Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELRCPartially AllowedNot stated in judgment as provided

Mokebo v Kenya Women Microfinance (Cause E035 of 2025) [2025] KEELRC 2634 (KLR)

Employment and Labour Relations Court
30 September 2025
3,220 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~13 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court ruled that accusing an employee of fraud without specific proof makes a dismissal unfair, awarding her four months' salary.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The claimant, employed by the respondent from 1st May 2009 and rising to Branch Manager, Kisumu East Branch, was terminated effective 26th June 2024 over alleged involvement in fraudulent activities, namely improper impounding and transfer of Tujiunge Funds of Kshs.32,800. She claimed 12 months' compensation, salary in lieu of notice, leave payment, overtime, house allowance and a certificate of service. The court found that although the notice to show cause and termination letter referenced fraudulent activities, neither particularised the alleged fraud nor the claimant's role. The internal audit report implicated the Branch Manager's office generally but identified no specific misconduct by the claimant, and no action appeared to have been taken against the persons actually named. The respondent's own witness admitted the claimant was not involved in the cash transfer, did not authenticate signatures, was not charged in court, and was unaware of any investigation. Applying Sections 41, 43, 45 and 47(5) of the Employment Act and the higher standard of proof for fraud, the court held the termination substantively unfair. However, procedure was held fair: the claimant received a show-cause notice, responded, attended a disciplinary hearing and did not appeal. Compensation was fixed at four months' gross salary (Kshs.340,000) considering her 14 years of service and clean record. Claims for notice pay, leave, overtime and house allowance failed for lack of evidence or because salary was consolidated. A certificate of service was ordered. Costs were awarded at half scale with interest on the compensation.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the respondent proved a valid and fair reason for terminating the claimant's employment (substantive fairness)
  2. 2.Whether the respondent complied with the procedural requirements under Sections 41 and 45(2)(c) of the Employment Act (procedural fairness)
  3. 3.Whether the claimant is entitled to the reliefs claimed: 12 months' compensation, salary in lieu of notice, leave payment, overtime, house allowance and certificate of service

Key legal issues

#
01

Substantive justification for termination

Holding

The respondent failed to prove on a balance of probabilities that it had a valid and fair reason to terminate the claimant's employment; the generalized allegation of involvement in fraudulent activities fell below the prescribed threshold

Reasoning

The notice to show cause and termination letter never particularised the alleged fraudulent activities. The internal audit report implicated the Branch Manager's office generally but did not identify any specific misconduct by the claimant. The respondent's own witness admitted the claimant was not involved in the transfer of cash, did not authenticate signatures, was not charged in court, and was unsure whether any investigation was conducted. A charge of neglect under Section 44(4)(c) might have succeeded but was not pursued.

p. 6
02

Procedural fairness of the termination

Holding

The respondent complied with Sections 45(2)(c) and 41 of the Employment Act; the procedural process was fair

Reasoning

The claimant was issued a notice to show cause, responded to it denying the charge, was invited to a disciplinary hearing with the right to be accompanied by a fellow employee, attended and signed the minutes, and the panel considered the matter before recommending termination. The claimant did not fault the hearing or process and did not appeal the decision.

p. 7
03

Standard of proof for allegations of fraud in employment

Holding

Fraud allegations must be strictly pleaded and proved on a higher standard than the ordinary balance of probabilities

Reasoning

Relying on Emfil Ltd V Registrar of Titles and the cited authorities, the court reiterated that fraud is a serious allegation requiring strict proof. Not a single instance of fraud perpetrated by the claimant was evidentially demonstrated; the alleged activities were never unpackaged for the claimant's rebuttal.

p. 6
04

Quantum of compensation under Section 49(1)(c)

Holding

The equivalent of four (4) months' gross salary (Kshs.340,000) was fair compensation

Reasoning

Guided by Section 49(4), the court considered the claimant's 14 years of service, her clean disciplinary record with no previous misconduct or warning letters, and the fact that she did not seek reinstatement, appeal the decision, or express a wish to remain in employment.

p. 7

Legal principles established

#
  • Allegations of fraud by an employer against an employee must be grounded on sufficiently verifiable evidence and particulars of the fraud must be demonstrated to sustain the charge
  • The employer bears the burden of proving a valid and fair reason for termination; failure to prove the reason renders the termination unfair

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Equivalent of 4 months gross salary as compensation, Kshs.340,000
  2. 2.Certificate of service
  3. 3.Costs of the suit at half scale
  4. 4.Interest on the Kshs.340,000 at court rates from date of Judgment till payment in full

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Employment Act, Sections 41, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47(5), 49 and 51 (fair termination claims)

Relief refused

#

Salary in lieu of notice (Kshs.85,000)

Claimant admitted having been paid salary in lieu of notice

p. 7

Leave payment (Kshs.1,276,200)

No evidence of unutilized leave days or when they accrued

p. 7

Overtime (Kshs.119,280)

No particulars or evidence of overtime worked; overtime not approved by supervisor

p. 7

House allowance (Kshs.256,000)

Salary was consolidated; under Section 31(2)(a) of the Employment Act the employer was under no obligation to pay house allowance

p. 7

Costs

Costs of the suit at half scale awarded to the claimant

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

For the foregoing reasons, it is the finding of the court that the respondent has failed to prove on a balance of probabilities that it had a valid and fair reason to terminate the claimant's employment as by law required.
p. 6Substantive unfairness - failure of proof
The generalized allegation of the claimant's involvement in fraudulent activities fell below the prescribed threshold and termination of the claimant's employment did not pass the substantive fairness test.
p. 6Fraud allegations without particulars
it is the finding of the court that the respondent complied with the provisions of Section 45(2)(c) of the Employment Act and mandatory procedures prescribed by Section 41 of the Employment Act.
p. 7Procedural fairness upheld
a. Equivalent of 4 months gross salary Kshs.340,000. b. Certificate of service. c. Costs of the suit at half scale. d. Interest on the Kshs.340,000 at court rates from date of Judgment till payment in full.
p. 8Final orders/disposition

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The judgment states the claimant served as Branch Manager Kisumu East Branch 'since 17th April, 2024' yet elsewhere describes her employment from 1st May 2009 and a 14-year duration used in assessing compensation; the 2024 date appears to refer to the renewed contract

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mokebo v Kenya Women Microfinance (Cause E035 of 2025) [2025] KEELRC 2634 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelrc/2025/2634/eng@2025-09-30

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.