Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELRCDismissedNot stated in the judgment

Chabari v All Saints Senior Boys’ Academy & another (Cause E003 of 2025) [2025] KEELRC 2384 (KLR)

Employment and Labour Relations Court
14 August 2025
956 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Employment Court confirmed that pleadings filed by an advocate without a current practising certificate remain valid, thanks to binding Supreme Court authority.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This ruling of the Employment and Labour Relations Court at Nyeri, delivered by Onsomes N Makau J on 14th August 2025, determines the respondent's Notice of Motion dated 26th February 2025 seeking to strike out the claimant's pleadings and dismiss the suit as incompetent because the claimant's advocate, Nyangoya Angwata Francis, had not taken out a practising certificate for 2025 when the pleadings were filed on 2nd February 2025. The claimant opposed the motion, explaining that the advocate had been admitted in November 2023, held a 2024 certificate, completed CPD requirements, paid the LSK subscription on receiving an invoice dated 9th December 2024, obtained a certificate of good standing on 5th February 2025, and received the 2025 practising certificate on 28th February 2025. The sole issue was whether pleadings drawn by an advocate without a current practising certificate are invalid. The court relied on the Supreme Court's decision in National Bank of Kenya Limited v Anaj Warehousing Limited, which held that a document does not become invalid under section 34(1)(a) of the Advocates Act merely because it was prepared by an advocate without a current practising certificate. Although the judge considered that interpretation inconsistent with section 9(c), he was bound by it, extended it mutatis mutandis to pleadings under the other limbs of section 34, and dismissed the motion with costs to the claimant.

Questions the Court framed

#

The issues the Court set itself to decide, in its own words.

  1. 1.Whether the pleadings filed by the claimant are invalid for being drawn by an Advocate without a Practising Certificate

Key legal issues

#
01

Validity of pleadings drawn by an advocate without a current practising certificate

Holding

The pleadings are not invalid; the Supreme Court's holding in National Bank of Kenya v Anaj Warehousing, though the judge disagrees with its reasoning, binds the court and applies equally to pleadings.

Reasoning

Section 9(c) of the Advocates Act requires a practising certificate to act as an advocate, and section 34 prohibits unqualified persons from drawing documents. However, the Supreme Court in National Bank of Kenya v Anaj Warehousing held that documents prepared by an advocate lacking a current practising certificate are not invalid. The judge considers this interpretation contrary to section 9(c) but is bound by it, extending it mutatis mutandis to pleadings, and therefore dismissed the application.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • A document or pleading prepared by an advocate who was not holding a current practising certificate is not thereby invalid under section 34 of the Advocates Act.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Notice of Motion dated 26th February 2025 is dismissed
  2. 2.Costs of the application awarded to the claimant

The bench

#

One judgment of the whole court — no separate or dissenting opinions.

majority

Wrote the judgment

Jurisdiction invoked
Employment and Labour Relations Court (Procedure) Rules; application under the Advocates Act, sections 9 and 34

Relief refused

#

Striking out of the claimant's pleadings and dismissal of the suit for want of a current practising certificate

The Supreme Court's decision in National Bank of Kenya Limited v Anaj Warehousing binds the court; documents prepared by an advocate without a current practising certificate are not invalid.

p. 3

Costs

The motion was dismissed with costs to the claimant.

Quotable passages

#

Verbatim from the judgment, each located to the page it appears on in the official PDF — so these can be cited and checked directly.

no instrument or document of conveyance becomes invalid under section 34(1) (a) of the Advocates Act, only by dint of its having been prepared by an advocate who at the time was not holding a current practising certificate.
p. 3Supreme Court authority on effect of absence of practising certificate
The Supreme Court’s interpretation of section 34(1)(a) of the Advocates Act should apply also to subsection (1) (b), (c), (d), (e) and (f).
p. 3Extension of the binding holding to other limbs of section 34
I proceed to hold that the Notice of Motion dated 26th February 2025 has no merits and it is dismissed with costs to the claimant.
p. 3Final orders

Issues in the judgment

#
minor

The judgment records an internal tension between the binding Supreme Court authority and the court's own view of section 9(c), acknowledged on the face of the ruling.

minor

The claimant's advocate's name appears variously as 'Nyangoya Angwata Francis' and 'Nyangoya Francis Agwata' within the judgment.

minor

The case title, suit number and neutral citation are not stated in the text provided.

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Chabari v All Saints Senior Boys’ Academy & another (Cause E003 of 2025) [2025] KEELRC 2384 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2025). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelrc/2025/2384/eng@2025-08-14

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.