Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Small ClaimsStruck OutNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2026] SCC 168 (KLR)

Mombo Icapital Ltd v Kariuki (Claim E103968 of 2025) [2026] SCC 168 (KLR)

Small Claims Court
17 July 2026
431 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~2 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Nairobi court threw out a digital lender's Kshs. 162,297 loan claim because the lender wasn't licensed by the Central Bank of Kenya.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The claimant sued the respondent in the Small Claims Court at Nairobi for Kshs. 162,297/-, alleging it had advanced the respondent a loan of Kshs. 65,000/- repayable within a month with interest of Kshs. 13,650/- and a late payment fee of 3.5% weekly on default, and that the respondent failed to repay, leaving the stated balance. Before addressing the merits, the court, on its own consideration of the record, noted that the claimant was not licensed as a digital credit lender by the Central Bank of Kenya. Relying on Section 3 of the Banking Act (Cap 488), which requires all persons carrying on banking or financial business in Kenya to be licensed by CBK, the court held that conducting lending business without such licensing amounts to an illegality and economic risk, and that the regulation exists to protect the public from unregulated lending practices. Applying the High Court decision in Rei-Iman v Succeed Capital Limited, the court found that an unlicensed lender cannot invoke the aid of the court to enforce rights arising from unlawful lending, and that the claimant had neither demonstrated legal capacity and regulatory authority nor possessed locus standi to pursue the claim. The court held it unnecessary to consider the merits and struck out the claim with no orders as to costs, decreeing accordingly on 17 July 2026.

Key legal issues

#
01

Locus standi of an unlicensed digital credit lender

Holding

The claimant lacked the legal capacity and regulatory authority to engage in lending, and therefore lacked standing to enforce the loan

Reasoning

Section 3 of the Banking Act (Cap 488) requires all persons carrying on banking or financial business in Kenya to be licensed by the Central Bank of Kenya. The court noted from the record that the claimant was not licensed as a digital credit lender. Relying on Rei-Iman v Succeed Capital Limited, the court held that allowing unlicensed persons to conduct banking-like business would be against public policy, and that such a party lacks capacity to sue. The merits were therefore not considered.

p. 1

Legal principles established

#
  • A party carrying on regulated lending business without the requisite licence cannot invoke the aid of the Court to enforce rights arising from the unlawful activity

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The claim is struck out with no orders as to costs
  2. 2.It is so decreed
Jurisdiction invoked
Small Claims Court jurisdiction over the money claim; Section 3 of the Banking Act (Cap 488) on CBK licensing engaged on the question of capacity to sue

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mombo Icapital Ltd v Kariuki (Claim E103968 of 2025) [2026] SCC 168 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/scc/2026/168/eng@2026-07-17

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.