Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistrateAllowedNot stated in the excerpt (Plaint dated 24th May 2025, filed 1st July 2025)· [2026] KEMC 790 (KLR)

Ochieng v Saidi (Civil Case E992 of 2025) [2026] KEMC 790 (KLR)

Magistrates' Court
27 August 2026
1,810 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~7 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Mombasa court awarded a pedestrian KShs. 302,550 after a driver who never filed a defence was held fully liable for a road accident.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This was an undefended road traffic accident suit arising from an accident of 23rd December 2024 in which the Plaintiff, a pedestrian walking along a pathway on a feeder road along Ratna–Kongowea Road in Mombasa, was struck from behind by motor vehicle KDS 828C, a Toyota Land Cruiser whose registered owner the NTSA records identified as Sameer Saidi. The Defendant did not enter a defence; interlocutory judgment was entered on 11th September 2025 and was never set aside or varied. The matter proceeded to formal proof, where the Plaintiff adopted her witness statement and produced documents as PExhibits 1–10, including treatment records from Premier Hospital, a P3 form, and a medical report by Dr. Darius Wambua Kiema describing soft tissue injuries to the lower back, both knees, both feet and right elbow, with no permanent disability anticipated. The court framed four issues: liability, general damages, special damages and costs. Holding interlocutory judgment regularly entered to establish liability against a defaulting defendant, and the Plaintiff's uncontroverted evidence unrebutted by any plea of contributory negligence, the court found the Defendant 100% liable. Comparing comparable soft tissue injury awards of KShs. 300,000 to KShs. 350,000 and discounting for the erosion in the value of money, it awarded KShs. 300,000 in general damages instead of the KShs. 350,000 sought. Special damages of KShs. 2,550 were found strictly proved by receipts. Documentary date discrepancies were treated as immaterial errors. Judgment totalled KShs. 302,550, with costs to the Plaintiff and interest as ordered on 27th August 2026.

Key legal issues

#
01

Liability against an undefended defendant

Holding

The Defendant was found 100% liable; interlocutory judgment entered on 11th September 2025 remained unvaried and the Plaintiff's uncontroverted evidence established the accident.

Reasoning

No defence was filed placing the Plaintiff's account in controversy and no evidence of contributory negligence was led. The Plaintiff testified she was on a designated pedestrian pathway when the Defendant's vehicle veered off the road and struck her from behind. Interlocutory judgment had been regularly entered and not set aside, establishing liability against the defaulting defendant.

p. 4
02

Quantum of general damages for soft tissue injuries

Holding

KShs. 300,000 awarded as fair compensation for uncomplicated soft tissue injuries with no permanent incapacity.

Reasoning

The court considered comparable awards of KShs. 300,000 to KShs. 350,000 in the authorities cited, noted the injuries were multiple but uncomplicated soft tissue injuries with no permanent disability, and factored in the erosion in the value of money since earlier awards. It declined to simply adopt the figure proposed in submissions, insisting awards be proportionate to the actual harm proved.

p. 6
03

Proof of special damages

Holding

KShs. 2,550 awarded, the pleaded amounts corresponding strictly with the documentary evidence produced.

Reasoning

The Plaintiff produced the My Clinic invoice for the medical report fee of KShs. 2,000 and the NTSA receipt dated 12th April 2025 showing KShs. 500 for the copy of records logbook fee and KShs. 50 eCitizen access fee. Since special damages must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved by receipts, and the pleaded sums matched the receipts, the claim succeeded in full.

p. 7
04

Documentary discrepancies in dates

Holding

Inconsistent date references in the witness statement and submissions were treated as immaterial errors not displacing the substantive evidence.

Reasoning

The witness statement referred to a police abstract dated 21st March 2024 though the accident occurred on 23rd December 2024, and submissions inconsistently dated the medical report. The court held these discrepancies did not affect the substance of the claim since the accident date was consistently pleaded and the medical report produced was identifiable and supported the injuries pleaded.

p. 8

Legal principles established

#
  • Where interlocutory judgment has been regularly entered, liability against the defaulting defendant stands established.
  • Special damages must not merely be pleaded but must also be strictly proved.
  • Costs ordinarily follow the event.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Liability at 100% against the Defendant
  2. 2.General damages for pain, suffering and loss of amenities of KShs. 300,000
  3. 3.Special damages of KShs. 2,550
  4. 4.Total judgment of KShs. 302,550
  5. 5.Costs of the suit awarded to the Plaintiff
  6. 6.Interest on general damages at court rates from the date of judgment until payment in full
  7. 7.Interest on special damages at court rates from the date of filing suit until payment in full

Authorities

#

Cases cited (4)

  • Patrick Mwenda Bucha v Raphael Mainka Ole Seya & Another
    HCCC No. 1091 of 2002 [2007] eKLR
  • Catherine Wanjiru Kingori & 3 Others v Gibson Theuri Gichubi
    HCCC No. 320 of 1998
  • Poa Link Services Co. Ltd & Another v Sindani Boaz Bonzemo
    [2021] KEELRC 2012 (KLR)
  • Charles Gichuki v Emily Kawira Mbuba & Another
    [2018] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the magistrates' court over a road traffic accident compensation claim

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Ochieng v Saidi (Civil Case E992 of 2025) [2026] KEMC 790 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the excerpt (Plaint dated 24th May 2025, filed 1st July 2025). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2026/790/eng@2026-08-27

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.