Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistratePartially AllowedBungoma CMC (number not stated in judgment; linked test suit Bungoma CMC CC No. E215 of 2026)· [2026] KEMC 765 (KLR)

Mweyu v Owino (Civil Case E213 of 2025) [2026] KEMC 765 (KLR)

Chief Magistrate's Court at Bungoma
23 April 2026
1,291 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~5 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Bungoma court awarded an accident passenger Kshs. 256,550 but only reimbursed costs backed by receipts, not invoices.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff, a fare-paying passenger aboard motor vehicle KCV 288P, sued for injuries sustained when the vehicle lost control and rolled along the Bungoma–Mumias road at Sibembe area on 27th March 2025. He sought general damages, special damages of Kshs. 10,750/=, costs and interest. The Defendant denied negligence and pleaded contributory negligence. By consent, the Plaintiff's witness statement and documents were admitted as evidence, and Bungoma CMC CC No. E215 of 2026 was selected as the test suit on liability for all cases arising from the accident, in which liability was assessed at 100% against the Defendant. Liability therefore being settled, the only issue before the court was quantum. On general damages, the court found the pleaded injuries (severe scalp lacerations, deep cut wound to the occipital scalp, severe hemorrhage and a cut wound on the back, assessed as harm) proved on uncontroverted medical evidence, and applying the comparable-injuries principle and the Nambuye guidelines, awarded Kshs. 250,000/=, guided by Ukavi v Erasmus and adjusted for inflation. On special damages, the court allowed only receipts-backed claims of Kshs. 6,550/= (medical report fees and NTSA search), rejecting P3 form and police abstract fees as payments for free public services amounting to an unrecoverable illegality, and rejecting a Kshs. 5,670/= hospital invoice that lacked a receipt or 'paid' endorsement. Judgment was entered at 100% liability with a total award of Kshs. 256,550/=, interest on general damages from judgment and on special damages from filing, plus costs to the Plaintiff.

Key legal issues

#
01

Assessment of general damages for pain and suffering

Holding

Award of Kshs. 250,000/= for severe scalp lacerations, deep cut wound on occipital scalp, severe hemorrhage and cut wound on the back assessed as harm

Reasoning

The injuries were corroborated by uncontroverted medical evidence. Applying the principle that comparable injuries attract comparable awards, and the Nambuye, J. guidelines (awards not inordinately high or low, compensatory not enriching, past awards mere guides with inflation and purchasing power considered), the court found the injuries almost similar to those in Ukavi v Erasmus where Kshs. 180,000/= was awarded, and adjusted for passage of time and inflation to arrive at Kshs. 250,000/=.

p. 4
02

Proof of special damages

Holding

Only Kshs. 6,550/= (NTSA receipt of Kshs. 550/= and Dr. Sokobe receipt of Kshs. 6,000/= for medical report) was proved; P3 form fees, police abstract fee and the Kshs. 5,670/= hospital invoice were disallowed

Reasoning

Special damages must be specifically proved. Public documents like the P3 form and police abstract are issued free of charge by policy, and paying for them is an unrecoverable illegality. Following the Total Kenya/Great Lakes Transport principle, an invoice without a 'paid' endorsement or corresponding receipt is not a receipt and cannot prove expenditure. The NTSA and Dr. Sokobe receipts did prove Kshs. 550/= and Kshs. 6,000/= respectively.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • Comparable injuries should be compensated by comparable awards
  • A proforma invoice or unpaid invoice is not a receipt and cannot prove special damages
  • Payment for free public services (P3 form, police abstract) is an illegality that cannot be recovered

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Liability at 100% in favour of the Plaintiff
  2. 2.General damages of Kshs. 250,000/=
  3. 3.Special damages of Kshs. 6,550/=
  4. 4.Total award of Kshs. 256,550/=
  5. 5.Interest on general damages at court rate from date of judgment till payment in full
  6. 6.Interest on special damages at court rate from date of filing suit till payment in full
  7. 7.Costs of the suit to the Plaintiff

Authorities

#

Cases cited (5)

  • Denshire Muteti Wambua v Kenya Power & Lighting Co. Ltd
    [2013] eKLR
  • Kenya Power Lighting Comp. Ltd & Another v Zakayo Saitoti Naingola & Another
    [2008] eKLR
  • Ukavi v Erasmus
    (Civil Appeal E018 of 2023) [2024] KEHC 1384 (KLR)
  • Total Kenya Ltd formerly Caltex Oil (K) Ltd v Janevams Ltd
    (2015) eKLR
  • Great Lakes Transport Co (U) Ltd v Kenya Revenue Authority
    (2000) eKLR 720
Jurisdiction invoked
Jurisdiction admitted by the Defendant in the Statement of Defence; original civil jurisdiction of the magistrates' court over the negligence claim

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mweyu v Owino (Civil Case E213 of 2025) [2026] KEMC 765 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Bungoma CMC (number not stated in judgment; linked test suit Bungoma CMC CC No. E215 of 2026). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2026/765/eng@2026-04-23

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.