Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
MagistrateDismissedNot stated in the judgment (criminal charge under the Bribery Act, Nairobi)

Republic v Njoroge (Anti-Corruption Case 16 of 2019) (Anti-Corruption and Economic Crimes) [2020] KEMC 5 (KLR)

Chief Magistrate's Court at Nairobi (Criminal Division)
9 January 2020
7,645 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~31 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Nairobi court convicted a Public Trustee clerk of taking bribes, showing call logs, marked money and chemical swabs can fully prove a bribery case.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The accused, a Clerical Officer at the office of the Public Trustee, State Law Offices, Sheria House, was tried on three counts of receiving a bribe contrary to section 6(1) as read with section 18(1) of the Bribery Act. The prosecution alleged she requested Ksh 7,000 (Count 1) and Ksh 5,000 (Count 2) from the complainant, Doris Nyamonge Bundi, to facilitate release of her late husband's savings, and actually received Ksh 5,000 in treated trap money (Count 3) during an EACC sting operation on 8th March 2017. Nine prosecution witnesses testified, including the complainant, EACC investigators who observed the hand-over through transparent partitioning, a government analyst who detected APQ chemical on the accused's hands and drawer, and a digital forensic analyst whose extraction of the accused's phone showed repeated calls to the complainant, several after working hours, around 1st March 2017. The defence denied the demand, contending the complainant placed the envelope in the unoccupied left drawer and alleging contradictions in dates and amounts. The court framed three issues: whether a request was made, whether money was received, and whether there was intent to improperly perform a public function. Relying on authorities on contradictions and circumstantial evidence, it held the discrepancies were minor, the call log established the request, the EACC officers' evidence and APQ swabs proved receipt, and demanding payment to release dues breached the complainant's reasonable expectation of impartial public service. All three counts were proved beyond reasonable doubt and the accused was convicted under section 215 of the Criminal Procedure Code and, as a first offender, fined Kshs.100,000 in default 12 months imprisonment on each count, with her cash bail of Kshs.60,000 converted as part of the fine.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Did the accused person make a request for a financial advantage?
  2. 2.Did the accused person receive a financial advantage?
  3. 3.Was there an intention by the accused to improperly perform a function as a consequence of the request or receipt of the said financial advantage?

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the accused requested a financial advantage (Counts 1 and 2)

Holding

Yes - the request of Ksh 7,000 (Count 1) was proved by the complainant's testimony supported circumstantially by the accused's numerous calls to the complainant, including after working hours; and the request on 8th March 2017 (Count 2) was proved beyond doubt

Reasoning

The complainant's testimony on the demand was corroborated by EACC officers and circumstantial evidence in the call log showing four calls on 1st March 2017, three past working hours, one at 8.00pm, followed up on 2nd, 4th and 6th March 2017. Applying Sawe v Republic, the inculpatory facts were incompatible with innocence and no other reasonable hypothesis explained the calls. Discrepancies in the complainant's recall of dates were treated as normal human lapses.

p. 13
02

Whether the accused received the financial advantage (Count 3)

Holding

Yes - receipt was proved by direct sighting of four EACC officers through transparent partitioning, recovery of treated notes whose serial numbers matched the handing-over inventory and photocopy, and APQ chemical on the accused's hands and drawer

Reasoning

PW3, PW4, PW6 and PW9 witnessed the money changing hands and serial numbers matched across the handing-over inventory, recovery inventory and photocopy. The government analyst confirmed APQ on swabs of the accused's hands and drawer, confirming she handled the treated money. The defence contentions that APQ leaked from the envelope or that the complainant framed the accused were rejected as far-fetched and without evidential foundation.

p. 14
03

Whether the accused intended to improperly perform a relevant function or activity

Holding

Yes - handling the complainant's file was a function of a public nature pursuant to her duties, expected to be performed in good faith and impartially; demanding money to release payment breached the complainant's reasonable expectation of service

Reasoning

The accused was a public officer whose supervisor assigned her the complainant's file. The office of the Public Trustee administers estates as a public function. The complainant waited 1 year and 7 months; a demand for money to release payment she was already entitled to amounted to improper performance of a function of a public nature required to be discharged in good faith and impartially under section 7 of the Bribery Act.

p. 15

Legal principles established

#
  • Minor contradictions not affecting the core of the prosecution case do not justify rejection of the evidence in its entirety
  • Tests for circumstantial evidence as set out in Abanga Alias Onyango v Republic

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Conviction of the accused on all three counts pursuant to section 215 of the Criminal Procedure Code
  2. 2.Fine of Kshs.100,000/= in default 12 months imprisonment on each count
  3. 3.Cash bail of Kshs.60,000/= deposited vide receipt No.446556 dated 14.6.2019 converted as part of the fine

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

EN
E. K. NyutuSenior Principal Magistrate
majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Original criminal jurisdiction over charges under section 6(1) as read with section 18(1) of the Bribery Act; conviction under section 215 of the Criminal Procedure Code

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

From the foregoing, I find that the prosecution has proved its case beyond reasonable doubt on all the charges against the accused person and I convict her accordingly pursuant to section 215 of the Criminal Procedure Code.
p. 15Conviction on all counts
For this reason, the accused is hereby fined a fine of Kshs.100,000/= in default 12 months imprisonment on each count.
p. 15Sentence - final orders
Cash bail deposited to accused vide receipt No.446556 dated 14.6.2019 in the amount of Kshs.60,000/= [Sixty Thousand] is hereby converted as part of the fine.
p. 16Conversion of cash bail to part-fine
In order to justify, on circumstantial evidence, the inference of guilt, the inculpatory facts must be incompatible with the innocence of the accused, and incapable of explanation upon any other reasonable hypothesis than that of his guilt.
p. 12Circumstantial evidence standard (Sawe v Republic)
The prosecution has therefore proved beyond doubt that the accused did make a request for money on 8th March, 2017.
p. 13Proof of request on Count 2

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The judgment's delivery date line is incomplete and undated, yet the sentence was recorded on 9.1.2020

minor

Paragraph numbered 46 appears twice in the judgment

minor

The government analyst stated he received the exhibit memo on 21st March, 2007 while other evidence dates the events to 2017

material

PW3 and PW9 variously place recovery of the trap money in the left-hand side and right-hand drawer of the accused's desk

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Republic v Njoroge (Anti-Corruption Case 16 of 2019)  (Anti-Corruption and Economic Crimes) [2020] KEMC 5 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2020). Not stated in the judgment (criminal charge under the Bribery Act, Nairobi). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kemc/2020/5/eng@2020-01-09

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.