Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
Small ClaimsAllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2021] SCC 5 (KLR)

Tufaa Capital Limited v Otieno (Commercial Case 182 of 2021) [2021] SCC 5 (KLR)

Small Claims Court
26 August 2021
903 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court ruled that a Kshs 60,000 loan borrower had to pay Kshs 409,185 because agreed interest and penalty terms bind you once you sign.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The claimant, Tufaa Capital Limited, sued by a statement of claim dated 30th June 2021 seeking judgment against the respondent for Kshs 409,185.68, being a loan of Kshs 60,000 advanced on 8th July 2019 under a one-month loan agreement with 10% monthly interest and a 5% late penalty, which the respondent allegedly never serviced. The respondent denied owing the claimant, asserting that a third party, Kevin Onyango, waived the debt because Tufaa owed Kevin Kshs 60,000, and complained that the charges were exorbitant. At hearing, PW1 Faith Mumali testified for the claimant and adopted her statement and exhibits; the respondent relied on his written statement. The court found from the loan agreement that the parties were Tufaa Capital Limited and Jacktone Otieno, that the respondent signed the agreement, and that the account statement showed non-servicing of the loan. The respondent's defence of set-off failed for want of evidence that Kevin settled the amount or that Tufaa owed Kevin money. On the complaint of exorbitant interest, the court held that the parties voluntarily executed an unambiguous agreement whose terms were clearly set out, and that absent pleaded and proved coercion, fraud or undue influence, the court cannot rewrite the contract, applying Jiwaji v Jiwaji, Total Kenya Ltd v Joseph Ojiem and National Bank of Kenya Ltd v Pipeplastic Samkolit. Judgment was entered for the claimant for Kshs 409,185.68, with costs of the suit and interest from the date of judgment.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the respondent discharged the burden of proving that his debt was settled by a third party

Holding

The respondent failed to prove that Kevin Onyango settled the loan or that Tufaa owed Kevin money to offset the debt

Reasoning

The respondent alleged that Kevin Onyango waived the debt because Tufaa owed Kevin Kshs 60,000. The court found no evidence of any settlement of the loaned amount and no evidence that Tufaa owed Kevin Kshs 60,000 to set off the respondent's debt. The account statement showed the loan was never serviced and had accrued to Kshs 409,185.68.

p. 2
02

Whether the court could relieve the respondent from the interest and penalty terms as exorbitant

Holding

The parties voluntarily executed the agreement; the terms were unambiguous and binding, and the court cannot rewrite the contract absent fraud, coercion or undue influence

Reasoning

The court held that the parties conscientiously executed the agreement, the interest and penalty terms were clearly set out, and no ambiguity or evidence of fraud, misrepresentation, duress or undue influence was adduced. Citing Jiwaji v Jiwaji, Total Kenya Ltd v Joseph Ojiem and National Bank of Kenya v Pipeplastic Samkolit, the court declined to rewrite the contract.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • Where there is no ambiguity in an agreement, it must be construed according to the clear words used by the parties
  • A court of law cannot re-write a contract between parties; they are bound by its terms unless coercion, fraud or undue influence are pleaded and proved

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment entered in favour of the claimant against the respondent for Kshs 409,185.68
  2. 2.Claimant awarded costs of the suit
  3. 3.Interest on the decretal sum from the date of judgment
Jurisdiction invoked
Small Claims Court jurisdiction over a money claim (statement of claim seeking judgment for a debt); no specific constitutional or statutory provision quoted in the judgment

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Tufaa Capital Limited v Otieno (Commercial Case 182 of 2021) [2021] SCC 5 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2021). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/scc/2021/5/eng@2021-08-26

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.