Wahib Saad v Ali Salma Kassim [2014] KEKC 3 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Kisumu Kadhis' Court granted a beneficiary access to inherited property because the respondent proved neither payment of appeal costs nor a stay of execution.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether the respondent had paid costs of the appeal
Costs had not been paid as alleged; receipts did not show money deposited in court and no stay of execution was filed
The respondent claimed he had appealed and paid costs. He was ordered at the hearing on 18th June 2014 to file proof of payment before delivery of the ruling. The receipts filed on 30th June 2014 failed to show any money deposited in court pending the appeal, and the respondent had not filed a stay of execution of the decree, so the claim of payment failed.
Whether the applicant should be granted entry and access to plot no. 4
Orders granted as prayed since judgment had been entered, the estate distributed, and the applicant was denied access by the respondent
The applicant established he was a beneficiary of plot no. 4, that judgment had been entered and the estate distributed, and that the respondent denied him access to part of the house. With the respondent's cost-payment claim disproven and no stay of execution in place, the court found no basis to withhold the access orders.
Legal principles established
#- A respondent who alleges he has appealed and paid costs must produce proof of money deposited in court and a stay of execution before denying a beneficiary access to the distributed estate
Court orders
#- 1.Order of entry and access into plot no. 4 at Manyata Arab Kisumu granted as prayed
- 2.The OCS Kisumu Central Police Station to provide security as prayed
- 3.Costs of the application provided for as prayed
- 4.Review/Application period of 30 days (R/A - 30 days)
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Not stated in judgment
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Wahib Saad v Ali Salma Kassim [2014] KEKC 3 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2014). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kekc/2014/3/eng@2014-07-03
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.