Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
High CourtPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment as provided (Nakuru HCCC)

Nehemiah Kibet Bunei & Anor v Paul Tuitoek Kangogo

High Court of Kenya
19 May 2006
1,830 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~7 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court held a vehicle owner fully liable for a fatal crash caused by a burst tyre, awarding the family Kshs 2.69 million.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This was a fatal accident claim heard on formal proof after interlocutory judgment was entered on 25 July 2002 against the defendant, who failed to enter appearance or file a defence. The plaintiffs, son and brother of the deceased Beatrice Jepkoech Chepsoi, who died on 12 February 2000 when motor vehicle KYR 020 overturned along the Nakuru-Kabarnet road near Mogotio, sued as administrators of her estate. Three witnesses testified: a fellow passenger described the self-involved accident; a traffic police base commander produced records attributing the accident to a burst front tyre; and the second plaintiff proved ownership of the vehicle by the defendant through a registrar of motor vehicles search, together with letters of administration, the deceased's death certificate and her payslips as an NSSF secretary. The court framed two issues: liability and quantum. It found the defendant 100% liable for failing to maintain the vehicle in a safe mechanical condition. On quantum, the court applied the deceased's net monthly salary of Kshs 33,588/05, a dependency ratio of 2/3 reflecting her sole support of four children, and a multiplier of ten years rather than the suggested thirteen, citing reduced life expectancy, to award Kshs 2,687,044/= under the Fatal Accidents Act. No award was made under the Law Reform Act, following Kemfro Africa, and none for special damages since none were pleaded. Costs and interest from the date of judgment were awarded to the plaintiffs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Liability for the fatal road accident

Holding

Defendant, as registered owner, held 100% liable for the death caused by a burst front tyre in a self-involved accident

Reasoning

PW3, an eyewitness passenger, testified the vehicle rolled without involvement of any other vehicle; police records attributed the accident to a burst front tyre; the registrar of motor vehicles search and police records confirmed the defendant's ownership. The uncontroverted evidence established negligence in failing to maintain the vehicle in a roadworthy condition.

p. 2
02

Multiplier and dependency ratio under the Fatal Accidents Act

Holding

Multiplier of 10 years and dependency ratio of 2/3 applied to net monthly salary of Kshs 33,588/05, yielding Kshs 2,687,044/=

Reasoning

The court applied the net salary after tax and statutory deductions. Though retirement was at 55, the court took judicial notice of reduced life expectancy due to poverty, HIV/AIDS and other diseases, and declined the proposed 13-year multiplier in favour of 10 years. A 2/3 dependency ratio reflected the deceased's sole support of four children.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • Damages under the Fatal Accidents Act must be computed on net (not gross) earnings after tax and statutory deductions
  • Special damages must be specifically pleaded and specifically proved
  • An owner is liable in negligence for a self-involved accident caused by failure to maintain the vehicle in safe mechanical condition

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The defendant is held liable 100% in damages to the deceased's estate
  2. 2.General damages of Kshs 2,687,044/= awarded under the Fatal Accidents Act
  3. 3.The plaintiffs shall have costs of the suit
  4. 4.Interest on the general damages payable from the date of delivery of the judgment
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the High Court; Fatal Accidents Act and Law Reform Act

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Nehemiah Kibet Bunei & Anor v Paul Tuitoek Kangogo", Case Analysis (2006). Not stated in the judgment as provided (Nakuru HCCC). Source: 

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.