Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELRCPartially AllowedNot stated in judgment· [2025] KEELRC 2492 (KLR)

Nyapola v China Road & Bridge Corporation (Appeal E042 of 2025) [2025] KEELRC 2492 (KLR)

Environment and Labour Court? - judgment states 'DELIVERED IN OPEN COURT AT NAIROBI'; appellate seat over Mavoko Law Courts (Chief Magistrate's Court)
18 September 2025
2,355 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court confirmed that employers must prove workplace injuries didn't happen — unsigned records and no safety evidence led to 100% liability.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This was a first appeal against the judgment of Hon. S. Kandie (RM) delivered on 6th February 2025 in Mavoko Law Courts Civil Suit No. 948 of 2018, a workplace injury claim arising from an alleged accident on 14th April 2016 at the Syokimau Railway Terminal construction site. The appellant, an employee, sued for special damages of Kshs. 4,000 and general damages. The trial court, while finding the appellant had sustained soft tissue injuries and awarding Kshs. 150,000 general damages and Kshs. 4,000 special damages, simultaneously dismissed the suit with costs to the defendant. On appeal, the appellant faulted the trial magistrate for relying on an unsigned job card, misstating that the appellant had signed it, and for relying on an injury register that did not disclose the accident site. Re-evaluating the evidence under the Selle v Associated Motor Boat Co principles, the court found the trial magistrate had erred in fact: RW1, the respondent's Human Resources Officer, confirmed the job card was unsigned by the employee and the work injury record was unsigned and did not disclose the site. The burden lay on the employer to prove the alleged absence from work and that the accident did not occur. The court set aside the finding on liability and substituted a finding that the respondent was 100% liable, following Victor Ndege Manase v Ashton Apparels (EPZ) Limited. On quantum, applying Butt v Khan, the award of Kshs. 150,000 and Kshs. 4,000 special damages was upheld as not an erroneous estimate. The appeal was allowed: judgment was entered for the plaintiff against the defendant with special damages of Kshs. 4,000, general damages of Kshs. 150,000, costs and interest at court rates from the date of judgment. Costs of the appeal were awarded to the appellant, with a stay of 30 days granted. Judgment was delivered at Nairobi on 18th September 2025 by J. W. Keli, Judge.

Key legal issues

#
01

Liability for the alleged workplace accident of 14th April 2016

Holding

The trial magistrate erred in fact in finding the appellant signed the job card and in relying on an unsigned job card and an injury register that did not disclose the site; the finding of absence from work was not supported by the evidence and was set aside, with liability of 100% substituted against the respondent

Reasoning

The appellant produced a treatment note and medical report; the respondent's own doctor confirmed the industrial injury. RW1 admitted the job card was unsigned by the employee and the work injury record was not signed by employees and did not disclose the accident site. The employer produced no evidence of safety measures, so it failed to discharge the burden of disproving the accident.

p. 4
02

Quantum of general damages

Holding

The trial court's award of Kshs. 150,000 for soft tissue injuries and Kshs. 4,000 special damages was upheld as not an erroneous estimate

Reasoning

Applying the Butt v Khan principle, the award was based on comparable past awards and there was no cross-appeal; both medical reports showed soft tissue injuries to the left lower leg with full recovery. No basis was found to fault the trial court on quantum.

p. 5
03

Contradiction in the trial court's judgment (dismissal with damages awarded)

Holding

The trial court's simultaneous award of damages and dismissal of the suit was treated as an error corrected on appeal by substituting judgment for the plaintiff

Reasoning

The trial court awarded general and special damages yet stated the suit was dismissed with costs to the defendant. The appellate court allowed the appeal and substituted judgment against the defendant on liability and quantum, resolving the contradiction.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • A first appellate court must reconsider and evaluate the evidence afresh and draw its own conclusions, while making allowance for not having seen or heard the witnesses
  • An appellate court will not disturb an award of damages unless it is inordinately high or low as to represent an entirely erroneous estimate, or the judge proceeded on wrong principles or misapprehended the evidence
  • Where an employee alleges an accident at a specific work site, the employer bears the burden of proving the employment record, the alleged absence from duty, and that the accident did not occur
  • An employer who fails to demonstrate what safe systems of work were availed may be found 100% liable for a workplace injury

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Appeal allowed; judgment and decree of the Hon. S. Kandie (RM) delivered on 6th February 2025 in Mavoko Law Courts Civil Suit No. 948 of 2018 set aside
  2. 2.Judgment entered for the plaintiff against the defendant: special damages Kshs. 4,000
  3. 3.General damages of Kshs. 150,000
  4. 4.Costs in the suit to the plaintiff
  5. 5.Interest on (a), (b) and (c) at court rates from date of judgment
  6. 6.Costs of the appeal awarded to the appellant
  7. 7.Stay of 30 days granted
On appeal from
Mavoko Law Courts (Trial Magistrate's Court)
Civil Suit No. 948 of 2018
Jurisdiction invoked
First appellate jurisdiction over subordinate court civil suit (statutory appeal from the trial magistrate's judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Nyapola v China Road & Bridge Corporation (Appeal E042 of 2025) [2025] KEELRC 2492 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelrc/2025/2492/eng@2025-09-18

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.