Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistratePartially Allowed(not stated in judgment)

Republic v Ali (Criminal Case E029 of 2025) [2025] KEMC 210 (KLR)

Magistrates' Court (Resident Magistrate), Lamu Law Courts
7 August 2025
1,022 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Lamu court convicted a man of cocaine possession because the drugs were found in his own room with his documents and signed inventory.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The accused was initially charged with two counts: burglary contrary to section 305(2) of the Penal Code and possession of narcotics contrary to section 3(1) as read with section 3(2)(b) of the Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances (Control) Act No. 4 of 1994. The burglary count was withdrawn by the complainant on 20/3/2025 under section 204 of the Criminal Procedure Code, leaving only the narcotics count, alleging possession of 20 grams of cocaine with a street value of Kshs. 50,000 at Shella location, Lamu, on 1/3/2025. The State called three witnesses. They testified that officers escorting the accused to his room to search for suspected stolen items instead recovered three test tubes containing white substance, together with the accused's wallet, driving licence and passport. Scenes-of-crime photographs and exhibits were produced. In his sworn defence, the accused admitted the room and personal items in the photographs but claimed the drugs were planted by PC Kirui; he was not cross-examined. The court framed two issues: whether the accused was in possession of the substance, and whether it was a narcotic drug. It found possession proved, the room having been identified by the accused, personal documents recovered therein, and a signed inventory taken. The planting allegation was dismissed as an uncorroborated afterthought first raised at defence stage. The government chemist's report, following Scott's test and UV Spectroscopy, confirmed the substance was cocaine. The accused was accordingly convicted under section 215 of the Criminal Procedure Code. The judgment dated and delivered at Lamu on 7 August 2025 by F.M. Mulama, Resident Magistrate; sentencing was not included in the judgment text.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the accused person was in possession of the substance suspected to be cocaine.
  2. 2.That the substance found in possession of the accused is a narcotic drug.

Key legal issues

#
01

Possession of the suspected cocaine

Holding

Possession proved to the required standard

Reasoning

The accused directed officers to his room where test tubes containing white substance, his wallet, driving licence and passport were recovered. The room was confirmed as his by the personal documents. The allegation of planting by PC Kirui was an uncorroborated afterthought first raised at defence, and the accused was under investigation for burglary, not narcotics, negating motive to plant. A signed inventory further confirmed possession.

p. 2
02

Whether the substance is a narcotic drug

Holding

The substance was confirmed by government chemist analysis to be cocaine, a narcotic drug

Reasoning

The white substance was forwarded to the government chemist under an exhibit memo and analysed using Scott's test and UV Spectroscopy, with the analyst Maxwell Goe opining it was cocaine. The court found the substance was a narcotic drug within the Act, completing the elements of the charge.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • Possession of a narcotic is proved where the drug is recovered from a room shown by the accused to be his, containing his personal documents, and supported by a signed inventory.
  • A forensic analysis report from the government chemist establishes that a substance is a narcotic drug.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The accused is convicted of being in possession of narcotics drugs contrary to section 3(1) as read with section 3(2)(b) of the Narcotics Drugs and Psychotropic Substances (Control) Act No. 4 of 1994, under section 215 of the Criminal Procedure Code.

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Criminal jurisdiction under the Penal Code, Narcotics Drugs and Psychotropic Substances (Control) Act No. 4 of 1994 and the Criminal Procedure Code

Relief refused

#

Defence that the cocaine was planted in his room by PC Kirui (Pw 2)

Un-corroborated afterthought raised only at defence stage despite the accused not raising it during Pw 2's testimony

p. 2

Costs

No costs order made in the judgment.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

It is therefore clear to my mind that those items especially the 3 test tubes were found in the accused’s room and his defence that the same were planted by PC Kirui hold no water as no witness was called to corroborate that
p. 2Rejection of planting allegation
This is evidently an afterthought and a desperate attempt to avoid criminal liability which this court will not entertain and I proceed to dismiss the defence by the accused.
p. 2Accused's defence as afterthought
the accused person is guilty of the ofience of being in possession of narcotics drugs contrary to section 3(1) as read with section 3(2)(B) of the Narcotics Drugs and Psychotropic Substances (Control) Act No. 4 of 1994 and he is accordingly convicted under section 215 of the Criminal Procedure Code.
p. 3Final orders - conviction

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The judgment's caption/charge heading is not reproduced, so the case number and full title of the accused are not stated in the text provided.

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Republic v Ali (Criminal Case E029 of 2025) [2025] KEMC 210 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). (not stated in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2025/210/eng@2025-08-07

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.