Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Small ClaimsAllowedNot stated in judgment

Mufanji Events v Quikin Lounge Mirema Drive (Commercial Claim E19717 of 2024) [2025] SCC 55 (KLR)

Small Claims Court
6 November 2025
2,137 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Bungoma court ordered a lounge to pay Kshs. 116,066 for unpaid promotion services, ruling that promising to pay an invoice legally binds you.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Claimant, an events planning and promotion business trading as Mufanji Events, sued the Respondent, proprietor of Quikin Lounge, for Kshs. 116,066/= plus interest and costs, alleging an agreement to provide entertainment and promotion services on 5th, 11th and 12th October 2024, with remuneration comprising payment of personnel costs and 7% of sales. The Respondent denied liability, contending the agreed minimum sales of Kshs. 2,000,000/= were never achieved and that no 7% commission was agreed. The Adjudicator first dealt with the Respondent's objection that the Claimant lacked capacity to sue under a business name; holding that a business name cannot sue, but since the Respondent failed to prove the Claimant was neither a company nor a partnership, both of which may sue in their own names under the Companies Act and section 7 of the Partnerships Act, the claim was properly before the court. On liability, the court found the agreement was oral, the business proposal never became a contract, but undisputed WhatsApp exchanges showed the Respondent never disputed the invoice of 14th October 2024 and promised payment, with nothing making payment contingent on minimum sales. Applying the doctrine of estoppel per Gabriel Smith Otieno Awiti v Homabay County Assembly, the court held the Respondent bound to settle the undisputed invoice. Judgment was entered for the Claimant for Kshs. 116,066/= with interest at court rates from filing until payment in full, and costs assessed at Kshs. 30,000/=.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the Claimant, said to have traded under a business name, had legal capacity to sue in its own name
  2. 2.Whether the Claimant proved that the Respondent breached the agreement by failing to pay Kshs. 116,066/= for promotion services rendered

Key legal issues

#
01

Capacity to sue in a business name

Holding

A business name lacks capacity to sue, but since the Respondent failed to prove the Claimant was neither a company nor a partnership, the claim was properly filed in the Claimant's own name.

Reasoning

The court accepted the general proposition that a business name cannot sue in its own name. However, the Statement of Claim described the Claimant as a partnership and CW1 testified it was a company. Under the Companies Act and section 7 of the Partnerships Act both may sue in their own names. It was for the Respondent, who alleged the point, to prove the Claimant was a mere business name, and it failed to discharge that burden.

p. 3
02

Whether the Respondent breached the agreement by failing to pay the invoice

Holding

The Respondent was bound to pay the Kshs. 116,066/= invoice; payment was not contingent on achieving minimum sales, and having promised to pay, the Respondent was estopped from disputing the invoice.

Reasoning

The business proposal never ripened into a contract, so the agreement was oral. Uncontested WhatsApp exchanges showed the Respondent did not dispute the invoice of 14th October 2024 and promised payment through its directors. Nothing suggested payment was contingent on minimum sales. Estoppel prevented the Respondent from reneging on that promise, guided by Gabriel Smith Otieno Awiti v Homabay County Assembly.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • A party who promises or assures another in terms affecting their legal relations cannot afterwards resile from that position; estoppel precludes it.
  • The legal burden of proof lies on the party who asserts the affirmative of the issue, per section 107(1) of the Evidence Act.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment is entered against the Respondent for Kshs. 116,066/=
  2. 2.The sum of Kshs. 116,066/= awarded to the Claimant will earn interest at court rate from the date of filing the claim till payment in full
  3. 3.Costs of the claim assessed at Kshs. 30,000/= to the Claimant
  4. 4.Certificate of costs and decree to issue forthwith; file closed

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

TO
T.O. OmonoAdjudicator
majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Not expressly stated; adjudicated in the Small Claims Court as a money claim

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

In the circumstances, this court finds and holds that this claim is properly before this court.
p. 3capacity to sue
The doctrine of estoppel works against the Respondent.
p. 5estoppel
Guided by the authority above, the Respondent must be called upon to settle the undisputed invoice dated 14th October 2024 served upon them by the Claimant.
p. 5breach of contract
Judgment is entered against the Respondent for Kshs. 116,066/=
p. 5final orders
The sum of Kshs. 116,066/= in (a) above awarded to the Claimant herein will earn interest at court rate from the date of filing this claim till payment in full
p. 5final orders - interest
The Claimant will have the cost of this claim assessed at Kshs. 30,000/=
p. 5final orders - costs

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

Paragraph numbering repeats; two consecutive paragraphs are both numbered 18.

minor

Case number and neutral citation are not stated anywhere in the judgment.

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mufanji Events v Quikin Lounge Mirema Drive (Commercial Claim E19717 of 2024) [2025] SCC 55 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/scc/2025/55/eng@2025-11-06

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.