Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELRCAllowedNot stated in judgment· [2024] KEELRC 1439 (KLR)

Nzoka v Kenya County Government Workers Union (Cause E046 of 2023) [2024] KEELRC 1439 (KLR)

Employment and Labour Relations Court
14 June 2024
1,722 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~7 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Claimant, employed as an Area Secretary of the Respondent Union on 3rd January 1983, issued a notice of retirement in 2007 which appears to have been recalled, and a second notice effective 31st December 2015. The General Secretary accepted retirement and directed the National Treasurer to compute terminal benefits. The Treasurer computed gratuity at Kshs. 9,008,429 and, by letter of 11th January 2016, the Respondent committed to pay it in instalments. The Respondent paid a total of Kshs. 1,957,769, reducing instalments contrary to its commitment from April 2019, and stopping payments altogether in November 2020, leaving a balance of Kshs. 7,100,660. The Claimant sought a declaration of entitlement, payment of the balance, costs and interest. The Respondent alleged collusion with a former treasurer, overpayment, and erroneous computation, but its Treasurer conceded entitlement in cross-examination, admitted the letter communicating the amount claimed, and produced no audit or investigation report. The Court held that the computation made by the Respondent's own officers bound it, that there was no evidence of overpayment, and that the Respondent's defences were dilatory. Judgment was entered for the Claimant: payment of the balance of Kshs. 7,100,660, interest at court rate from 20th November 2020 until payment in full, and costs of the Claimant. The judgment was delivered electronically at Nairobi on 14th June 2024 by James Rika, Judge.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Claimant was owed the balance of gratuity computed by the Respondent

Holding

The Claimant was entitled to the balance of Kshs. 7,100,660; the Respondent's computation and part-payment bound it.

Reasoning

The General Secretary accepted retirement and instructed the Treasurer to compute gratuity; the Treasurer computed Kshs. 9,008,429 and the Respondent paid instalments until 2020. The current Treasurer's allegation of overpayment was unsupported by evidence, no counterclaim was filed, and no audit or investigation report was produced. The rate, minutes and formula objections were dilatory; the claim was generated entirely by the Respondent's own officers.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • Once the Treasurer computes gratuity on the advice of the General Secretary, that computation binds the employer; it is not open to successors to rework figures years later.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Respondent shall pay to the Claimant balance of gratuity at Kshs. 7,100,660.
  2. 2.Interest on the principal sum at court rate from 20th November 2020 till payment in full.
  3. 3.Costs to the Claimant.
Jurisdiction invoked
Employment and Labour Relations Court jurisdiction over employment dispute (Statement of Claim filed under the Court's originating jurisdiction)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Nzoka v Kenya County Government Workers Union (Cause E046 of 2023) [2024] KEELRC 1439 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelrc/2024/1439/eng@2024-06-14

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.