Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistrateDismissedApplication dated 19/9/2025 (suit number not stated in judgment)

Sila v Sila (Civil Case 96 of 2015) [2026] KEMC 61 (KLR)

Magistrates' Court
17 February 2026
824 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~3 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Makindu court dismissed a judgment debtor's attempt to block execution, warning against filing applications just to delay paying a court-ordered debt.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The defendant/judgment debtor, Peter Maweu Kisangau, applied by notice of motion dated 19/9/2025 under certificate of urgency seeking review and/or setting aside of a notice to show cause dated 4/8/2025 issued in execution of a decree, plus costs in the cause. He contended he had already paid Ksh. 100,000/= on an earlier notice, that two decrees had been issued in the same suit in error, and that he stood to suffer irreparable loss if execution proceeded. The plaintiff opposed, asserting the Ksh. 100,000/= had already been discounted, that interest was accruing on the outstanding decretal sum, and that the application was vexatious and an abuse of process. The court framed two issues: whether the notice to show cause should be set aside, and costs. Disregarding the applicant's submissions as addressing already-determined issues from the application dated 26/7/2024 decided by ruling on 23/1/2025, the court held the application was made in bad faith to derail execution. It found the claim of two decrees false, observing that a notice to show cause is not a decree, that the judgment-debtor's objections belong at the hearing of the notice rather than in a separate application, and that the applicant had not paid even the interim Ksh. 20,000/= monthly ordered. The application was dismissed, the applicant condemned to pay its costs in addition to the decretal sum, the matter fixed for hearing of the notice to show cause, and the judgment-debtor warned against frivolous filings.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the court should set aside the notice to show cause dated 4/8/2025
  2. 2.Who should bear the costs of this application?

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the notice to show cause dated 4/8/2025 should be set aside on the ground of alleged duplication with an earlier notice and payment of Ksh. 100,000/=.

Holding

The application was dismissed. The payment alleged had already been discounted per the plaintiff's uncontroverted response, the alleged duplication was false since a notice to show cause is not a decree, and the issues had already been settled in the ruling of 23/1/2025.

Reasoning

The court found the application was made in bad faith to frustrate execution of the decree. The issues raised were res judicata, having been determined in the earlier application dated 26/7/2024 by the ruling of 23/1/2025. Any question of accounts could be canvassed at the hearing of the notice to show cause. The applicant had also made no effort to pay even the interim Ksh. 20,000/= per month ordered, demonstrating he was trifling with the court process.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • A notice to show cause in execution proceedings is not a decree; issuing a notice to show cause does not amount to issuing a second decree in the same suit.
  • A judgment-debtor's objections to a notice to show cause should be raised at the hearing of the notice, not through a separate application.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The application dated 19/9/2025 is hereby dismissed
  2. 2.The defendant/judgment debtor shall be condemned to pay costs of the application, in addition to what is due and owing from him
  3. 3.The matter shall be fixed for hearing of the notice to show cause, with the judgment-debtor free to raise his arguments at the hearing
  4. 4.The judgment-debtor is warned against filing frivolous applications in a bid to frustrate the execution process

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Inherent execution and review jurisdiction of the magistrates' court over its own notice to show cause in a decree (statutory provision not cited in the judgment)

Relief refused

#

Review and/or setting aside of the notice to show cause dated 4/8/2025

The issues raised had already been determined in the ruling of 23/1/2025; a notice to show cause is not a decree; the application was frivolous, vexatious and an abuse of process

p. 2

Costs

The defendant/judgment debtor shall be condemned to pay costs of the application, in addition to what is due and owing from him.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

The applicant alleges that there are two decrees. That is completely false. A notice to show cause is not a decree.
p. 2Nature of a notice to show cause in execution
In any event, the issues would have been the judgment-debtor’s response to the notice to show cause. He did not have to file an application to counter the notice to show cause.
p. 2Proper forum for judgment-debtor objections
a. The application dated 19/9/2025 is hereby dismissed;
p. 3Disposition - dismissal of the application
The Judgment-debtor is hereby warned against filing frivolous applications in a bid to frustrate the execution process.
p. 3Warning against abuse of execution process

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The names of the parties and the suit/case number are not stated in the judgment; the plaintiff is referred to only by role.

minor

Internal date inconsistency: the notice to show cause is dated 4/8/2025 while the affidavit grounds refer to payment on a notice to show cause dated 8/7/2024.

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Sila v Sila (Civil Case 96 of 2015) [2026] KEMC 61 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Application dated 19/9/2025 (suit number not stated in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2026/61/eng@2026-02-17

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.