Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistrateDismissedNot stated in judgment· [2025] KEMC 72 (KLR)

Republic v Mulemba & 3 others (Criminal Case 1250 of 2019) [2025] KEMC 72 (KLR)

Magistrates' Court
22 April 2025
8,919 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~36 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Makindu court acquitted four men of robbery because police couldn't prove what was stolen or reliably identify the suspects.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
Four accused persons were charged with robbery with violence contrary to section 296(2) of the Penal Code, arising from a night invasion of the complainant's home at Nzambani village, Kibwezi Sub-county, on 22/12/2019, in which cash of Ksh. 20,000/=, two phones, a wrist watch and a solar radio were allegedly stolen. Part of the trial was conducted by a transferred magistrate and the record was adopted. The court framed three issues: whether the robbery occurred, whether the accused were positively identified, and whether the prosecution proved its case beyond reasonable doubt. On the first issue, the court found that only the complainant testified to what was stolen; no receipts, descriptions or corroborating evidence established the existence and ownership of the items, and the wife, a potential corroborating witness, was not called. Guided by Joshua Munyao Kiilu and Peter Munene, the court held the theft element unproved. On identification, the court disregarded testimony on identification parades because the officer who conducted them was not called and no forms were produced; the voice recognition of the 2nd accused was an afterthought; and the single-witness identification of the 4th accused, in near darkness with a torch flashed in the complainant's eyes, was contradictory and unreliable, contrary to Maitanyi v Republic. Investigations were found shoddy, confessions improperly recorded and hearsay disregarded, with no evidence of common intention linking the accused. The court found reasonable doubt had been cast on the prosecution case, resolved it in favour of the accused, and on 22 April 2025 acquitted all four and ordered those in custody released forthwith.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether robbery of the complainant's money and items was proved

Holding

Not proved; existence and ownership of the money, phones, wrist watch and solar radio were never established

Reasoning

Only the complainant testified to what was stolen. He gave no description of the items, no purchase receipts or documentary proof were produced, the investigating officer took his word without verification, his wife was not called despite being present, and there were contradictions about how much money was taken from her. The court applied sections 107 and 109 of the Evidence Act on burden of proof and followed Joshua Munyao Kiilu and Peter Munene on the need to prove theft as a central element of robbery.

p. 7
02

Whether the accused persons were positively identified as the robbers

Holding

No; testimony on identification parades was disregarded, voice recognition was an afterthought, and single-witness identification of the 4th accused was unreliable

Reasoning

The officer who allegedly conducted identification parades was not called and no parade forms were produced, so that testimony was disregarded. The complainant failed to disclose the voice recognition of the 2nd accused to police at the earliest opportunity and may have been unconscious when he heard the voice. Conflicting evidence existed about who held the torch, which was flashed in the complainant's eyes. Guided by Maitanyi v Republic, the court warned itself on single-witness identification and found the circumstances unfavourable.

p. 12
03

Whether the prosecution proved its case beyond reasonable doubt, including common intention

Holding

It did not; the investigations were shoddy and no link between the accused persons was established

Reasoning

The court set out the doctrine of common intention under section 21 of the Penal Code and Eunice Musenya Ndui's ingredients, but found no evidence linking the accused to one another or to the offence. The complainant gave contradictory testimony, unproved confessions and hearsay were disregarded, and the investigating officer acted on rumours. Reasonable doubt was cast on the prosecution case and resolved in favour of the accused.

p. 15

Legal principles established

#
  • Proof of any one of the ingredients of robbery with violence is enough to sustain a conviction under section 296(2) of the Penal Code
  • Existence and prior possession of property alleged to have been stolen must be established; mere allegation is insufficient
  • Where the evidence against an accused is identification or recognition, the trial court must examine it carefully and be satisfied the circumstances were favourable and free from error
  • The burden lies on the prosecution to prove guilt beyond reasonable doubt and any doubt must be resolved in favour of the accused

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Each of the accused persons found NOT GUILTY and acquitted accordingly
  2. 2.The accused persons in custody to be released forthwith, unless otherwise lawfully held
Jurisdiction invoked
Original criminal jurisdiction of the magistrates' court over robbery contrary to section 296(2) of the Penal Code

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Republic v Mulemba & 3 others (Criminal Case 1250 of 2019) [2025] KEMC 72 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2025/72/eng@2025-04-22

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.