Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Small ClaimsAllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2026] SCC 54 (KLR)

Kasamani v Were (Commercial Case E788656 of 2025) [2026] SCC 54 (KLR)

Small Claims Court
26 June 2026
975 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court ruled a signed debt acknowledgment is powerful proof you owe money — and vague claims of pressure won't undo it.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The claimant sued for Kshs. 200,000/= advanced in three instalments, repayable by 17/4/2025, under a debt settlement agreement. The respondent denied the disbursement was a loan, contending it was a contribution towards incorporating Handel Capitol Limited, in which both were directors, and that it formed part of an anticipated Kshs. 3 million business facility secured by his title deed. He alleged the loan agreement was signed under threats of retaining and disposing of his title deed, that the claimant never disbursed the Kshs. 3 million, and sought dismissal with costs. The matter proceeded under Section 30 of the Small Claims Act on pleadings, testimony and submissions. The court framed one issue: whether the Kshs. 200,000/= was a loan or a business contribution. Applying the balance of probabilities standard and Sections 107-109 of the Evidence Act, the court found the disbursement admitted and proved, and the debt settlement agreement constituted strong prima facie evidence of indebtedness unless impeached. The duress allegations failed: the agreement recorded the title had been released, and the OB copy predated execution. The unexecuted Kshs. 3 million facility agreement bound no one, and the CR12 merely showed a corporate relationship. Citing National Bank of Kenya Ltd v Pipeplastic Samkolit (K) Ltd, the court held the signed agreement binding and enforceable. Judgment was entered for the claimant for Kshs. 200,000/=, with costs of Kshs. 20,000/= and a 30-day stay of execution for the respondent.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Kshs. 200,000/= advanced was a loan or a business contribution

Holding

The sum was a loan, and the debt settlement agreement was enforceable against the respondent.

Reasoning

The disbursement in three instalments was admitted and proved by documentary evidence. The claimant produced a debt settlement agreement in which the respondent acknowledged the debt and committed to repay by 17/4/2025. The respondent's allegations of coercion were uncorroborated: the agreement itself recorded the title had been released, and the OB copy predated its execution. The unexecuted Kshs. 3 million facility agreement was not binding, and company documents only showed a corporate relationship, not a capital contribution.

p. 3
02

Whether the debt settlement agreement was executed under duress, coercion or undue influence

Holding

No; the allegation failed for want of proof.

Reasoning

The court held such allegations must be proved by evidence, not mere assertions. The agreement indicated the title had been released to the respondent, and the OB copy on record concerned a complaint made on 17/3/2025, before the agreement was executed, so it did not corroborate coercion at signing. Nothing showed the claimant retained the title after execution of the agreement.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • An acknowledgment of debt constitutes strong prima facie evidence of indebtedness unless successfully impeached, shifting the evidential burden to the party seeking to avoid the agreement.
  • A signed agreement freely entered into is binding and courts will not rewrite contracts absent proof of fraud, coercion, misrepresentation or other vitiating factors.
  • Allegations of duress, coercion or undue influence must be proved by evidence; mere assertions in pleadings are not evidence.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment entered in favour of the claimant as against the respondent for the sum of Kshs. 200,000.00/=
  2. 2.Claimant awarded costs of Kshs. 20,000/=
  3. 3.Respondent granted 30 days stay of execution
Jurisdiction invoked
Section 30 of the Small Claims Act

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kasamani v Were (Commercial Case E788656 of 2025) [2026] SCC 54 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/scc/2026/54/eng@2026-06-26

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.