Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELRCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2024] KEELRC 61 (KLR)

Wambugu v Technical University of Kenya (Cause 101 of 2015) [2024] KEELRC 61 (KLR)

Employment and Labour Relations Court
25 January 2024
2,395 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~10 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court ordered Technical University of Kenya to pay a former employee his gratuity, but rejected his pension and NSSF claims for lack of proof.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Claimant, formerly an Assistant Accountant employed by the Respondent's predecessor, the Kenya Polytechnic University College, from 1st July 1997 (formal letter dated 22nd December 2009), resigned effective 31st July 2013 and claimed outstanding terminal dues. The Respondent admitted two heads (unutilised leave days and missing NSF contributions), which were already awarded by judgment at Kshs. 273,296.78 on application. The suit was disposed of by witness affidavits and written submissions, liability being undisputed only as to tabulation. On pension (Kshs. 322,181.10), the court found the Claimant did not prove membership of the pension scheme, its establishment during his employment, or how he computed the figure; the scheme was unregistered at his resignation, and he remains free to pursue any contributions from the administrators, Alexander Forbes, who were not parties. On gratuity (Kshs. 291,876), the court found the Claimant had served the predecessor on gratuity terms from July 1997 - over 16 years continuously - and that the Respondent took over all the predecessor's liabilities as to years of service and terminal benefits; the University Charter deemed prior staff employees of the University. Gratuity was awarded as claimed. The NSSF claim for 7 months (Kshs. 2,560) was declined because a Schedule Form proved remittance and any non-reflection was an error for NSSF itself to rectify. The Respondent was ordered to pay the awarded gratuity, the Claimant's costs, and interest at court rates from the date of judgment until payment in full.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Claimant was entitled to a share of pension of Kshs. 322,181.10

Holding

Claim not proved; the letter of appointment only required membership 'when it is established' and no evidence showed the scheme was established or that the Claimant contributed or how the figure was computed

Reasoning

The Claimant relied on sections 9 and 10 of the Employment Act and rule 18(4) of the Occupational Retirement Schemes Regulations, 2000, but produced no evidence of membership of or contributions to the pension scheme, nor of how he computed the Kshs. 322,181.10. The Respondent showed the scheme was unregistered at resignation. The court preserved his right to pursue Alexander Forbes, the administrators, who were not party to the suit.

p. 4
02

Whether the Claimant was entitled to gratuity of Kshs. 291,876 for the period before conversion to permanent and pensionable terms

Holding

Gratuity awarded as claimed; service with the predecessor from July 1997 exceeded the 10-year threshold and the Respondent took over the predecessor's liabilities

Reasoning

The Respondent did not contest that the Claimant worked from 1st July 1997 on gratuity terms. His service did not terminate on conversion; the Respondent took over all liabilities of the Kenya Polytechnic University College as to years of service and terminal benefits, and the University Charter deemed prior staff employees of the University. With 16 years' continuous service, he qualified for gratuity for the pre-conversion period.

p. 5
03

Whether the Respondent was liable for 7 months of unremitted NSSF contributions

Holding

Claim declined; remittance was proved by the Schedule Form and any non-reflection was an error for NSSF to rectify

Reasoning

The Respondent attached a Schedule Form for contributions paid but not reflected in the member's account, which the court accepted as sufficient proof of remittance. NSSF has the statutory mandate and mechanisms to rectify such errors, and the Claimant did not demonstrate that he had followed up and failed to secure an update, so the court would not interfere.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • An employer who takes over a predecessor institution takes over all liabilities of the predecessor in so far as years of service and terminal benefits of staff are concerned, entitling an employee to gratuity for the pre-conversion period notwithstanding conversion to pensionable terms and subsequent resignation
  • A party seeking payment must prove both entitlement and the quantum claimed

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Award of gratuity to the Claimant in the sum of Kshs. 291,876
  2. 2.The Respondent shall pay the Claimant's costs
  3. 3.Interest shall accrue at court rates from the date of judgment until payment in full

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Employment Actsections 9, 10
  • Employment Actsection 35(5)
  • Pensions Actsection 5
  • Occupational Retirement Schemes Regulationsrule 18(4)
  • Retirement Benefits Actsection 23(1)

Cases cited (6)

  • Richard Michosi Mwasaru v Beverly Schools of Kenya Limited
    [2020] eKLR
  • Sarah Mang’oli v Kenya Medical Research Institute & Another
    [2020] eKLR
  • Martin Ireri Ndwiga v Olerai Management Company
    [2017] eKLR
  • Bamburi Cement Ltd. v William Kilonzi
    [2016] eKLR
  • Alfred O. Amombo v Lake Victoria North Water Services Board
    [2020] eKLR
  • Pravin Bowry v Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission
Jurisdiction invoked
First-instance employment claim before the Employment and Labour Relations Court; no specific constitutional provision cited

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Later judgments citing this (1)

#

Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Wambugu v Technical University of Kenya (Cause 101 of 2015) [2024] KEELRC 61 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelrc/2024/61/eng@2024-01-25

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.