Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Small ClaimsPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment (Statement of Claim dated 27th October, 2025)· [2026] SCC 35 (KLR)

Mogo Auto Llimited v Nyumbah (Commercial Case E1939 of 2025) [2026] SCC 35 (KLR)

Small Claims Court
2 June 2026
1,263 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~5 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan Small Claims Court cut an asset financier's claim from Kshs 677,381 to Kshs 100,631, capping interest at the principal under the in duplum rule.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The claimant sued for Kshs 677,381/= under an asset financing agreement dated 7th June 2022, in which it advanced the respondent a loan of Kshs 400,000/= secured by joint registration of the logbook of motor vehicle KBU 973X. The respondent admitted the loan and repayments of Kshs 299,369/=, contending that only Kshs 100,631/= remained outstanding and that demanding Kshs 976,750/= to redeem a Kshs 400,000/= loan was impermissible. The court framed three issues: proof of the claim, applicability of the in duplum rule, and entitlement to relief. It found the loan and default proved, but the claimant failed to prove the penalties, the unpaid principal figure of Kshs 492,132/=, and the monitoring and insurance fees, none of which were demonstrated in evidence. The effective interest of 86.4% over 36 months was held disproportionate and oppressive. Following Mugure v HELB, the court held the in duplum rule applies to non-bank money lenders, capping recoverable interest at the principal advanced. The claim was partially allowed: judgment was entered for the claimant for Kshs 100,631/=, with interest at court rate from the date of the last payment until payment in full, fixed costs of Kshs 20,000/=, and a 30-day stay of execution.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the claimant proved its claim

Holding

Partially proved: the loan and default were established, but penalties, the unpaid principal figure, and monitoring and insurance fees were not proved.

Reasoning

The loan of Kshs 400,000 and repayments of Kshs 299,369 were undisputed. The claimant's witness could not point to any clause providing for penalties, and the court could not identify one. The figures for unpaid principal, monitoring fees and insurance fees were not explained through evidence, so the court declined to speculate on the claimant's behalf.

p. 3
02

Whether the in duplum rule applies to the claimant

Holding

Yes; the rule applies to all money lenders, not only banks, capping recoverable interest at the principal.

Reasoning

Relying on Mabeya J in Mugure & 2 Others v Higher Education Loans Board, the court held that the rule is a matter of public interest and extends to all who lend money. Applying it, the effective interest of 86.4% over 36 months, exclusive of charges, was exploitative, and recoverable interest was limited to the principal advanced.

p. 3
03

Whether the claimant is entitled to the reliefs sought

Holding

Only partially; judgment entered for Kshs 100,631/= with interest at court rates.

Reasoning

The court acknowledged the respondent remains indebted but found the interest charged disproportionate and oppressive. Balancing the parties' positions, it awarded the admitted balance of Kshs 100,631/=, interest at court rate from the date of the last payment, costs of Kshs 20,000/= and a 30-day stay of execution.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • The in duplum rule applies to non-bank lenders, so total interest recoverable shall not exceed the principal amount advanced.
  • Courts may refuse to enforce contractual terms that are unconscionable, unfair or oppressive, notwithstanding the general reluctance to rewrite contracts.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment entered in favour of the claimant against the respondent for Kshs 100,631/=
  2. 2.Interest on Kshs 100,631/= to accrue at court's rate from the date of the last payment of the loan by the respondent until payment in full
  3. 3.Costs of Kshs 20,000/= granted to the claimant
  4. 4.30 days stay of execution

Authorities

#

Cases cited (2)

  • National Bank Of Kenya Ltd Vs Pipeplastic Samkolit (k) Ltd
    Civil Appeal No. 95 OF 1999
  • Mugure & 2 Others V Higher Education Loans Board
    Petition E002 OF 2021
Jurisdiction invoked
Small Claims Court jurisdiction over the money claim (Article 50 and the Small Claims Court Act - not expressly cited in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mogo Auto Llimited v Nyumbah (Commercial Case E1939 of 2025) [2026] SCC 35 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment (Statement of Claim dated 27th October, 2025). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/scc/2026/35/eng@2026-06-02

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.