Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistratePartially AllowedPlaint dated 06th December 2024 (Bungoma)· [2026] KEMC 666 (KLR)

Simiyu v Muthee & another (Civil Case E521 of 2024) [2026] KEMC 666 (KLR)

Magistrates' Court
5 March 2026
3,641 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~15 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Bungoma court cut a road accident payout in half because neither driver could prove who caused the crash.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff sued the registered and beneficial owners of motor vehicle KCX 245 N for general and special damages arising from a road traffic accident on 06th January 2023 along the Bungoma–Mumias road, in which his motorcycle KMER 842 L was allegedly knocked down. The 1st Defendant did not enter appearance; the 2nd Defendant filed a defence denying the accident and attributing negligence to the Plaintiff, but called no witnesses at trial, leaving her pleadings mere allegations per Elizanya Investments v Lean Energy Solutions. The court framed two issues: liability and quantum. Applying Kirugi v Kabiya, Kenya Power v Gachoka and Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi v Mwangi, it held that the plaintiff's burden of proof persists even in uncontroverted or formal proof matters. The plaintiff's cross-examination claim that the motorcycle was hit from behind was an afterthought absent from his witness statement, and no investigating officer, sketch plan or inspection reports were produced. Guided by Lakhamshi v Attorney General and Baker v Market Harborough, the court found the evidence barely adequate to apportion fault and held the parties equally to blame at 50%:50%. On quantum, unpleaded scars were excluded per Wareham and Boniface Kinyua Kathuri; general damages of Kshs. 120,000/= were awarded against comparable awards. Special damages were proved only at Kshs. 6,550/=, claims for payments to public servants being held an illegality claimable, if at all, only as witness costs. Judgment was entered jointly and severally with a stated net award of Kshs. 63,225/=, interest on general damages from judgment and on special damages from filing, and costs to the Plaintiff subject to the liability ratio.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether uncontroverted evidence of a plaintiff suffices to establish liability

Holding

No - a court must not take a plaintiff's case as truthful merely because it is uncontroverted; the plaintiff must still prove the case on a balance of probabilities.

Reasoning

The court relied on Kenya Power & Lighting v Nathan Karanja Gachoka, Kirugi v Kabiya and Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi v Mwangi Stephen Muriithi to hold that formal proof proceedings still require the court to interrogate the plaintiff's evidence. The absence of a defence or of witnesses called by the 2nd Defendant does not absolve the plaintiff of the burden of proof, which remains fixed on a balance of probabilities.

p. 4
02

Apportionment of liability where the evidence is barely adequate

Holding

Since it could not be precisely determined who between the two drivers was to blame, liability was shared equally at 50%:50% between the plaintiff and the defendants.

Reasoning

The plaintiff's testimony that the motorcycle was hit from behind was an afterthought not in his witness statement; no inspection reports, sketch plan or investigating officer's evidence was produced. Guided by Lakhamshi v Attorney General and Baker v Market Harborough Industrial Co-operative Society (Denning L.J.), the court held that where the court cannot distinguish between the drivers, both are to blame and liability is shared equally.

p. 6
03

Whether unpleaded injuries (scars) can be relied upon in assessing general damages

Holding

No - unpleaded scars were excluded; only the pleaded injuries were compensated.

Reasoning

Relying on Wareham v Kenya Post Office Savings Bank and Boniface Kinyua Kathuri v David Munyoki, the court held that the nature and extent of injuries must be specifically pleaded under Order 2 Rule 4; departing from pleadings amounts to an ambush and a violation exposing the opposing party to an unfair trial. The plaintiff could have amended his pleadings but did not.

p. 9
04

Proof of special damages

Holding

Special damages of Kshs. 6,550/= were pleaded and proved (Kshs. 6,000 for the medical report and Kshs. 550 for copy of records); the rest of the pleaded Kshs. 25,550 failed for want of receipts.

