Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Small ClaimsAllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2026] SCC 150 (KLR)

Jobic v Indepth Research Institute (Commercial Case E385 of 2026) [2026] SCC 150 (KLR)

Small Claims Court
25 June 2026
341 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~1 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Mombasa Small Claims Court awarded a trainer Kshs. 41,400 after the defendant ignored the lawsuit, showing unchallenged documented debts get paid in Kenya.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Claimant sued the Respondent in the Mombasa Small Claims Court for unpaid fees for training services provided under several contracts. He pleaded that between 14th October 2024 and 30th January 2026 the Respondent engaged him to train the Respondent's clients at agreed rates per session, that the total due was Kshs. 348,000/- of which only Kshs. 194,720/- was paid, leaving a balance of Kshs. 153,280/-, and that payment was due immediately after each training session. Despite demand, the Respondent failed to pay, prompting the claim. At the hearing on 17th June 2026, the Claimant testified that after filing the claim the Respondent made part-payments totalling Kshs. 111,880/-, reducing the outstanding balance to Kshs. 41,400/-. He produced documentary evidence which the court found sufficient to prove the claim. The Respondent, though properly served, neither entered appearance nor filed a defence. The court, satisfied as to service and finding the documentation sufficient, entered judgment for the Claimant for Kshs. 41,400/-, with interest at court rates from the date of filing, and ordered costs to be assessed at court rates. Judgment was delivered virtually at Mombasa on 25th June 2026 by Hon. Theresa N. Mwangeka, Resident Magistrate/Adjudicator. Neither party's counsel was present at delivery.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Claimant proved the outstanding debt for training services

Holding

The court found the claim proved on the documentary evidence and entered judgment for the remaining balance after part-payments

Reasoning

The Claimant pleaded contracts for training services totaling Kshs. 348,000/-, of which Kshs. 153,280/- remained unpaid. At hearing he testified that post-filing part-payments of Kshs. 111,880/- reduced the balance to Kshs. 41,400/-. The court perused the supporting documents and found they sufficiently proved the claim. The Respondent, though served, neither entered appearance nor filed a defence, leaving the claim uncontroverted.

p. 1

Legal principles established

#
  • An unchallenged claim supported by documentary evidence, after proof of proper service and absence of appearance or defence, warrants judgment as claimed

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment entered for the Claimant against the Respondent for Kshs. 41,400/- being the balance of the principal sum of Kshs. 153,280/-
  2. 2.Interest on the said sum at court rates from date of filing
  3. 3.Costs to be assessed at court rates
Jurisdiction invoked
Small Claims Court jurisdiction (statute not specified in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Jobic v Indepth Research Institute (Commercial Case E385 of 2026) [2026] SCC 150 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/scc/2026/150/eng@2026-06-25

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.