Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Small ClaimsDismissedNot stated in the judgment· [2026] SCC 172 (KLR)

Gatiti t/a Martine Enterprises v Board of Management, Dr Ribeiro School (Commercial Case E1712 of 2026) [2026] SCC 172 (KLR)

Small Claims Court
17 July 2026
1,032 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan Small Claims Court refused to set aside a default judgment, ruling the party's failure to respond was carelessness, not an honest mistake.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Applicant (a state organ linked to the Ministry of Education, per its own deposition) moved the Small Claims Court by application dated 8th June 2026 seeking to set aside an ex parte judgment delivered on 1st April 2026, the decree of 30th April 2026 and any execution processes, together with leave to file its Response to the Statement of Claim out of time. The Respondent opposed through a replying affidavit dated 14th July 2026, asserting proper service, absence of sufficient cause for the default, and bad faith. The court framed a single issue: whether the Applicant had satisfied the conditions for setting aside the default judgment under section 11(4) of the Small Claims Court Rules 2019, namely inadvertence, a valid defence with probability of success, and sufficient grounds. Guided by Rebecca Wanjiku Mathenge v Alphine Insurance Brokers Limited and Mbogo v Shah, the court held the discretion aids parties who suffer injustice from inadvertent or excusable mistake and cannot cure carelessness or delay justice. The Applicant's assertion that the mention notice was forwarded to the Ministry of Education and the Attorney General was unsupported by any forwarding letter, dispatch register or acknowledgment, and amounted to a bare assertion. Critically, the Applicant selectively relied on the 31st March 2026 service while ignoring earlier services: email service on 12th February 2026, physical service of pleadings with stamp acknowledgment on 13th February 2026, and further service of a mention notice acknowledged by stamping on 13th March 2026. The 31st March notice was in fact the third service. The court found the Applicant deliberately chose not to participate, demonstrating indolence rather than excusable error, and dismissed the application with costs of Ksh. 10,000/= to the Respondent/Claimant.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the conditions in section 11(4) of the Small Claims Court Rules 2019 for setting aside a default judgment were satisfied

Holding

They were not: the default was deliberate indolence, not inadvertence, and no valid basis for setting aside was demonstrated

Reasoning

The court relied on Rebecca Wanjiku Mathenge v Alphine Insurance Brokers Limited and Mbogo v Shah on the purpose of the setting-aside discretion. Although the applicant acknowledged the mention notice of 31st March 2026, affidavits of service showed service of pleadings by email and physical service with stamp acknowledgment on 13th February 2026, and further service of a mention notice on 13th March 2026. The claim that the notice was forwarded to the Ministry of Education and the Attorney General was a bare, unevidenced assertion. Non-disclosure of earlier services created a misleading impression.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • A party seeking to set aside default proceedings must show an unintentional mistake that a reasonable person could make; the discretion is not available for general carelessness or to delay justice

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The application dated 8th June 2026 seeking to set aside the ex parte judgment of 1st April 2026, the decree of 30th April 2026 and consequential execution processes is dismissed
  2. 2.Costs of Ksh. 10,000/= awarded to the Respondent/Claimant
Jurisdiction invoked
Section 11(4) of the Small Claims Court Rules 2019

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Gatiti t/a Martine Enterprises v Board of Management, Dr Ribeiro School (Commercial Case E1712 of 2026) [2026] SCC 172 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/scc/2026/172/eng@2026-07-17

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.