Raisons Distributors Limited v Adab Nafuu Traders Limited (Commercial Case E-084 of 2025) [2026] SCC 13 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A Voi Small Claims Court awarded Kshs.783,287 for unpaid goods supplied on credit because the buyer never responded to the claim.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the respondent was duly served with the claim
- 2.Whether the claimant proved the claim for goods supplied on credit worth Kshs.783,287/=
Key legal issues
#Proof of a claim for goods supplied on credit in the absence of the respondent
The claim was proved on a balance of probabilities by the documents attached to the statement of claim, and default judgment was entered for the full claimed amount.
The court perused the statement of claim dated 25/11/2025 and the supporting documents. It found service on the respondent to be proper, evidenced by the certificate of service. On the documents, it was satisfied that the claimant had proved on a balance of probabilities that goods worth Kshs.783,287/= were supplied on credit and remained unpaid despite demands, justifying default judgment under Section 27 of the SCC Act.
Legal principles established
#- Where a respondent is duly served and does not respond, default judgment may be entered under Section 27 of the SCC Act if the claim is supported and proved by documents on a balance of probabilities.
Court orders
#- 1.Default judgment entered in favour of the claimant against the respondent for Kshs.783,287/= pursuant to Section 27 of the SCC Act
- 2.Costs of the claim awarded to the claimant
- 3.Interest at court rates on the sum of Kshs.783,287/= to be calculated from the date of filing the claim until payment in full
- 4.The file closed
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
Wrote the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Section 27 of the Small Claims Court Act
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
A perusal of the documents filed, I find that on a balance of probabilities the claimant has proved the claim against the respondent.
The claim contained in the statement of claim dated 25th November 2025 is allowed in the sum of Kshs.783,287/= together with costs and interest at court rates.
The interest to be calculated from date of filing the claim until payment in full.
Issues in the judgment
#The names of the parties and the case number are not stated anywhere in the judgment extract provided.
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Raisons Distributors Limited v Adab Nafuu Traders Limited (Commercial Case E-084 of 2025) [2026] SCC 13 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/scc/2026/13/eng@2026-01-19
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.