Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistratePartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2021] KEMC 4 (KLR)

Republic v Concelia Aoko Ondieki & Another

Chief Magistrate's Court (Criminal Division)
11 February 2021
19,826 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~79 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Two Ministry of Education officials were convicted for falsifying accounts of public funds, but forgery charges over fuel receipts failed for lack of corroboration.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
In this first-instance criminal trial before the Chief Magistrate's Court at Nairobi, the two accused, Concelia Aoko Ondieki (Acting Director of Secondary and Tertiary Education) and Christine Wegesa Chacha (Senior Education Officer), both of the Ministry of Education, faced seven counts arising from a Kshs. 1,478,581 imprest drawn for infrastructure needs assessment workshops for secondary schools in the Coast Region in June 2009: joint false accounting (Count 1), fraudulent acquisition of public property against the 1st accused (Count 2), and five forgery counts relating to fuel receipts against the 2nd accused (Counts 3-7). The prosecution called 41 witnesses, including the then Permanent Secretary, ministry accounts staff, numerous workshop participants who disowned payment schedules and signatures, and two forensic document examiners. The court found that the 1st accused, despite the imprest warrant bearing Martin Orwa's name, actually received the money, became responsible for its management, and knowingly furnished false returns supported by fabricated schedules bearing her handwriting. Both accused were convicted on Count 1. On Count 2, the court held that proof of fraudulent acquisition of part of the money suffices even where the full quantum is not established, and convicted the 1st accused. However, on the forgery counts, the court found that the handwriting match alone, without testimony from petrol station attendants or credible evidence of the vehicle's fuel capacity, could not prove the receipts were false, and acquitted the 2nd accused under section 215 of the Penal Code. Judgment delivered on 11th February 2021 by L. N. Mugambi, Chief Magistrate.

Key legal issues

#
01

Custody and management of the imprest (Count 1, elements i-iii)

Holding

The 1st accused received the Kshs. 1,478,581 imprest and effectively became the person charged with management of the funds despite the warrant bearing Martin Orwa's name; the 2nd accused, having received Kshs. 400,000 for the official activity, had a duty to account for that portion

Reasoning

PW 1 denied signing or receiving the imprest; the cashier (PW 3) paid the money in cash to the 1st accused; DW 1 confirmed under cross-examination that the recipient's signature in section 6 of the warrant was the 1st accused's; forensic examination matched the signatures. The 2nd accused admitted receiving Kshs. 400,000 from the 1st accused for the official Coast assignment, making the funds public money for which she had a duty to account.

p. 26
02

Falsity of the returns and knowing furnishing (Counts 1)

Holding

The payment schedules, attendance lists and supporting receipts attached to the surrender voucher were false, and both accused knowingly furnished them

Reasoning

Numerous participants and officers denied receiving the amounts shown, disowned signatures and handwritings, and the document examiner confirmed the signatures were not theirs. Expert comparison matched the handwritings and dates on the falsified schedules to the 1st accused, while PW 4 implicated the 2nd accused in preparing new schedules. The documents therefore constituted false returns knowingly furnished by both.

p. 30
03

Fraudulent acquisition of public property by the 1st accused (Count 2)

Holding

Count 2 proved: the 1st accused fraudulently acquired part of the imprest by inflating payments and showing non-attendees as paid, though the full quantum pocketed was not established

Reasoning

The court reasoned that falsifying schedules to show inflated or fictitious payments could only be to siphon money for her own benefit. Although the full amount misappropriated could not be quantified, proof of a fraudulent acquisition of a portion suffices for the offence; the failure to establish full quantum goes only to sentencing, not to the charge.

p. 32
04

Forgery of the five fuel receipts by the 2nd accused (Counts 3-7)

Holding

Not proved; the 2nd accused acquitted on Counts 3 to 7

Reasoning

Though the document examiner matched the handwriting on the receipts to the 2nd accused, no petrol station attendant testified, the fuel capacity of the vehicle was not credibly established, the fuel stations existed and had different serial numbers unlike the demonstrably false stationery/water receipts, and the 2nd accused insisted the fueling was genuine. Handwriting similarity alone, without circumstantial corroboration of falsity of the material entries, could not sustain a conviction.

p. 34

Legal principles established

#
  • Partial proof of fraudulent acquisition suffices; a charge is not defeated merely because the full quantum of loss is not established
  • The governing principle of forgery is that a document must not only tell a lie but tell a lie about itself
  • A public officer who accepts public money for an official undertaking owes a duty to account for it to the Ministry, not merely to the superior who handed it over
  • A handwriting match alone, without corroborating circumstances of falsity of material entries, is insufficient to found a forgery conviction

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Conviction of both accused on Count 1 (false accounting by a public officer) as proved beyond reasonable doubt
  2. 2.Conviction of the 1st accused on Count 2 (fraudulent acquisition of public property)
  3. 3.Acquittal of the 2nd accused under section 215 of the Penal Code on Counts 3 to 7 (forgery)
Jurisdiction invoked
Original criminal jurisdiction over charges under the Penal Code (Cap 63) and the Anti-Corruption and Economic Crimes Act, 2003

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Republic v Concelia Aoko Ondieki & Another", Case Analysis (2021). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2021/4/eng@2021-02-11

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.