Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistratePartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2026] KEMC 577 (KLR)

Magabu v Mahadev Drapers Ltd (Civil Case E089 of 2025) [2026] KEMC 577 (KLR)

Magistrates' Court (Senior Resident Magistrate's Court), Bungoma
10 March 2026
982 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Bungoma court awarded a motorcycle rider Kshs. 127,964 after a road accident, cutting his compensation by 20% for shared fault.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff sued for damages arising from a road traffic accident of 5th February 2025 in which, while riding motorcycle KMEG 936 Y along the Mumias–Bungoma road at Sibembe area, he was knocked from behind by the Defendant's motor vehicle KCP 163 A, sustaining blunt injuries to the head, chest, right hip, right shoulder and bruises. He sought general damages, special damages, costs and interest. The Defendant filed a Statement of Defence blaming the Plaintiff's negligence but called no witnesses. On 19th February 2026 the parties recorded a consent on liability in the ratio of 80%:20% in favour of the Plaintiff, leaving quantum as the only issue for determination. The court found the Plaintiff's testimony and medical evidence unimpeached and held that he proved his injuries on a balance of probabilities. Guided by the comparable-awards principle from Stanley Maore v Geoffrey Mwenda and two High Court decisions awarding Kshs. 150,000/= for similar multiple soft tissue and blunt injuries, the court awarded Kshs. 150,000/= in general damages and Kshs. 9,955/= in special damages as pleaded and proved by receipts. After applying the 20% contributory negligence deduction, judgment was entered for a net award of Kshs. 127,964/=. General damages attract interest at court rate from the date of judgment; special damages from the date of filing suit. The Plaintiff was awarded costs of the suit subject to the liability ratio. Judgment delivered at Bungoma on 10th March 2026 by T.O. Omono, Senior Resident Magistrate.

Key legal issues

#
01

Assessment of general damages for pain and suffering

Holding

The court awarded Kshs. 150,000/= as general damages, guided by comparable awards in similar multiple soft tissue/blunt injury cases and the consent on liability.

Reasoning

The court applied the settled principle from Stanley Maore v Geoffrey Mwenda that comparable injuries should attract comparable awards. It found the Plaintiff's injuries (blunt injuries to head, chest, right hip, right shoulder, and bruises) almost similar to injuries in two cited High Court decisions where Kshs. 150,000/= was awarded, and the testimony and medical evidence were unimpeached.

p. 4
02

Proof of special damages

Holding

Special damages of Kshs. 9,955/= were awarded as pleaded and proved by receipts.

Reasoning

The Plaintiff pleaded special damages of Kshs. 9,955/= in the Plaint and produced receipts proving the pleaded amount, including hospital treatment costs of Kshs. 3,955/= and a medical report fee of Kshs. 6,000/=. The court found the pleaded special damages proved by the receipts produced.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • In assessment of damages, comparable injuries should, as far as possible, be compensated by comparable awards, keeping in mind the correct level of awards in similar cases.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment entered against the Defendant with liability at 80%:20% in favour of the Plaintiff
  2. 2.General damages of Kshs. 150,000/= awarded for pain and suffering
  3. 3.Special damages of Kshs. 9,955/= awarded
  4. 4.Grand award of Kshs. 159,955/= less 20%, net award of Kshs. 127,964/= to the Plaintiff
  5. 5.General damages to accrue interest at court rate from the date of judgment till payment in full
  6. 6.Special damages to accrue interest at court rate from the date of filing suit till payment in full
  7. 7.Plaintiff awarded costs of the suit subject to the ratio of liability

Authorities

#

Cases cited (3)

  • Stanley Maore vs Geoffrey Mwenda
    (2004) eKLR
  • Surian Enterprises Ltd v Mary Bahati Peter
    (Civil Appeal No. E199 of 2021) [2023] KEHC 20426 (KLR)
  • Oloo v Arika & another
    (Civil Appeal E080 of 2024) [2026] KEHC 2889 (KLR)
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil suit on a Plaint (tort claim for road traffic accident injuries) under the magistrates' civil jurisdiction; no specific constitutional provision invoked

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Magabu v Mahadev Drapers Ltd (Civil Case E089 of 2025) [2026] KEMC 577 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2026/577/eng@2026-03-10

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.