Cherunya v Max-Global Ltd & 2 others (Commercial Case E651 of 2026) [2026] SCC 211 (KLR)
The bottom line
#An Eldoret court dismissed an attempt to kick directors out of a Ksh 525,000 claim, confirming that misjoinder of parties cannot kill a suit in Kenya.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether the preliminary objection based on alleged misjoinder/no cause of action against the 2nd and 3rd respondents constituted a proper preliminary objection
The objection was not a pure point of law; it required the court to interrogate pleadings and ascertain facts, and even if misjoinder were a point of law, Order 1 Rule 9 bars using misjoinder to defeat a suit
The court restated the Mukisa Biscuits definition and the Supreme Court's guidance in IEBC v Jane Cheperenger that a true preliminary objection is a shield, not a sword, and must rest on settled points of law. Determining whether the statement of claim disclosed a cause of action against the directors required assessing the nature and extent of their personal involvement in the transaction, which is a factual inquiry outside the scope of a preliminary objection. Misjoinder cannot defeat a suit under Order 1 Rule 9.
Legal principles established
#- A preliminary objection consists of a pure point of law that may dispose of the suit without ascertainment of facts or exercise of judicial discretion
- Misjoinder or non-joinder of parties cannot be a ground to defeat a suit
- A preliminary objection that forces the court to inquire into the substance of the pleadings must fail
Court orders
#- 1.The respondents' preliminary objection dated 22nd June, 2026 is dismissed
- 2.Costs of the preliminary objection awarded to the claimant
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Not stated; the court proceeds under its first-instance claim-determination jurisdiction, applying the Civil Procedure Rules (2010)
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Cherunya v Max-Global Ltd & 2 others (Commercial Case E651 of 2026) [2026] SCC 211 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/scc/2026/211/eng@2026-08-07
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.