Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistratePartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2021] KEMC 17 (KLR)

Republic v Daudi Omar Ware

Magistrates' Court (Criminal)
11 March 2021
865 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~3 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court convicted an accused of the lesser charge of common assault because prosecutors never brought medical evidence proving the victims' actual injuries.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The accused, Daudi Omar Ware, faced two counts of Assault Causing Actual Bodily Harm contrary to section 251 of the Penal Code, arising from an attack on 09.12.2018 at Gururi area, Tana River Sub-County, in which Farah Maulid Bare and Ibrahim Maulid Bare, two brothers herding camels, were attacked at night by twelve armed assailants who also stole phones and camels. The complainants identified the accused by torchlight as one of the assailants, one who had earlier threatened them to leave the area. Their father (PW3) confirmed the chief's earlier warning of a looming attack and that five of his camels went missing. The arresting officer (PW4) testified to the accused's arrest at Hola hotel on 09.01.2019. Despite repeated adjournments, the prosecution closed its case without medical evidence of the complainants' injuries, the court intervening to stop indefinite adjournments and noting the difficult balance between victims' and accused persons' rights. The court accepted the mutually corroborating, unchallenged identification evidence and found the violent assault proved beyond reasonable doubt. However, because no medical evidence established the actual bodily harm element of section 251, the court found the charged offence not fully proved. Exercising powers under sections 179(1) as read with 191 and 215 of the Criminal Procedure Code, the court substituted a conviction for the lesser, cognate offence of Common Assault contrary to section 250 of the Penal Code in both counts. Judgment was delivered at Hola on 11 March 2021 by Principal Magistrate Aloyce Peter Ndege.

Key legal issues

#
01

Proof of the harm element in assault causing actual bodily harm

Holding

The court found the assault proved but the actual bodily harm element unproved because the prosecution adduced no medical evidence; it therefore failed to prove the charged offence in full

Reasoning

Two complainants testified they were attacked by a group of twelve armed assailants and identified the accused by torchlight. The court accepted the identification evidence as corroborated and unchallenged. However, despite adjournments, the prosecution never produced medical evidence on the nature and extent of the injuries, so the harm ingredient of section 251 of the Penal Code was not established to the required standard.

p. 2
02

Substitution of a conviction on a lesser offence

Holding

The court invoked sections 179(1) as read with 191 and 215 of the Criminal Procedure Code to convict the accused of Common Assault c/s 250 of the Penal Code in both counts, the lesser cognate offence requiring no proof of harm

Reasoning

Common assault under section 250 does not require proof of any harm and is a lesser offence cognate to that charged. Having found the violent assault proved by the identification evidence of the two complainants, the court held it was in order to substitute the conviction and convict on the lesser offence in both counts.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • Assault causing actual bodily harm requires proof of actual bodily harm, which ordinarily requires medical evidence of the injuries sustained
  • Where the charged offence is not fully proved, the court may convict on a lesser cognate offence under sections 179(1) and 191 of the Criminal Procedure Code
  • Identification evidence of a single witness at night, if credible and unchallenged, can sustain a conviction

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The accused person was convicted of the offence of Common Assault contrary to section 250 of the Penal Code, as charged in both counts, pursuant to sections 179(1) as read with 191 and 215 of the Criminal Procedure Code
Jurisdiction invoked
Original criminal jurisdiction over the offence of Assault Causing Actual Bodily Harm contrary to section 251 of the Penal Code (Cap. 63), with power of substitution of conviction under sections 179(1), 191 and 215 of the Criminal Procedure Code (Cap. 75)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Republic v Daudi Omar Ware", Case Analysis (2021). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2021/17/eng@2021-03-11

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.