Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELRCAllowednot stated in extract· [2023] KEELRC 2877 (KLR)

Kiptanui v Wevarsity Sacco Society Ltd (Cause 111 of 2019) [2023] KEELRC 2877 (KLR)

Employment and Labour Relations Court
15 November 2023
412 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~2 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court blocked an execution attempt because the employee hid an outstanding employer loan, so full and honest disclosure is essential.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This ruling of the Employment and Labour Relations Court at Kisii, delivered virtually on 15 November 2023 by Radido Stephen, J, determined a Motion dated 26 June 2023 in which the Respondent sought a stay of execution of a judgment of 31 May 2023 that had found the Claimant's employment unfairly terminated and awarded him Kshs 467,264/-, later augmented by taxed costs of Kshs 345,400/-. The Respondent's primary ground was that on 12 June 2023 it had credited the entire decretal sum of Kshs 812,664/- into an account the Claimant held with it, yet he refused to acknowledge payment and moved to execute. The Claimant, in a replying affidavit filed 17 July 2023, did not deny holding the account but asserted he maintained no account after leaving employment and that payment ought to have been made through his advocates. The Respondent filed a further affidavit on 25 July 2023 reiterating its position. The Court found the dispute arose because the Respondent applied the decretal to settle an outstanding loan balance in the Claimant's name; the Claimant produced no evidence of settling the loan or instructing closure of the account. Holding that a litigant invoking the Court's discretion must come with clean hands and disclose material facts, the Court found the Claimant had not done so and concluded the decretal sum, inclusive of costs, was settled. The Motion was allowed with costs to the Respondent.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the decretal sum was satisfied by payment into the Claimant's account with the Respondent

Holding

The Court found that the Respondent credited the full decretal sum, inclusive of costs, into the Claimant's account, and that the Claimant offered no evidence of loan settlement or account closure instructions, so the decretal stood settled.

Reasoning

The Respondent showed it paid Kshs 812,664/- into the Claimant's account on 12 June 2023. The Claimant did not deny holding the account, only asserting he no longer used it. He produced no evidence of having repaid the outstanding loan, of instructions to close the account, or of any term that the account would close on separation. The underlying reason the dispute arose was that the Respondent applied the decretal to an outstanding loan balance in the Claimant's name. The Court was satisfied the decretal, including costs, was settled.

p. 2
02

Whether the Claimant's non-disclosure of the outstanding loan disentitled him to discretionary relief

Holding

Yes; by failing to disclose the outstanding loan and claiming payment should have gone through his advocates, the Claimant did not come to court with clean hands and equity did not favour his case.

Reasoning

The Claimant sought the exercise of the Court's discretionary powers in opposing the stay. Equity demands candour from such an applicant. He failed to disclose the outstanding loan with the Respondent and gave no evidence of its settlement or of formal instructions to close the account. That omission meant equity could not look favourably upon his case, and the Court exercised its discretion in favour of allowing the stay.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • A party seeking the court's discretionary equitable powers must approach the court with clean hands and make full and candid disclosure of material facts.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Motion dated 26 June 2023 is allowed
  2. 2.The Respondent to have costs of the Motion
Jurisdiction invoked
Original employment and labour relations jurisdiction; discretionary stay of execution power of the court

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kiptanui v Wevarsity Sacco Society Ltd (Cause 111 of 2019) [2023] KEELRC 2877 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2023). not stated in extract. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelrc/2023/2877/eng@2023-11-15

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.