Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistratePartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2026] KEMC 712 (KLR)

Wanka v Okinyi (Civil Case E282 of 2025) [2026] KEMC 712 (KLR)

Magistrates' Court
6 February 2026
2,396 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~10 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Bungoma court awarded a bodaboda rider over Kshs. 932,000 after an accident, but cut claims he couldn't prove with evidence.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff sued for damages arising from a road traffic accident of 21st February 2025 in which the Defendant's motor vehicle KDK 143 S allegedly veered into his lane while he was riding motorcycle KMDP 719 S along the Musikoma Bakery – Bungoma town road, injuring him. The Defendant did not enter appearance or file a defence, and interlocutory judgment was entered; the suit proceeded by formal proof. The court emphasized that even in formal proof, the Plaintiff bore the burden of proving the case on a balance of probabilities, citing section 107(1) of the Evidence Act and the Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi and Gichinga Kibutha authorities. Relying on the police abstract and records search as uncontroverted public documents attracting a presumption of regularity, the court found the accident occurred, that the Defendant owned the vehicle, and held the Defendant 100% liable for negligence. On quantum, the court awarded Kshs. 600,000/= general damages for pain and suffering, guided by comparable awards including Blowplast Ltd and West Kenya Sugar Co Ltd, noting the Plaintiff's 14% permanent incapacity. For loss of earning capacity, the court rejected the pleaded Kshs. 70,000/= monthly income for lack of proof and held it could not be amended through testimony, instead applying the statutory minimum wage for six months, yielding Kshs. 117,022.08/=. Future medical expenses were reduced from the pleaded Kshs. 500,000/= to Kshs. 200,000/=, anchored on the Medical Practitioners and Dentists (Professional Fees) Rules 2016 schedule, the court holding that Dr. Ekesa's untested opinion was not binding. Special damages of Kshs. 6,850/= were proved by receipts. Total net award: Kshs. 932,872.08/=, with interest on general damages from judgment, on special damages from filing suit, none on loss of earning capacity, and costs to the Plaintiff.

Key legal issues

#
01

Burden of proof in formal proof proceedings

Holding

A plaintiff must still prove the case on a balance of probabilities notwithstanding the defendant's non-appearance

Reasoning

Relying on section 107(1) of the Evidence Act and the Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi and Gichinga Kibutha authorities, the court held that uncontroverted evidence must still satisfy the standard of proof; the court is duty-bound to examine the evidence before entering judgment.

p. 2
02

Liability for the road traffic accident

Holding

The Defendant was 100% liable; the police abstract and copy of records, being uncontroverted public documents attracting a rebuttable presumption of regularity, established the accident and ownership

Reasoning

In the absence of contrary evidence, the public documents (police abstract and records search) presumed regular established that the accident occurred and that the Defendant owned motor vehicle KDK 143 S. The uncontroverted testimony that the Defendant's vehicle veered into the Plaintiff's lane disclosed negligence and breach of the duty of care owed to other road users.

p. 5
03

Assessment of general damages

Holding

Kshs. 600,000/= awarded, guided by comparable awards and the Plaintiff's 14% permanent incapacity

Reasoning

Applying the comparable-injuries principle from Simon Taveta, the court distinguished the authority relied on by the Plaintiff (higher award for more severe injuries) and relied on Blowplast Ltd, West Kenya Sugar Co Ltd and Mutugi v Waymark Safaris, factoring in the 14% permanent incapacity and the passage of time since those decisions.

p. 6
04

Loss of earning capacity

Holding

Award of Kshs. 117,022.08/= based on statutory minimum wage as multiplicand for six months

Reasoning

The Plaintiff failed to prove the pleaded Kshs. 70,000/= monthly income and could not amend the Plaint through testimony. The minimum wage under the Regulations of Wages (General Amendment) Order 2024 was adopted, comparing bodaboda riders to mechanists and light tractor drivers per Petronila Muli, multiplied by six months of expected recovery.

p. 8
05

Future medical expenses

Holding

Kshs. 200,000/= awarded instead of the pleaded Kshs. 500,000/=, guided by the Professional Fees Rules schedule

Reasoning

Dr. Ekesa did not testify to substantiate the cost. Citing Kimatu Mbuvi, the court held expert opinion is not binding. Using the maximum of Kshs. 84,000/= per open ligament repair under the Medical Practitioners and Dentists (Professional Fees) Rules 2016, the claimed sum was exaggerated and Kshs. 200,000/= was reasonable for two surgeries.

p. 9

Legal principles established

#
  • Even in uncontroverted formal proof proceedings, a plaintiff must prove the claim on a balance of probabilities; if the evidence falls short, the claim must be dismissed
  • Comparable injuries should attract comparable awards in the assessment of general damages
  • Expert medical opinion is not binding on the court and may be rejected where there is a proper and cogent basis

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment entered against the Defendant with liability at 100%
  2. 2.General damages of Kshs. 600,000/=
  3. 3.Loss of earning capacity of Kshs. 117,022.08/=
  4. 4.Future medical expenses of Kshs. 200,000/=
  5. 5.Special damages of Kshs. 6,850/= (net award Kshs. 932,872.08/=)
  6. 6.General damages to accrue interest at court rate from date of judgment till payment in full
  7. 7.Special damages to accrue interest at court rate from date of filing suit till payment in full
  8. 8.No interest on the award for loss of earning capacity
  9. 9.Plaintiff to have the costs of the suit
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the magistrates' court over the tortious claim (Plaint dated 16th June 2025); matter proceeded by formal proof after interlocutory judgment

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Wanka v Okinyi (Civil Case E282 of 2025) [2026] KEMC 712 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2026/712/eng@2026-02-06

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.