Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELRCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2023] KEELRC 2692 (KLR)

Kenya Building Consruction, Timber and Furniture Industries Employees Union v Timsales Limited (Employment and Labour Relations Cause E029, E030 & E031 of 2021 (Consolidated)) [2023] KEELRC 2692 (KLR)

Employment and Labour Relations Court
31 October 2023
1,659 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~7 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan employer that ignored a court order to calculate unpaid salaries lost the fight when the judge simply adopted the workers' Kshs. 8.96 million figure.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a ruling of the Employment and Labour Relations Court delivered virtually on 31st October 2023 by Lady Justice Hellen Wasilwa, following up on a judgment of 17th January 2023 awarding grievants terminal dues and a ruling of 5th October 2023 directing that the grievants were entitled to salaries from June 2018 to 27th July 2018, with the parties to agree on the computation or submit their calculations for adoption. The parties did not agree. The Claimant filed submissions with a schedule of dues on 18th October 2023. The Respondents filed submissions arguing that the claim for unpaid salaries was amorphous, that the claimant never pleaded the period, and that the court's post-judgment specification of the unpaid period deprived them of an opportunity to defend the claim; they relied on authorities on the rule that parties and courts are bound by pleadings, and contended that the court was functus officio. On a without-prejudice basis, they attached correspondence said to show the grievants were paid their July 2018 salaries. The court held that its earlier order merely compelled the parties to calculate the figures payable; that the respondents' objection could have been pursued on appeal, of which none had been filed; that the respondents filed no computation as ordered; and that their attached correspondence was untested fresh pleadings incapable of proving payment. The court adopted the claimant's computation dated 17th October 2023, awarding Kshs. 8,963,896/= as unpaid June and July 2018 salaries, plus costs and interest, the amounts to form part of the judgment.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether to adopt the Claimant's computation of unpaid June and July 2018 salaries

Holding

Adopted; the Respondents filed no computation as ordered, so the Claimant's figure of Kshs. 8,963,896/= plus costs and interest forms part of the judgment

Reasoning

The court's order of 5th October 2023 directed the parties to agree on or submit calculations of salaries due from June 2018 to 27th July 2018. The claimant filed its computation on 18th October 2023. The respondents filed only submissions contesting the court's jurisdiction to specify the period, without any computation. In the absence of any computation to the contrary, the court adopted the claimant's figures and incorporated them into the judgment with costs and interest.

p. 4
02

Whether the respondents' post-judgment correspondence shows the grievants were paid their July 2018 salaries

Holding

Rejected; the material amounted to fresh pleadings never tested as evidence and cannot prove payment

Reasoning

The respondents, on a without-prejudice basis, attached correspondence said to show the grievants were paid their July 2018 salaries. The court held this was an attempt to introduce fresh pleadings which had not been tested as evidence before the court and therefore could not be evidence of payment. The respondents' objection to the court's post-judgment specification of the unpaid period was a matter for appeal, and no appeal had been preferred.

p. 4
03

Whether the court, having delivered judgment, was functus officio and could not specify the unpaid period

Holding

Objection not upheld; the issue was one for appeal and no appeal was filed

Reasoning

The respondents argued that filling gaps post-judgment was prejudicial and unknown to law, relying on authorities on the binding nature of pleadings. The court held the order merely compelled the parties to calculate figures payable as explained in the judgment, and that the respondents' grievance about the specification of the period could be a subject of an appeal, for which none had been preferred. The objection therefore did not prevent adoption of the claimant's computation.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • Where a court orders parties to compute figures payable and one party fails to file any computation, the court may adopt the other party's computation as part of its judgment
  • Pleadings or submissions filed post-judgment that were never produced as evidence cannot prove payment

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Adoption of the computation submitted by the claimants dated 17th October 2023 as salary for the claimants not paid in June and July 2018, totalling Kshs. 8,963,896/=, plus costs and interest
  2. 2.The amounts to form part of the judgment of the court

Authorities

#

Cases cited (6)

  • Republic v Commissioner of Domestic Taxes Exparte Sony Holdings Limited
    [2019] eKLR
  • Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission & Another v Stephen Mutinda Mule & 3 Others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Malawi Railways Ltd v Nyasulu
    [1998] MWSC 3
  • Detoun Oladeji (Nig) Ltd v Nigeria Breweries Plc
    S.C. 91/2002
  • Elizabeth O. Odhiambo v South Nyanza Sugar Co. Ltd
    [2019] eKLR
  • Kenya Power & Lighting Company Limited v County Government of Nairobi & Attorney General
    [2017] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original employment and labour relations jurisdiction; implementation of the Court's earlier judgment of 17/01/2023 and ruling of 5th October 2023

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kenya Building Consruction, Timber and Furniture Industries Employees Union v Timsales Limited (Employment and Labour Relations Cause E029, E030 & E031 of 2021 (Consolidated)) [2023] KEELRC 2692 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2023). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelrc/2023/2692/eng@2023-10-31

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.