Reasoning

No receipts supported the Kshs. 4,000 medical expenses or the Kshs. 5,000 alleged payment to Dr. Sokobe. Claims for production of the P3 form and police abstract by public servants were held to be an illegality for the plaintiff to benefit from (nullus commodum capere de injuria sua propria), and could at most be claimed as witness expenses in a bill of costs per Francis Muiruri Mwangi v John Ngugi.

p. 10
05

Comparable injuries must attract comparable awards

Holding

General damages of Kshs. 120,000/= awarded for a head injury with brief loss of consciousness, a cut wound on the forehead and multiple bruises, considering one day's admission in hospital.

Reasoning

Guided by Stanley Maore v Geoffrey Mwenda, the court compared Makami v Obong'o (Kshs. 80,000), FM v JNM (Kshs. 100,000), Asad Motors v Yaa (Kshs. 100,000) and Ondicho v Mosigisi (Kshs. 80,000). Considering the brief loss of consciousness and one-day admission, Kshs. 120,000/= was found to be reasonable compensation.

p. 10

Legal principles established

#
  • A plaintiff bears the duty of proving their case on a balance of probabilities even where the defendant does not controvert the evidence or enter appearance.
  • Where it cannot be precisely determined which of two drivers was to blame for an accident, liability is shared equally.
  • Only evidence of facts pleaded is to be admitted; injuries must be specifically pleaded and a court should not make findings on unpleaded matters.
  • A party's failure to call evidence in support of its case renders its pleadings mere allegations.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment entered against the Defendants jointly and severally with liability apportioned 50%:50% between the Plaintiff and the Defendants
  2. 2.General damages of Kshs. 120,000/= awarded
  3. 3.Special damages of Kshs. 6,550/= awarded
  4. 4.Net award of Kshs. 63,225/= after application of the liability ratio
  5. 5.General damages to accrue interest at court rate from the date of judgment till payment in full
  6. 6.Special damages to accrue interest at court rate from the date of filing suit till payment in full
  7. 7.Plaintiff awarded costs of the suit subject to the ratio of liability

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Traffic Actnot specified
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 2 Rule 4 (as cited in Boniface Kinyua Kathuri v David Munyoki)
  • Highway Codenot specified

Cases cited (14)

  • Elizanya Investments Limited v Lean Energy Solutions
    [2021] KEHC 8495 (KLR)
  • Kenya Power and Lighting Company Limited v Nathan Karanja Gachoka & another
    [2016] eKLR
  • Kirugi and Another Vs Kabiya & 3 others
    (1987) KLR 347
  • Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi –vs- Mwangi Stephen Muriithi & Another
    [2014] eKLR
  • Baker V Market Harborough Industrial Co-operative Society LTD
    [1953] 1 WLR 1472 at 1476
  • Anthony Francis Wareham t/a AF Wareham & 2 others v Kenya Post Office Savings Bank
    [2004] eKLR
  • Boniface Kinyua Kathuri v David Munyoki
    [2020] eKLR
  • Stanley Maore vs Geoffrey Mwenda
    [2004] eKLR
  • Makami v Obong'o
    (Civil Appeal E062 of 2021) [2023] KEHC 922 (KLR)
  • FM (Minor suing through Mother and next friend MWM) v JNM & another
    [2020] eKLR
  • Asad Motors Limited & 2 others v Yaa
    (Civil Appeal 92 of 2022) [2023] KEHC 24279 (KLR)
  • Ondicho v Mosigisi
    (Civil Appeal E054 of 2023) [2025] KEHC 5140 (KLR)
  • Francis Muiruri Mwangi v John Ngugi
    (Civil Appeal 444 of 2011) [2015] KEHC 7453 (KLR) (Civ)
  • Treadsetters Tyres Ltd (as cited by Ibrahim J within Boniface Kinyua Kathuri)
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the magistrates' court over a negligence (road traffic accident) claim; no specific constitutional or statutory provision invoked in the judgment.

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Simiyu v Muthee & another (Civil Case E521 of 2024) [2026] KEMC 666 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Plaint dated 06th December 2024 (Bungoma). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2026/666/eng@2026-03-05

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.