Republic v M’muguu & 5 others (Criminal Case 182 of 2019) [2025] KEMC 17 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A Kenyan court convicted two men of robbery with violence in the killing of a former Kilifi deputy governor, using phone data as key evidence, but acquitted a third accused.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Questions the Court framed
#The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.
- 1.Whether the victims were robbed on 12/12/2018 or at all
- 2.Whether the 1st and 2nd accused persons were positively identified as part of the robbers
- 3.Whether the 3rd accused person handled stolen property
- 4.Whether the 1st and 3rd accused persons were found in possession of a firearm and ammunition without a valid firearm certificate
- 5.Whether the prosecution has proven its case against the 1st, 2nd and 3rd accused persons to the required standard
Key legal issues
#Whether the robbery of the victims on 12/12/2018 was proven
The court was satisfied that all three victims were robbed of their mobile phones on the material night, based on testimony, recovered exhibits, IMEI analysis of call data records, and evidence that the deceased died during the robbery.
The court held that ownership documents are not mandatory; what must be shown is that the items existed and were in the victims' possession. It resolved the apparent IMEI discrepancy by explaining that the check digit is always transmitted as zero in call data records. Two of the deceased's phones and the phones of PW4 and PW6 were positively identified through call data records, extracted data and exhibits, and the phone of PW6 was traced through use by PW2 and the 4th and 5th accused persons until recovery.
Whether the 1st and 2nd accused persons were positively identified as participants in the robbery
Yes. The credible accomplice testimony of PW1 (6th accused) was corroborated by PW2's evidence and by call data records placing the accused at the scene; their alibi defences were dislodged.
The court warned itself on the dangers of uncorroborated accomplice evidence, found PW1 credible and consistent, and found corroboration in the victims' testimony, PW2's account of ferrying the robbers and receiving a stolen phone, and call data records showing communications between the accused before, during and after the incident. Geolocation data placed the 2nd accused at Nyali Beach Hotel BTS shortly after the offence. The alibi defences, raised late, were rejected as not displacing the prosecution evidence.
Whether the 3rd accused person handled stolen property and possessed the firearm and ammunition
No. The prosecution failed to establish guilty knowledge or possession; she was acquitted on Counts Two, Four, Eight and Nine.
The phones and pistol were recovered from the house of the 1st accused person, who was the recognized tenant. The 3rd accused merely paid rent on his behalf, was a sex worker and client of the 1st accused, resided in Bombolulu per her call data records, and was out of Mombasa at the time of the offence. There was no evidence of her proprietary interest in the house, her belongings there, or her knowledge of the stolen phones, pistol or ammunition.
Whether the 1st accused person was found in possession of the firearm and ammunition without a valid certificate
Yes. The Glock pistol used to kill the deceased and eighteen rounds of ammunition were recovered from his house; he was convicted on Counts Eight and Nine.
The court found as a fact that the Glock pistol serial number PBZ816, which ballistics evidence established fired the fatal bullets, was recovered from the 1st accused person's house. The inventory was signed by the officers and both accused persons, photographs contradicted the claim of a covered head during the search, and the court found no plausible basis for the allegation of planting. The firearm and ammunition were functional and within the statutory definitions, and there was no evidence of a licence.
Legal principles established
#- Existence and prior possession of stolen property by the complainant must be established; ownership documents are not mandatory
- Accomplice evidence must first be tested for credibility, then for corroboration, before a conviction is based on it
- An accused person who raises an alibi assumes no burden of proof; the onus remains on the prosecution to displace it beyond reasonable doubt
- In a charge of receiving or retaining stolen property, the prosecution must prove theft, receipt and guilty knowledge beyond reasonable doubt
- Call data records and geolocation/BTS evidence can positively place an accused at a crime scene and dislodge an alibi
Court orders
#- 1.Conviction of the 1st and 2nd accused persons on Count One (robbery with violence contrary to section 296(2) of the Penal Code)
- 2.No finding on the alternative charge of handling stolen goods against the 1st accused person in respect of Count One
- 3.Acquittal of the 3rd accused person on Count Two (handling stolen goods)
- 4.Conviction of the 1st and 2nd accused persons on Count Three (robbery with violence contrary to section 296(2) of the Penal Code)
- 5.No finding on the alternative charge of handling stolen goods against the 1st accused person in respect of Count Three
- 6.Acquittal of the 3rd accused person on Count Four (handling stolen goods)
- 7.Conviction of the 1st and 2nd accused persons on Count Five (robbery with violence contrary to section 296(2) of the Penal Code)
- 8.Conviction of the 1st accused person on Count Eight (possession of a firearm without a valid firearm certificate contrary to section 4(1) as read with 4(3)(a) of the Firearms Act)
- 9.Acquittal of the 3rd accused person on Count Eight (possession of a firearm without a valid firearm certificate)
- 10.Conviction of the 1st accused person on Count Nine (possession of ammunition without a valid firearm certificate contrary to section 4(1) as read with 4(3)(a) of the Firearms Act)
- 11.Acquittal of the 3rd accused person on Count Nine (possession of ammunition without a valid firearm certificate)
The bench
#One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.
Wrote the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Original criminal jurisdiction over charges under the Penal Code and the Firearms Act (first-instance criminal trial)
Relief refused
#Conviction of the 3rd accused person on the handling stolen goods and firearm/ammunition charges
No evidence of proprietary interest in the house or knowledge of the stolen items/firearm
Alternative charge of handling stolen goods against the 1st accused person (Counts One and Three)
No finding was made once the substantive robbery charge was proven
Costs
Not stated in the judgment (criminal proceedings; no costs order made)
Quotable passages
#Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.
The prosecution has proven its case beyond reasonable doubt, against the 1st and 2nd accused persons in respect of count one. I find them guilty of the ofience of robbery contrary to section 296(2) of the Penal Code and proceed to convict them accordingly
The prosecution has failed to prove its case beyond reasonable doubt against the 3rd accused person with respect to the second count of handling stolen goods contrary to section 322(1) as read with 322(2) of the Penal code. I find the 3rd accused person not guilty and proceed to aquit her accordingly
The prosecution has proven its case beyond reasonable doubt, against the 1st accused person in respect of count eight. I find him guilty of the ofience of being in possession of a firearm without a valid firearm certificate contrary to section 4(1) as read with 4(3)(a) of the Firearms Act and proceed to convict him accordingly
I hereby warn myself that although an accomplice is a competent witness and his evidence need not be corroborated, there is need for caution before relying on the uncorroborated evidence of an accomplice.
It is the duty of the prosecution to dislodge the alibi. The onus is also on the prosecution to prove its case against the accused persons beyond reasonable doubt.
What ought to be proven is that the mobile phones existed and were in the custody or possession of the victims at the time of robbery.
Issues in the judgment
#Court station is unclear: the trial references Shanzu court, but the judgment is dated and delivered at Makindu
Recurrent typographical errors in the judgment text (e.g. 'ofience' for 'offence', 'aquitted' for 'acquitted', 'suficient' for 'sufficient')
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Republic v M’muguu & 5 others (Criminal Case 182 of 2019) [2025] KEMC 17 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2025/17/eng@2025-01-14
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.