Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistrateAllowedNot stated in the judgment (criminal case, Nakuru)· [2025] KEMC 212 (KLR)

Repiblic v Isige (Criminal Case E1611 of 2024) [2025] KEMC 212 (KLR)

Senior Principal Magistrate's Court
16 September 2025
624 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~2 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Nakuru court halved a cash bail from Kshs. 300,000 to Kshs. 150,000, confirming that bail terms must not effectively deny an accused person's constitutional right to release.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The accused faces two counts arising from an alleged incident of 19/07/2024 at Manyani area, Nakuru East sub-County: possession of three spikes suspected to be porcupine quills and 3kgs of meat suspected to be porcupine meat without a permit from the Director-General of the Kenya Wildlife Service (count one), and dealing in the same meat while in possession of a sack, panga, three knives and a tray without a permit (count two). On 11.09.2024 the court had imposed a bond of Kshs. 1,000,000/- with one surety of a similar amount or, in the alternative, cash bail of Kshs. 300,000/-. Three prosecution witnesses had testified. On 13/08/2025 the accused sought a review of the cash bail, and prosecution counsel Mr. Moses Macharia did not object. The court outlined the governing principles: Article 49(1)(h) of the Constitution guarantees release on reasonable bond or bail absent compelling reasons; the Criminal Procedure Code requires bail amounts to be proportionate and not excessive; and bail decisions must balance the presumption of innocence, the accused's liberty, and the interests of justice, with bond terms aimed at securing attendance at trial rather than denying the constitutional right to bail. Citing Republic v Robert Zippor Nzilu and Andrew Young Otieno v Republic, and noting the seriousness of the offences, the court reduced the cash bail to Kshs. 150,000/-. The ruling was delivered at Nakuru on 16 September 2025 by Senior Principal Magistrate Aloyce Peter Ndege.

Key legal issues

#
01

Review of cash bail terms

Holding

The court reviewed the cash bail from Kshs. 300,000/- to Kshs. 150,000/-, considering that bail terms must secure attendance without amounting to denial of the right to bail, though it noted the offences were serious.

Reasoning

The court applied Article 49(1)(h) of the Constitution and the Criminal Procedure Code, which requires bail amounts to be fixed with due regard to the circumstances and not to be excessive. Relying on precedent, it held that bond terms exist to secure the accused's attendance at trial and must not effectively deny the constitutional right to release. Weighing the seriousness of the offences against the accused's personal circumstances, the prosecution having raised no objection, it reduced the cash bail to Kshs. 150,000/-.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • The right to be released on bond or bail on reasonable conditions may only be denied for compelling reasons
  • Bail entails balancing the rights of the presumed-innocent applicant against the public interest

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Cash bail imposed on the accused reviewed to Kshs. 150,000/-
Jurisdiction invoked
Article 49(1)(h) of the Constitution of Kenya 2010 and the Criminal Procedure Code

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Repiblic v Isige (Criminal Case E1611 of 2024) [2025] KEMC 212 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment (criminal case, Nakuru). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2025/212/eng@2025-09-16

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.