Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistratePartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2026] KEMC 363 (KLR)

JM (Mother to MAB (Minor)) v Wesu Sub-County Hospital & another (Civil Suit E014 of 2025) [2026] KEMC 363 (KLR)

Principal Magistrates' Court (Kenya)
30 July 2026
2,951 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~12 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court awarded a boy nearly Kshs. 10 million after hospital staff left a strap on his newborn arm, causing amputation.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This was an undefended medical negligence suit by a minor (through his mother and next friend) against WESU Sub County Hospital and the Ministry of Health, County Government of Taita Taveta, before T.N. Sinkiyan, Principal Magistrate, following formal proof after the matter was transferred for judgment. Interlocutory judgment had been entered against the defendants on 15/5/2025 for failing to appear. The evidence established that on 21/1/2024, shortly after a normal delivery at WESU Sub County Hospital, a tourniquet strap was tied at the newborn's axilla to obstruct blood flow temporarily for intravenous cannula insertion, and was forgotten for over 24 hours. Blood flow was obstructed, the arm swelled, darkened and lost pulse, dry gangrene developed, and the minor underwent an above-elbow amputation at Coast General Hospital after admissions at Wesu (7 days), Moi County Referral Hospital Voi and Coast General (20 days). Dr. Ajoni Adede assessed a 50% permanent partial disability and opined the forgotten tourniquet was medical negligence. The court found the attending medics breached their professional duty of care and held the hospital and Ministry of Health vicariously liable. On quantum, constrained by the Principal Magistrate's pecuniary limit of Kshs. 10,000,000/= under the Magistrates Court Act 2015, the court applied the High Court decision in Nthuci v Kenya Power & Lighting Company Limited and awarded Kshs. 4,000,000/= general damages for pain, suffering and loss of amenities, Kshs. 4,000,000/= future medical expenses for a prosthetic limb and servicing, and Kshs. 1,898,000/= for diminished earning capacity, plus Kshs. 2,000/= special damages with interest from the date of suit. Costs were awarded to the plaintiff against the defendants, with interest from judgment, and a right of appeal to the High Court at Voi was noted.

Key legal issues

#
01

Liability for medical negligence by hospital staff

Holding

The attending doctors/nurses at WESU Sub County Hospital were negligent in failing to remove the tourniquet strap for over 24 hours, breaching their professional duty of care; the hospital and the Ministry of Health, County Government of Taita Taveta are vicariously liable

Reasoning

Dr. Adede confirmed from medical documents that a strap was tied at the newborn's axilla for intravenous cannula insertion on 21/1/2024 and forgotten for over 24 hours, obstructing blood flow, causing swelling, loss of pulse, dry gangrene and eventual above-elbow amputation. The court found the case uncontroverted since the defendants, though duly served, did not defend the suit and interlocutory judgment had been entered on 15/5/2025.

p. 3
02

Quantum of general damages for pain, suffering and loss of amenities

Holding

Kshs. 4,000,000/= awarded, following the comparable injuries and award in Nthuci v Kenya Power & Lighting Company Limited

Reasoning

The minor suffered amputation of the right upper limb above the elbow leaving a 10cm stump, a 50% permanent partial disability, and endured prolonged inpatient treatment. The court found the High Court decision in Nthuci, which involved a severed upper limb with 80% permanent disability and awarded Kshs. 4,000,000/=, relevant and applicable. The award was kept within the court's Kshs. 10,000,000/= pecuniary limit.

p. 5
03

Future medical expenses and diminished earning capacity

Holding

Kshs. 4,000,000/= awarded for future medical expenses towards a prosthetic limb and servicing, and Kshs. 1,898,000/= for diminished earning capacity

Reasoning

Dr. Adede assessed a prosthesis at Kshs. 450,000/= with replacement every 5 years initially, then every 15 years after age 18, with servicing every 3 years at Kshs. 7,500/=. Working with replacements at years 5, 10, 15, 20 up to the 60th year and factoring inflation, the court made a lump-sum award. Reduced earning capacity was pleaded and the court found the minor's ability to earn a living hampered.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • Leaving a tourniquet strap on a newborn for over 24 hours constitutes negligence amounting to a breach of the professional duty of care
  • A magistrate's court cannot make an award exceeding its pecuniary limit under the Magistrates Court Act 2015 even where proved losses exceed it
  • An employer/health institution is vicariously liable for the medical negligence of its staff

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment entered in favour of the plaintiff against the defendants jointly and severally for general damages for pain, suffering and loss of amenities of Kshs. 4,000,000/=, reduced earning capacity of Kshs. 1,898,000/= and future medical expenses of Kshs. 4,000,000/=, to earn interest at court rates from the date of judgment until paid in full
  2. 2.Special damages of Kshs. 2,000/= for the medical report awarded with interest from 30/1/2025 (date of suit) until paid in full
  3. 3.Costs of the suit awarded to the plaintiff against the defendants, with interest from the date of judgment until paid in full at court rates
  4. 4.Recommendation that the plaintiff consider registering the minor as a person living with disabilities with the relevant body
Jurisdiction invoked
Magistrates Court Act 2015 pecuniary limits for a Principal Magistrate (Kshs. 10,000,000/=)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "JM (Mother to MAB (Minor)) v Wesu Sub-County Hospital & another (Civil Suit E014 of 2025) [2026] KEMC 363 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2026/363/eng@2026-07-30

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.