Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELRCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2024] KEELRC 1901 (KLR)

Local Authorities Provident Fund Board v County Government of Isiolo (Employment and Labour Relations Cause E026 of 2021) [2024] KEELRC 1901 (KLR)

Employment and Labour Relations Court
19 July 2024
2,237 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan fund won KShs 675 million in agreed interest but lost statutory compound interest because it couldn't prove it served the required pre-suit notice.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The claimant, a provident fund scheme established under the Local Authorities Fund Act, sued the respondents on 24th August 2021 seeking remittance of statutory deductions of Kshs.558,019,017.42, costs and interest. The respondents denied the claim, raised a preliminary objection on locus standi, jurisdiction and limitation, and alleged want of notice of intention to sue. Before hearing, the parties settled the principal debt amicably; a settlement agreement of 23rd February 2022 recorded the principal at Kshs.87,050,207.62 with accrued interest of Kshs.675,760,690.80, payable by monthly instalments, with a waiver of interest to be discussed after full payment. The only issue remaining was the claimant's entitlement to interest on the principal, disposed of by written submissions. The claimant relied on demand letters of 5th September 2018 and 15th May 2019 and argued that the word 'may' in section 53A of the Retirement Benefits Act makes pre-suit notice directory. The respondents contended that no proper section 53A notice was served and that 'shall' in subsection (2) makes notice mandatory. The court held that the claimant failed to prove service of a proper statutory notice: the two undisputed letters did not meet the content requirements of section 53A, and the counsel's demand letter, though compliant in content, bore no receiving stamp from the respondents. The statutory compound interest claim therefore failed. However, holding the settlement agreement binding, the court entered judgment for the claimant against the 1st respondent for Kshs.675,760,690.80 as agreed interest, plus costs and interest at court rates from the date of judgment.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether a proper notice under section 53A of the Retirement Benefits Act was served

Holding

The claimant failed to prove service of a proper notice; the letters of 5th September 2018 and 15th May 2019 did not meet the requirements of section 53A, and the counsel's demand letter bore no receiving stamp from the respondents

Reasoning

The notice under section 53A(2) must be in writing, copied to the Authority, demand payment within seven days, and warn of summary proceedings. The letters relied on merely notified of unremitted contributions and threatened recovery under the regulations. The demand letter by counsel complied in content but service on the respondents was unproven, bearing only an RBA stamp. The claimant made no rejoinder to the allegation of non-service.

p. 4
02

Whether 'may' in section 53A(1) makes the statutory notice directory rather than mandatory

Holding

The notice is mandatory; the word 'may' relates only to the choice of instituting proceedings, not to issuing notice

Reasoning

The court rejected the claimant's submission that 'may' renders notice directory, holding that the only option given to the scheme fund is whether or not to file the recovery suit. The undisputed letters did not meet the notice requirements, so the claim for statutory compound interest under section 53A failed.

p. 5
03

Whether the claimant is entitled to interest despite failure of the statutory compound interest claim

Holding

Yes; the agreed interest of Kshs.675,760,690.80 under the settlement agreement of 23rd February 2022 is owing and was entered as judgment against the 1st respondent

Reasoning

The parties voluntarily negotiated and signed a settlement agreement recording the principal debt of Kshs.87,050,207.62 and accrued interest of Kshs.675,760,690.80. The 1st respondent's waiver request was to be deliberated after the principal was cleared; no evidence showed such deliberations occurred. The agreement is binding and the agreed interest is recoverable.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • Section 53A of the Retirement Benefits Act makes pre-suit notice mandatory in content and form; the only discretion is whether to file the recovery suit, not whether to issue the notice
  • A statutory notice under section 53A must meet all four prescribed requirements: written notice to the defaulter, copy to the Retirement Benefits Authority, demand for payment within 7 days, and warning of summary recovery proceedings
  • A voluntarily negotiated settlement agreement signed by the parties is binding and enforceable

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Judgment entered for the claimant against the 1st respondent in the sum of Kshs.675,760,690.80 being interest on the principal debt as agreed between the parties on 23rd February, 2022
  2. 2.Costs and interest at court rates from the date of the judgment

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Retirement Benefits Actsection 53A
  • Retirement Benefits Actsection 33
  • Local Authority Provident Fund Actsection 8
  • Local Authorities Fund Actmandate of the claimant
  • Evidence Actsections 107 to 109
  • ELRC (Procedure) RulesRule 28(3)

Cases cited (4)

  • Local Authorities Provident Fund Board vs County Government of Laikipia
    (Cause E047 of 2021) [2022] KEELRC 13559 (KLR)
  • Republic vs Attorney General & 2 others exparte Patrick Ochwa, Samuel Ouma & Job Weloba t/a Cootow & Associates
    (2021) KEHC 144 (KLR)
  • Republic vs The Non-Governmental Organizations and others
    (2020) eKLR
  • Equity Group Holdings Ltd vs Commissioner of Domestic Taxes
    (2021) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Employment and Labour Relations Court jurisdiction under the Retirement Benefits Act and Local Authority Provident Fund Act (specific enabling provision not cited in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Local Authorities Provident Fund Board v County Government of Isiolo (Employment and Labour Relations Cause E026 of 2021) [2024] KEELRC 1901 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelrc/2024/1901/eng@2024-07-19

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.