Raisons Distributors Limited v My Dukani Investment Limited (Commercial Case E083 of 2025) [2026] SCC 14 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A Kenyan Small Claims Court ruled that a supplier's invoices and account statements proved the full debt because the buyer offered no evidence to challenge them.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the claim for Kshs.179,524/= has been proved
- 2.Who bears costs of the claim
Key legal issues
#Whether the claim for Kshs.179,524/= was proved
The claimant proved the full balance on the strength of invoices and statements of account, which the respondent did not challenge or rebut with evidence.
The respondent admitted only Kshs.189,672/= (attributable to a bounced cheque) without commenting on the invoices or statement of accounts. The court held that a party asserting a lower amount bears the burden of proving it. As the respondent failed to discharge the burden under section 107 of the Evidence Act, the claimant's computation stood unchallenged and the balance was proved.
Who bears costs of the claim
Costs were awarded to the claimant as the successful party.
Applying the ordinary principle that costs follow the event, the court found that the claimant having succeeded in establishing the claim was entitled to costs, with interest from the date of filing until payment in full.
Legal principles established
#- A party who denies an account with no evidence must prove his own asserted computation; he who alleges must prove.
Court orders
#- 1.The claimant's claim contained in the statement of claim dated 25/11/2025 is allowed in the sum of Kshs.369,196/= as pleaded
- 2.Costs and interests are awarded to the claimant; interest to accrue from the date of filing until payment in full
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
Wrote the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Small Claims Court Act (original civil claim within the court's pecuniary jurisdiction; specific provision not cited)
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
The claimant’s claim contained in the statement of claim dated 25/11/2025 is allowed in the sum of Kshs.369,196/= as pleaded.
Costs and interests are awarded to the claimant. Interest to accrue from the date of filing until payment in full.
Whoever desires any court to give judgment as to any legal right or liability dependent on the existence of facts which he asserts must prove that those facts exist.
The respondent has not in any way demonstrated how inaccurate the computation by the claimant is or challenge any of the entries.
Issues in the judgment
#The parties are not named anywhere in the judgment; the case number is also not stated, making the brief difficult to match to a registry entry.
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Raisons Distributors Limited v My Dukani Investment Limited (Commercial Case E083 of 2025) [2026] SCC 14 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Small Claims Court case, statement of claim dated 25/11/2025 (number not stated). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/scc/2026/14/eng@2026-02-09
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.