Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistrateAllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2026] KEMC 18 (KLR)

Obado v Crown Bus Service Limited (Civil Case 122 of 2019) [2026] KEMC 18 (KLR)

Magistrates' Court (Kenya)
10 February 2026
4,716 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~19 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court awarded a bus passenger over Ksh. 203,000 after a crash, holding the bus company fully liable based on a police abstract showing the driver's careless driving conviction.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, a fare-paying passenger, sued Crown Bus Service Limited over a road traffic accident of 14/8/2018 near Taleh area on the Nairobi-Mombasa road, alleging that the defendant's driver recklessly drove motor vehicle KBX XXXX into the bus he was travelling in. The defendant denied ownership of the vehicle, the occurrence of the accident, and negligence, and in the alternative blamed the plaintiff and the other driver. The plaintiff testified alone; the defendant called no witnesses. The court framed eight issues and found, on the plaintiff's uncontroverted testimony and a police abstract, that the accident occurred, that the plaintiff was a passenger, and that the defendant owned KBX XXXX per registrar's records. Although the plaintiff could not describe how the accident occurred, the unchallenged police abstract showed the defendant's driver was convicted of careless driving and fined Ksh. 30,000/=, which under section 47A of the Evidence Act was treated as conclusive proof of negligence. Following Court of Appeal authority that between a passenger and vehicle owners liability is 100% joint and several absent passenger negligence, the court found the defendant's driver 100% liable and the defendant 100% vicariously liable, there being no evidence the driver acted outside the course of employment. Assessing quantum, the court awarded Ksh. 200,000/= in general damages for soft tissue injuries, guided by comparable authorities and inflation, and Ksh. 3,000/= in special damages strictly proved by receipt, totalling Ksh. 203,000/=. Interest on general damages runs from judgment and on special damages from filing suit. The plaintiff was awarded costs of the suit.

Key legal issues

#
01

Liability for the road traffic accident

Holding

The plaintiff proved on a balance of probabilities that the defendant's driver was 100% liable; the defendant was vicariously liable

Reasoning

Although the plaintiff, who was asleep, could not describe how the accident occurred, the unchallenged police abstract showed the defendant's driver was convicted of careless driving and fined. Under section 47A of the Evidence Act the conviction is conclusive evidence of guilt. The plaintiff was a mere passenger with no negligence attributed to him, and the defendant called no evidence. Ownership was proved through registrar's records and the abstract. The defendant therefore bore 100% vicarious liability.

p. 6
02

Burden of proof of negligence

Holding

The burden lay on the plaintiff to prove negligence, but the burden was discharged through the uncontroverted police abstract and conviction

Reasoning

The court applied sections 107 and 109 of the Evidence Act and the Kirugi v Kabiya principle that the burden of proving negligence is on the plaintiff even at formal proof. However, since the defendant produced no evidence to counter the police abstract showing the driver's conviction for careless driving, the plaintiff's evidence amounted to a preponderance establishing a prima facie case that required an answer which never came.

p. 4
03

Quantum of general damages for soft tissue injuries

Holding

Ksh. 200,000/= awarded in general damages

Reasoning

Applying the principle that comparable injuries should attract comparable awards, with regard to inflation and the age of authorities, the court considered the plaintiff's Ksh. 250,000/= proposal and the defendant's Ksh. 30,000/= proposal and compared two recent appellate decisions reducing awards for soft tissue injuries to Ksh. 150,000/=. Adjusting for inflation, Ksh. 200,000/= was held to suffice.

p. 8
04

Special damages

Holding

Ksh. 3,000/= for the medical report awarded as specially pleaded and strictly proved by receipt

Reasoning

The court restated the rule that special damages must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved, citing Nizar Virani and Ouma v Nairobi City Council. The pleaded claim for the medical report was supported by a receipt, and was therefore awarded in full.

p. 9

Legal principles established

#
  • A claim for each particular type of special damage must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved
  • A police abstract is prima facie evidence of the facts reported to the police and, absent contrary evidence, may be relied upon; a conviction for careless driving recorded in it is conclusive evidence of guilt under section 47A of the Evidence Act
  • As between a passenger and the owners/drivers of the vehicles in a collision, liability is 100% joint and several unless the passenger's own negligence is proved; res ipsa loquitur applies where the injured person was a passenger
  • Interest on special damages runs from the date of loss/filing suit, while interest on general damages runs from the date of judgment

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment for the plaintiff against the defendant on liability, the defendant being held 100% vicariously liable for the accident
  2. 2.General damages for pain, suffering and loss of amenities of Ksh. 200,000/= awarded
  3. 3.Special damages of Ksh. 3,000/= awarded
  4. 4.Interest on general damages at court rates from the date of judgment/decree until payment in full
  5. 5.Interest on special damages from the date of filing suit to the date of judgment
  6. 6.Costs of the suit awarded to the plaintiff
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the magistrates' court over a tort claim for damages arising from a road traffic accident (Civil Procedure Act); no specific provision pleaded in the judgment

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Obado v Crown Bus Service Limited (Civil Case 122 of 2019) [2026] KEMC 18 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2026). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2026/18/eng@2026-02-10

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.