Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistrateDismissedNot stated in the judgment· [2026] KEMC 350 (KLR)

Republic v Rono & 2 others (Criminal Case E2050 of 2023) [2026] KEMC 350 (KLR)

Senior Principal Magistrate's Court (Nakuru Law Courts)
23 July 2026
22,593 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~90 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Nakuru court acquitted former Uasin Gishu Governor Mandago and two officials of all charges in the Finland education programme case because the prosecution's evidence failed.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
In a widely followed criminal trial arising from the Uasin Gishu County overseas education programme, three accused persons - a former Governor (Jackson Mandago), a deputy director of the county education revolving fund (Meshack Rono) and a chief education officer (Joshua Lelei) - faced ten counts of conspiracy to steal Kshs 1.1 billion, stealing, abuse of office and forgery relating to the Uasin Gishu Overseas Education Trust account at KCB Eldoret. After the prosecution called 138 witnesses, largely victim parents and students, the defence submitted under section 210 of the Criminal Procedure Code that no prima facie case existed. The court identified the sole issue as whether, at the close of the prosecution's case, all essential ingredients of the charges had been proved to the standard required. Applying the Bhatt test, the Senior Principal Magistrate found no meeting of minds for the conspiracy charge; the alleged Kshs 1.1 billion was unsupported by any forensic audit and contradicted by bank evidence that the account never held more than Kshs 35 million. The stealing counts failed for lack of proof of fraudulent taking and intent to permanently deprive, and the 2nd Accused was not even a signatory to the account. The abuse of office counts failed because no prejudice was proved and the prosecution's ACECA-based authority was distinguished. The forgery counts failed because the document examiner relied on photocopies contrary to the primary-evidence rule, and no evidence linked the accused to making the documents. All charges were dismissed and all accused acquitted under section 210 CPC, with cash bails refunded. The court observed that refunds should be pursued in a civil forum, as a criminal trial punishes offenders rather than collecting debt.

Key legal issues

#
01

Conspiracy to commit a felony (Count I) - meeting of minds

Holding

No prima facie case; no evidence of an agreement or common intention to steal, and the Kshs 1.1 billion figure was evidentially unsupported.

Reasoning

The court found no express agreement among the accused; the 2nd and 3rd accused were not signatories to the Trust Account; the 1st Accused's actions aligned with his lawful county appointment; and the investigating officer's 1.1 billion figure contradicted the bank official's evidence that the account never held more than Kshs 35 million. Without a forensic audit, the inflated figure dented the credibility of the investigations and the charge appeared intended to embarrass and intimidate.

p. 27
02

Stealing (Counts II, III, IV)

Holding

No prima facie case established against the 1st and 2nd Accused.

Reasoning

The essential ingredients of fraudulent and dishonest taking and intent to permanently deprive were not established. Witnesses confirmed withdrawn funds went to fees, allowances, furniture and visa fees for the programme. The investigating officer could not explain the figures in the charge sheet, ignored the task force findings of only Kshs 8 million unaccounted for, and the 2nd Accused was not even a signatory to the Trust Account, demonstrating shoddy and careless investigations.

p. 30
03

Abuse of office (Counts V-VIII)

Holding

No prima facie case established on any of the four counts.

Reasoning

The prosecution's reliance on Republic v Nyanamba, an authority on section 46 of ACECA, was misplaced given that section 101(1) creates a distinct offence requiring proof of an arbitrary act and prejudice. No prejudice was shown to the county or victims; the advertisement was clear the programme was not a scholarship; and the evidence established that secondment of staff was done by the Chief Officer/County Secretary, not the 3rd Accused.

p. 34
04

Forgery (Counts IX and X)

Holding

No prima facie case established against either Accused.

Reasoning

No one saw the 1st Accused make the documents, and the cognate offence of uttering was not charged. The 2nd Accused's handwriting was never examined. The forensic document examiner's report was based on photocopies rather than primary evidence as required by sections 67 and 68 of the Evidence Act, and the credibility of the witnesses denying their signatures was doubtful given evidence of their awareness of, and benefit from, the Trust.

p. 35

Legal principles established

#
  • A prima facie case is one on which a reasonable tribunal, properly directing its mind to the law and evidence, could convict if no explanation is offered by the defence; mere suspicion or a scintilla of evidence is not enough.
  • The burden of proof in a criminal trial lies on the prosecution and never shifts to the accused.
  • Conspiracy requires proof of a meeting of minds or common intention among the accused, proved by clear admissible evidence and not by conjecture.
  • An accused should not be put on his defence to prop up an otherwise hopeless case.
  • Artificially inflated figures in a charge sheet to intimidate or embarrass an accused may amount to an abuse of process and violate the right to a fair hearing under Article 50.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Dismissal of all charges against the accused persons pursuant to section 210 of the Criminal Procedure Code
  2. 2.Acquittal of all accused persons of Conspiracy to Commit a Felony, Stealing, Abuse of Office and Forgery contrary to sections 393, 268(1) as read with section 275, 101 as read with 102(a), 345 and 347(d)(ii) of the Penal Code respectively
  3. 3.Refund of the cash bails deposited in court to the depositors
Jurisdiction invoked
Original criminal jurisdiction of the magistrates' court over the Penal Code counts, with rulings made under sections 210 and 211 of the Criminal Procedure Code, Cap 75

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Republic v Rono & 2 others (Criminal Case E2050 of 2023) [2026] KEMC 350 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2026/350/eng@2026-07-23

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.