Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Small ClaimsPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2026] SCC 109 (KLR)

Mbaka v Stanley (Commercial Case E309 of 2026) [2026] SCC 109 (KLR)

Small Claims Court
3 July 2026
484 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~2 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Mombasa court ordered a borrower to repay Kshs 414,992 of a loan but refused the lender's Kshs 545,000 bank charges claim for lack of proof.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Claimant sued for Kshs. 1,159,515/- comprising a principal loan of Kshs. 614,515/- admitted as received by the Respondent, plus bank charges of Kshs. 545,000/-, capping the claim at one million shillings in line with the court's pecuniary jurisdiction. The Respondent denied liability for the bank charges, asserting he had repaid Kshs. 204,323/- via MPESA and never agreed to the charges. The court found, from MPESA transaction screenshots spanning 4th September 2025 to 25th February 2026, that Kshs. 199,523/- had been repaid, leaving a balance of Kshs. 414,992/-. The bank charges claim failed: the Claimant's bank statements showed only card purchases and transfers for unidentified purposes and did not establish the Respondent's liability, and the commitment letter of 18th April 2025 did not make the charges repayable by him. The Respondent's plea that the commitment letter was signed under duress also failed for want of evidence of steps to avoid the agreement; the court applied its earlier finding in Ruto v Cherono on proof of duress and upheld the letter as a valid acknowledgment of debt. Judgment was entered for the Claimant for Kshs. 414,992/- with interest and costs from the date of judgment. The claim was thus partially allowed: the principal succeeded while the bank charges were refused.

Key legal issues

#
01

Proof of duress in contract

Holding

The plea of duress failed for want of evidence and the commitment letter of 18th April 2025 was upheld as a valid acknowledgment of debt

Reasoning

The Respondent alleged he signed the commitment letter under duress but led no evidence of steps taken after the fact to avoid the agreement. Relying on Ruto v Cherono on what constitutes proof of duress, the court found the plea unsubstantiated and treated the letter as binding on the Respondent.

p. 2
02

Evidentiary sufficiency of bank statements for the bank charges claim

Holding

The Claimant failed to prove the claim for bank charges

Reasoning

The bank statements produced only showed repeated card purchases at Tosha Petroleum Bombolulu and other merchants and Bank to Card transfers for unidentified purposes. The statements did not demonstrate that the Respondent was liable to settle the bank charges, nor did the commitment letter show such liability.

p. 1
03

Quantum of the outstanding loan balance

Holding

The court accounted for Kshs. 199,523/- as paid via MPESA, leaving a balance of Kshs. 414,992/-

Reasoning

The Respondent's MPESA transaction screenshots for the period 4th September 2025 to 25th February 2026 evidenced partial repayment. Of the Kshs. 614,515/- principal, the court was able to account for Kshs. 199,523/- as paid, leaving a balance of Kshs. 414,992/- which the Claimant proved on a balance of probabilities.

p. 1

Legal principles established

#
  • Proof of duress requires evidence such as steps taken after the fact to avoid the agreement; a mere plea of duress without such evidence will not invalidate an acknowledgment of debt

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment is entered for the Claimant against the Respondent for Kshs. 414,992/- together with interest and costs of the suit from the date of judgment
Jurisdiction invoked
Pecuniary jurisdiction of the Small Claims Court (claims not exceeding one million Kenya Shillings), to which the Claimant confined the claim

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mbaka v Stanley (Commercial Case E309 of 2026) [2026] SCC 109 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/scc/2026/109/eng@2026-07-03

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.