Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Small ClaimsPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2024] SCC 10 (KLR)

Faulu Microfinance Bank Limited v Kilonzo (Commercial Case E037 of 2024) [2024] SCC 10 (KLR)

Small Claims Court
17 September 2024
1,053 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Claimant, a licensed financial institution, sued the Respondent for breach of contract for money had and received, claiming Kshs.621,209.04/- as the outstanding balance of a Kshs.569,000/- loan advanced on 17 August 2019, repayable over 84 months at 20.53% per annum in monthly installments of Kshs.13,052.73/-. The Claimant alleged default from April 2022. The matter proceeded by formal proof on 9 September 2024, and the court considered the Claimant's submissions. The court framed two issues: entitlement to the reliefs sought and costs. It found sufficient proof of disbursement and default, and noted the Respondent had paid Kshs.425,210/- by January 2024, including Kshs.269,481.20/- in interest. Applying Section 44A of the Banking Act and the in duplum rule as explained by the Court of Appeal in Kenya Hotels Ltd v Oriental Commercial Bank, Mwambeja Ranching and Housing Finance Company of Kenya Ltd v Scholarstica Nyaguthii Muturi, the court held that recoverable interest cannot exceed the principal owing when the loan became non-performing. Because the Claimant failed to prove the interest owing at the date of non-performance and the interest claimed exceeded that principal, the court awarded only the overdue principal of Kshs.145,523.97/- with interest at court rates from April 2022, and costs assessed at Kshs.15,000/-. Judgment was delivered virtually at Chuka Small Claims Court on 17 September 2024 by Hon. Tracy Wanjiku Wachira (RM/ADJ).

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Claimant was entitled to recover Kshs.621,209.04/- as outstanding loan debt

Holding

Only the overdue principal of Kshs.145,523.97/- was recoverable; the interest claim of Kshs.152,389.99/- was declined as it exceeded the principal at non-performance, contrary to Section 44A of the Banking Act

Reasoning

The court found sufficient proof of disbursement of Kshs.569,000/- and default from 2022. The Respondent had paid Kshs.425,210/- including Kshs.269,481.20/- in interest by January 2024. Applying the statutory in duplum rule, recoverable interest is capped at the principal owing when the loan became non-performing. The Claimant did not produce the interest figure as at non-performance, and the interest claimed exceeded that principal, so only the overdue principal was awarded.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • Under the in duplum rule (Section 44A of the Banking Act), interest ceases to accumulate once accrued interest equals the principal owing when a loan becomes non-performing
  • Lending institutions, including microfinance-type claimants, are not exempt from Section 44A of the Banking Act

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment entered in favour of the Claimant against the Respondent for Kshs.145,523.97/- on breach of contract
  2. 2.Interest at court rates from the date of default in April 2022 until payment in full
  3. 3.Costs assessed at Kshs.15,000/-
Jurisdiction invoked
Small Claims Court jurisdiction over money claims (claim for breach of contract for money had and received)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Faulu Microfinance Bank Limited v Kilonzo (Commercial Case E037 of 2024) [2024] SCC 10 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/scc/2024/10/eng@2024-09-17

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.