was indefeasible

Holding

No. The title was defeated because it was obtained unprocedurally; the appellant could not decipher or prove the root of the title, and the history of the title was full of gaps and contradictions.

Reasoning

Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act makes a certificate of title prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, but the rider permits challenge where the title was obtained through fraud, misrepresentation, illegality, unprocedurally or by corrupt scheme. The appellant gave contradictory accounts, never disclosed the original shareholder, produced no sale agreement or payment trail, and did not know the land's location. The Court, following Dina Management, held the registered proprietor must go beyond the instrument and prove legality of acquisition.

p. 5
02

Whether the respondent proved he was the bona fide purchaser from the original shareholder

Holding

Yes. The respondent sequentially demonstrated that Teresia (Telesia) Wambui Gitahi was the original allottee and shareholder, with share certificates, receipts, ballot no. 673, an attested sale agreement, a transfer-issued share certificate in his name, and possession corroborated by a Kenya Power application.

Reasoning

The respondent traced the documentary chain: share certificate no. 2421 and B-1676 in the aunt's name, receipts, ballot no. 673, an attested sale agreement dated 14th March 2008 for Kshs. 120,000, a new share certificate B-2001 issued on transfer, and an application for electricity supply in 2010. The vendor's CID statement, admitted by consent, corroborated the sale to the respondent. This satisfied the trial court, and this Court found the respondent was the rightful transferee of the share.

p. 5
03

Whether the un-cross-examined witness statements admitted by consent were unreliable

Holding

No. The appellant, present and represented by counsel, did not object to their admission and did not challenge their contents, so he cannot approbate and reprobate.

Reasoning

The statements taken at the CID Offices at Ruiru from Teresia Wambui Gitahi, the appellant himself and Boniface Njuguna were admitted by consent as the respondent's evidence. A party who consents to admission of documents and does not challenge their contents cannot later complain that the makers were not cross-examined. The objection was therefore without merit.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • A certificate of title is only prima facie evidence of ownership and may be challenged where obtained through fraud, misrepresentation, illegality, unprocedurally or by corrupt scheme; a registered proprietor must prove the legality of the root of title beyond the instrument itself.
  • Title arising from a land-buying company must be supported by the documentary trail of the acquisition process — payment receipts, ballot paper, sale agreement, stamp duty receipts, registration fees — and an unsupported title is not good proof of ownership.
  • Documents admitted by consent without objection or challenge to their contents cannot later be attacked on the ground that their makers were not cross-examined; a party cannot approbate and reprobate.
  • On a first appeal the Court must reconsider and evaluate the evidence and draw its own conclusions, while making due allowance for not having seen or heard the witnesses.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The appeal is dismissed in its entirety
  2. 2.Costs of the appeal awarded to the respondent

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Article 40(6)
  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Article 40
  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1)

Cases cited (6)

  • Dina Management Limited vs. County Government of Mombasa & 5 others
    [2023] KESC 30 (KLR)
  • Gitobu Imanyara & 2 others vs. Attorney General
    [2016] eKLR
  • Jacob Wekesa Bokoko Balongo vs. Kincho Olokio Adeya & another
    [2020] eKLR
  • Fahiye & 2 others – v- Omar & 4 others
    [201] 2KLR, 224
  • Milankumar Shah and 2 Others vs. City Council of Nairobi & Attorney General
    Nairobi HCC Suit No. 1024 of 2005 (05)
  • Champaklal Ramji Shah & 3 Anors –v- AG & Anor
    HCCC No. 145 of 1997
On appeal from
High Court (trial court, judge not named in the judgment)
Not stated in the judgment
Jurisdiction invoked
First appellate jurisdiction under the Court of Appeal's statutory appellate powers over High Court civil appeals (specific provision not stated in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Later judgments citing this (1)

#

Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Chutha v Ndung’u (Civil Appeal 293 of 2018) [2024] KECA 418 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keca/2024/418/eng@2024-04-26

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.