Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELRCPartially AllowedMemorandum of Appeal dated 5th February 2024 (number not stated in judgment)· [2025] KEELRC 2644 (KLR)

Wabwaya v H Young & Co (E.A) Ltd (Employment and Labour Relations Appeal E006 of 2024) [2025] KEELRC 2644 (KLR)

High Court of Kenya
26 September 2025
1,086 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's High Court raised a finger-injury compensation award from Kshs.250,000 to Kshs.400,000, ruling the original figure ignored inflation and comparable cases.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a first appeal to the High Court at Nakuru against the quantum of general damages awarded by Principal Magistrate Y.I Khatambi on 26th January 2024 in a personal injury matter in which liability had been agreed at 80:20. The trial court awarded Kshs.250,000/= for a crush injury to the left small finger with a fractured distal phalanx and 5% permanent disability, described in Dr. Obed Omuyoma's medical report as grievous harm. The Appellant sought enhancement to Kshs.500,000/= on grounds that the award was too low, ignored inflation, and departed from comparable precedents; the Appellant had claimed Kshs.500,000/= before the trial court while the Respondent had proposed Kshs.200,000/= citing Oluoch Eric Gogo v Universal Corporation Limited. The Appellant instead relied on Raiply Woods v Paul Ajoko Misolo. The Respondent filed no written submissions despite directions. The court restated the first appellate court's duty to re-evaluate and re-assess the evidence, citing Abok James Odera and Kenya Ports Authority v Kuston. Comparing West Kenya Sugar (Kshs.450,000/=) and Tile & Carpet Center Warehouse v Okello (Kshs.482,000/=), it held the trial award was erroneously low for not factoring in inflation and similar cases, and substituted Kshs.400,000/=, noting no evidence of amputation. After 20% contribution and special damages of Kshs.6,000/=, the total award was Kshs.326,000/=. Costs of the appeal were awarded to the Appellant. The judgment was delivered virtually at Nakuru on 26th September 2025.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the trial magistrate's award of Kshs.250,000/= in general damages was so low as to constitute an erroneous estimate warranting interference

Holding

The appeal on quantum was merited; the award failed to account for inflation and comparable precedents and was enhanced to Kshs.400,000/=

Reasoning

The court, exercising first-appeal review duties, compared the injury (crush injury to left small finger with fractured distal phalanx, 5% permanent disability) with awards in comparable finger-injury cases: West Kenya Sugar (Kshs.450,000/= for crush injury with amputation) and Tile & Carpet Center Warehouse v Okello (Kshs.482,000/= for distal phalanx amputation). Given the magistrate's discretion but the need to account for inflation and precedent, Kshs.400,000/= was substituted, tempered by absence of evidence of amputation.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • On a first appeal the court must re-evaluate the evidence and draw its own conclusions while making due allowance for not having seen or heard the witnesses

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Appeal allowed; award of general damages substituted at Kshs.400,000/=
  2. 2.Less 20% contribution (Kshs.80,000/=) leaving Kshs.320,000/=; plus special damages of Kshs.6,000/=; total award Kshs.326,000/=
  3. 3.Costs of the appeal to be borne by the Respondent

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Evidence ActSections 107, 108 and 109
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 21 Rule 1
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 1B
  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 159(2)(d); Article 48

Cases cited (6)

  • Oluoch Eric Gogo v Universal Corporation Limited
    [2015] KEHC 4850 (KLR)
  • Raiply Woods (K) Limited v Paul Ajoko Misolo
    [2011] KEHC 3428 (KLR)
  • Abok James Odera T/A A.J Odera & Associates v John Patrick Machira T/A Machira & Co. Advocates
    [2013] KECA 208 (KLR)
  • Kenya Ports Authority v Kuston (Kenya) Limited
    (2009) 2EA 212
  • West Kenya Sugar Co Ltd v Joseph Sore Shirambula
    [2021] KEELRC 2149 (KLR)
  • Tile & Carpet Center Warehouse v Okello
    [2022] KECA 5 (KLR)
On appeal from
Principal Magistrate's Court
Jurisdiction invoked
First appellate jurisdiction over the Magistrate's Court (appeal against quantum); no specific constitutional/statutory provision for the appeal is cited in the judgment

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Wabwaya v H Young & Co (E.A) Ltd (Employment and Labour Relations Appeal E006 of 2024) [2025] KEELRC 2644 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Memorandum of Appeal dated 5th February 2024 (number not stated in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelrc/2025/2644/eng@2025-09-26

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.