Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELRCPartially AllowedNot stated in the extract (Claim filed July 2018)· [2023] KEELRC 1297 (KLR)

Nyaga & 78 others v Barclays Bank of Kenya Limited (Cause 1122 of 2018) [2023] KEELRC 1297 (KLR)

Employment and Labour Relations Court
31 May 2023
3,287 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~13 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan employment court ruled that 79 employees suing together do not each need to testify — five witnesses can represent them all, but late changes to the case were rejected.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a ruling by James Rika J of the Employment and Labour Relations Court at Nairobi on an application dated 3rd March 2023 by 79 Claimants in a collective employment dispute filed in July 2018 concerning a voluntary exit scheme. Through new advocates, the Claimants sought leave to amend the Statement of Claim, to have five named Claimants testify for all, and to adopt all witness statements, affidavits and documents without calling their makers. The Respondent opposed, citing inordinate delay, time-barred claims under Section 90 of the Employment Act, inconsistent amendments, and prejudice. The Court declined leave to amend, holding the existing Statement of Claim comprehensive and the proposed amendments belated and amounting to over-pleading; some matters were already pleaded under Article 28 or covered by an earlier order suspending commercial interest rates. The Court allowed the five named Claimants to testify as the Claimants' last witnesses, holding that collective claims do not require every Claimant to give oral evidence, and that requiring all 79 to testify would derail industrial justice and violate the obligation that justice not be delayed under Article 159(2). However, it refused adoption of witness statements of non-testifying Claimants, directing instead that the remaining claims be determined on the pleadings, affidavits, documents and submissions under Rule 21 of the E&LRC (Procedure) Rules, 2016. No documents filed after the hearing opened were to be admitted. Costs were ordered in the cause.

Key legal issues

#
01

Amendment of pleadings at a late stage of trial

Holding

Leave to amend declined; the amendments were belated, unnecessary and would result in over-pleading.

Reasoning

The Court held the existing Statement of Claim comprehensively pleaded the alleged violations, including lack of consultation, non-disclosure, interest rates and credit card cancellation under Article 28. Some amendments were redundant (Notice of Change of Advocates on record; commercial rates already suspended by order of Abuodha Jorum Nelson J). Evidence had already been recorded from three Claimants on the very matters sought to be amended, risking prejudice.

p. 5
02

Number of Claimants to give oral evidence in a collective claim

Holding

Claimants permitted to call the 5 named witnesses as their last witnesses and close their case; not all 79 need testify.

Reasoning

Applying Rule 9 and Rule 38 of the E&LRC Procedure Rules, the Court found three Claimants' evidence reflected the common position of all 79 Claimants. Requiring all remaining 76 to testify would gravely delay justice under Article 159(2) and derail industrial justice in collective disputes such as mass redundancies.

p. 6
03

Adoption of witness statements without calling makers

Holding

Refused; witness statements of Claimants not giving oral evidence cannot form part of Rule 21 documentation.

Reasoning

Rule 21 permits determination on Pleadings, Affidavits, Documents and Submissions; witness statements under Rule 14(8) are for witnesses proposed to be called. Witness statements replicate verified pleadings, so the Court may determine remaining claims on the pleadings, affidavits, documents and submissions, but not on witness statements of non-testifying Claimants.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • There is no requirement that every person named as a Claimant gives oral evidence in collective claims; the Court may limit the number of witnesses and determine remaining claims on the documents under Rule 21.
  • Amendments to pleadings after hearing has opened, which add nothing necessary to the just determination of the dispute, should be declined.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Leave to amend the Statement of Claim is declined
  2. 2.The Claimants shall call the last 5 Claimants identified in their Application, and close their case
  3. 3.The Claims by the Claimants who will not give oral evidence shall be considered and determined under Rule 21 of the E&LRC (Procedure) Rules, 2016
  4. 4.No additional documents, filed after the hearing opened, shall be admitted as evidence
  5. 5.Costs in the cause

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Articles 28, 33(3), 47, 159(2)
  • Employment Act, 2007Sections 5, 50, 90
  • Employment and Labour Relations Court ActSection 12(3)
  • E&LRC (Procedure) Rules, 2016Rules 9, 14(6), 14(8), 21, 38

Cases cited (8)

  • David Muthui Ndegwa v. Director of Public Prosecutions & Another
    [2022] e-KLR
  • Central Bank of Kenya Ltd v. Trust Bank Ltd
    [2002] E.A. 365
  • Institute for Social Accountability & Another v. Parliament of Kenya & 3 Others
    [2014] e-KLR
  • Charles Okungu Odhiambo & 29 Others v. Juja Coffee Exporters Limited
    [2017] e-KLR
  • Coffee Board of Kenya v. Thika Coffee Mills Limited and 2 Others
    [2014] e-KLR
  • Municipal Council of Thika and Another v. Local Government Workers Union [Thika Branch]
    Civil Appeal No. NAI.41 of 2001
  • Lawrence Owino Omondi v. Kenneth Inea Muyera
    [2017] e-KLR
  • Barclays Bank of Kenya v. Agnes Wachu Wamae & 104 Others
    [2020] e-KLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Employment and Labour Relations Court Act, Section 12; E&LRC (Procedure) Rules, 2016 (Rules 9, 14, 21, 38)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Nyaga & 78 others v Barclays Bank of Kenya Limited (Cause 1122 of 2018) [2023] KEELRC 1297 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2023). Not stated in the extract (Claim filed July 2018). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelrc/2023/1297/eng@2023-05-31

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.