Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Small ClaimsPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2025] SCC 1 (KLR)

Odongo v Ayoti Distributors (Civil Case E013 of 2025) [2025] SCC 1 (KLR)

Magistrates' Court (Resident Magistrate/Adjudicator)
23 May 2025
1,733 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~7 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Claimant sued for injuries sustained on 28th December 2024 when motorcycle KMEG 383U, which he was riding on his side of the road at Kipasi Junction along the Bondo-Misori Road, was allegedly knocked by the Respondent's motor vehicle KBN 100N, sustaining neck, chest, elbow, right leg and knee injuries and a fracture of the right tibia/fibula. The Respondent denied the claim and blamed the Claimant. On liability, the court found the police abstract showed the accident was still pending under investigation and no sketch map was produced, making blame hard to determine. The Claimant conceded he joined the junction without waiting for the road to clear and carried two pillion passengers contrary to traffic laws, while the Respondent was also under a duty to slow down approaching a junction. Following Ndatho v Chebet, liability was apportioned 50/50. On quantum, comparing precedents and considering inflation and the current value of the shilling, the court found Kshs. 700,000 sufficient for general damages for pain and suffering, reduced by 50% to Kshs. 350,000. The claim for future medical expenses was dismissed as it was not specifically pleaded, parties being bound by their pleadings. Special damages were awarded at Kshs. 39,535, being the receipts actually produced, against the pleaded Kshs. 59,800. The court awarded costs assessed at Kshs. 40,000, interest on the damages and costs from the date of judgment until payment in full, and a 30-day stay of execution.

Key legal issues

#
01

Liability for the accident

Holding

Liability apportioned equally at 50/50 between the Claimant and the Respondent because the evidence did not clearly show who was to blame

Reasoning

The police abstract showed the accident was still pending under investigation; no sketch map was produced. The Claimant conceded he joined the junction without waiting for the road to clear, breaching paragraph 114 of the Highway Code, and carried two pillion passengers contrary to traffic laws. The Respondent, however, was also under a duty to slow down when approaching a junction and could have avoided the accident had he been careful. With blame difficult to determine, the court apportioned liability equally.

p. 2
02

Quantum of general damages for pain and suffering

Holding

An award of Kshs. 700,000 would suffice, subject to the 50% reduction, because the authorities cited did not present closely comparable injuries

Reasoning

The court compared awards in Civicon Limited v Richard Njomo Omwancha (Kshs. 450,000), Aloise Mwangi Kahari (Kshs. 500,000) and Dennis Matagaro (Kshs. 700,000), noting that injuries must be comparable and that the current value of the shilling, inflation and time passed must be considered, while avoiding astronomical awards but ensuring fair compensation.

p. 4
03

Future medical expenses

Holding

Claim dismissed as it was not specifically pleaded

Reasoning

Following Oracle Engineering Limited & another v Muliro, future medical expenses are special damages that must be specifically pleaded and proved. Although the medical report indicated a need for future medical expenses and the Respondent did not object, the Statement of Claim contained no prayer for them; parties are bound by their pleadings.

p. 4
04

Special damages

Holding

Kshs. 39,535 awarded being the amount actually proven by receipts, despite the pleaded figure of Kshs. 59,800

Reasoning

Special damages must be specifically pleaded and proven. Although Kshs. 59,800 was pleaded, the Claimant produced only three receipts totalling Kshs. 39,535, and the court awarded only that proven amount.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • Where it is difficult to determine who is to blame for an accident, liability must be apportioned equally
  • He who asserts must prove; the burden of proof in civil cases lies on the claimant on a balance of probabilities
  • Future medical expenses are special damages that must be specifically pleaded and proven

Court orders

#
  1. 1.General damages of Kshs. 700,000 less 50% = Kshs. 350,000
  2. 2.Special damages of Kshs. 39,535
  3. 3.Costs assessed at Kshs. 40,000
  4. 4.Interest on the general damages, special damages and costs from the date of judgment until payment in full
  5. 5.Stay of execution for 30 days

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Evidence ActSection 107
  • Evidence ActSection 108
  • Evidence ActSection 109
  • Highway CodeParagraph 114 (right turn at a junction)
  • Traffic laws (motorcycle pillion passenger restriction)Not specified

Cases cited (9)

  • Kipkebe Limited v Peterson Ondieki Tai
    [2016] eKLR
  • M’Bita Ntiro v Mbae Mwirichia & another
    [2018] eKLR
  • Ndatho v Chebet
    (Civil Appeal 8 of 2020) [2022] KEHC 346 (KLR) (16 March 2022)
  • Civicon Limited v Richard Njomo Omwancha & 2 others
    [2019] eKLR
  • Aloise Mwangi Kahari v Martin Muitya & another
    [2020] KEHC 5516 (KLR)
  • Dennis Matagaro v NKO (Minor suing through next friend and father WOO)
    [2021] KEHC 7524 (KLR)
  • Ugenya Bus Service v Gachoki
    NKU CA Civil Appeal No. 66 of 1981 [1982] eKLR
  • Jabane v Olenja
    [1986] KLR 661
  • Oracle Engineering Limited & another v Muliro
    (Civil Appeal E006 of 2024) [2025] KEHC 5409 (KLR) (2 May 2025)
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction in a road traffic accident claim heard by the Resident Magistrate/Adjudicator at Siaya; no specific constitutional or statutory provision stated as the basis of jurisdiction

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Odongo v Ayoti Distributors (Civil Case E013 of 2025) [2025] SCC 1 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/scc/2025/1/eng@2025-05-23

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.