Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Small ClaimsPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2025] SCC 63 (KLR)

Shah v Omondi (Claim E5764 of 2024) [2025] SCC 63 (KLR)

Small Claims Court
9 October 2025
2,931 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~12 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court made a driver who rear-ended another car pay the insurer Kshs. 771,847 — but rejected claims backed by invoices without proof of payment.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This was a Small Claims Court suit at Bungoma in which Mayfair Insurance Company Limited, suing under the principle of subrogation on behalf of its insured Soham Shah, sought special damages of Kshs. 814,667/= arising from a road traffic accident of 31st August 2024 along the Redhill–Westlands bypass, in which the Respondent's motor vehicle KCX 482 Z allegedly collided with the Claimant's insured vehicle KCG 999 X. The Respondent admitted the accident but denied fault, asserting a 50-50 understanding with the Claimant. The court framed two issues: liability and quantum. On liability, the court found both parties' police witnesses of little evidential value since neither visited the scene. The decisive evidence was the Claimant's dashcam video, which showed the Claimant's vehicle ahead in its lane when struck from behind by the Respondent's vehicle as it attempted to join that lane. The damage patterns corroborated this. Applying authority that a driver who hits a vehicle from behind bears a prima facie case of negligence which he must rebut, the court held the Respondent 100% liable. On quantum, the court applied the strict-proof rule for special damages: repair costs of Kshs. 768,947/= and re-inspection fees of Kshs. 2,900/= were proved by cheque, voucher, fee note and ETR receipt, but assessment fees of Kshs. 6,380/= (mere payment requests) and tracing fees of Kshs. 22,950/= (invoices not endorsed 'Paid') failed for want of proof. Judgment was entered for Kshs. 771,847/= with interest at court rates from the date of judgment, costs assessed at Kshs. 40,000/=, and a 30-day stay of execution was granted.

Key legal issues

#
01

Liability for the accident

Holding

The Respondent was 100% liable as the dashcam video showed the Claimant's vehicle was hit from behind by the Respondent's vehicle as it attempted to join the lane, and the Respondent failed to rebut the presumption of negligence.

Reasoning

The court relied on the dashcam video, which discredited the Respondent's version, and on the damage patterns (left rear of claimant's vehicle, front right of respondent's) consistent with a rear-end collision. Both police officers admitted never visiting the scene, and the respondent's own abstract blamed him. Following authority, a driver hitting a vehicle from behind bears a prima facie case of negligence which the Respondent failed to discharge.

p. 7
02

Entitlement to indemnity under subrogation

Holding

The Claimant's insurer paid for the repairs (Kshs. 768,947/=) and re-inspection (Kshs. 2,900/=) and was entitled to reimbursement of Kshs. 771,847/= from the Respondent.

Reasoning

The court applied the settled doctrine of subrogation: the insured vehicle was covered, the accident occurred, damage was repaired, and the insurer made good the loss. A cheque and disbursement voucher proved the insurer's payment of Kshs. 768,947/= to Inchape Kenya Limited for repairs, and documented payments proved re-inspection fees of Kshs. 2,900/=.

p. 11
03

Quantum - strict proof of special damages

Holding

Only repair costs of Kshs. 768,947/= and re-inspection fees of Kshs. 2,900/= were strictly proved; assessment fees and tracing fees failed for want of proof of payment.

Reasoning

Special damages must be pleaded and strictly proved. The repair payment was proved by cheque and disbursement voucher; re-inspection by fee note and ETR receipt. But assessment fees were supported only by payment requests, and tracing fees only by invoices not endorsed 'Paid', which are not proof of payment under established authority.

p. 9

Legal principles established

#
  • Under the doctrine of subrogation, an insurer who has compensated its insured may step into the shoes of the insured and seek indemnity from a third party, provided the action is instituted in the insured's name with his consent and relates to the subject of the insurance contract.
  • A police abstract is merely evidence that a report of an accident has been made; without information on the outcome of investigations it is not evidence of negligence, but an entry recording the outcome of investigations is persuasive.
  • A driver who hits another vehicle from behind creates a prima facie case of negligence against himself and bears the burden of proving he was not negligent.
  • Special damages must be pleaded and strictly proved, and an invoice is not proof of payment; only receipts or invoices endorsed 'Paid' will suffice.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Liability 100% in favour of the Claimant
  2. 2.Judgment entered against the Respondent for Kshs. 771,847/=
  3. 3.The sum of Kshs. 771,847/= to earn interest at court rates from the date of judgment till payment in full
  4. 4.Costs of the claim assessed at Kshs. 40,000/= to the Claimant
  5. 5.Certificate of costs and decree to issue forthwith
  6. 6.Thirty (30) days stay of execution granted

Authorities

#

Cases cited (8)

  • Eastern Produce Kenya Ltd v Rongai Workshop & Transporters Ltd
    (Civil Appeal 125 of 2018) [2023] KEHC 24810 (KLR)
  • Kenya Power & Lighting Company Limited v Julius Wambale & Another
    (2019) eKLR
  • Florence Mutheu Musembi & Geofrey Mutunga Kimiti v Francis Karenge
    {2021} eKLR
  • Atanga v Rojeh
    (Civil Appeal E195 of 2023) [2025] KEHC 6067 (KLR)
  • Orioki v Kevian Kenya Limited
    (2025) KECA 780 (KLR)
  • Njuguna v Chogo
    [1985] KLR 452
  • Guardian Coach Ltd & another v Kiptoo
    (Civil Appeal 34 of 2020) [2022] KEHC 12397 (KLR)
  • Total (Kenya) Limited Formally Caltex Oil (Kenya) Limited v Janevams Limited
    [2015] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Small Claims Court jurisdiction over money claims (statutory basis not expressly cited in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Shah v Omondi (Claim E5764 of 2024) [2025] SCC 63 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/scc/2025/63/eng@2025-10-09

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.