Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELRCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2023] KEELRC 1068 (KLR)

Kenya Union of Domestic, Hotels, Education Hospitals and Allied Workers v Nanyuki Cottege Hospital (Cause E039 of 2022) [2023] KEELRC 1068 (KLR)

Employment and Labour Relations Court
27 April 2023
3,222 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~13 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Nyeri employment court awarded workers a 5.5% yearly raise, small housing and travel allowance increases, and confirmed the CBA runs for two years.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The claimant, a registered trade union, and the respondent, a charitable trust operating a medical institution at Nanyuki, had concluded 11 CBAs and were negotiating the 12th when they disagreed on four clauses: wages and increment, leave travelling allowance, house allowance, and the duration of the CBA. After failed conciliation, the dispute came to the ELRC, and the court sought an economic report from the Central Planning and Monitoring Unit (CPMU) of the Ministry of Labour. The CPMU found a total cost-of-living increase of 10.95% over the two-year CBA period, minimal surpluses in 2020 and 2021, no wage disparity between unionisable staff and management, and competition and liquidity challenges facing the employer. It opined that 11% compensation for inflation was appropriate. Applying the Kenya Tea Growers principles that wage increments depend on productivity, cost of living and the employer's ability to pay, the court adopted the CPMU's assessment, finding the employer able to pay. It awarded 5.5% wage increment per year effective May 1, 2021 and May 1, 2022; a Kshs 413 monthly increase on house allowance (to Kshs 7,913 and Kshs 8,326); and a Kshs 500 increase in leave travelling allowance to Kshs 8,500. It fixed the CBA duration at 2 years effective May 1, 2021, while urging the parties to negotiate future CBAs on 3-4 year cycles. Each party was ordered to bear its own costs and the parties directed to conclude the CBA forthwith.

Key legal issues

#
01

Wage increment

Holding

Claimant awarded 5.5% per year for two years, following the CPMU economic report

Reasoning

The court applied the Kenya Tea Growers factors - productivity, cost of living and ability to pay. The CPMU report found CPI increases of 1.02% and 9.93% over the two years (total 10.95%), minimal surpluses in 2020 and 2021, and no wage disparity. Absent contrary evidence, the court found the CPMU's opinion of 11% compensation objective and adopted 5.5% per year.

p. 5
02

House allowance

Holding

Claimant awarded Kshs 413 per month increase per CPMU application of wage guideline No 2

Reasoning

Wage guideline No 2 provides that half of the permissible inflation compensation be allowed for housing. Half of 11% is 5.5%, translating to Kshs 413 per month for each of the 54 unionisable staff, an added annual burden of Kshs 267,624.00.

p. 5
03

Leave travelling allowance

Holding

Claimant awarded the Kshs 500 increase to Kshs 8,500

Reasoning

The Kshs 8,000 figure was agreed in 2018 and travel costs had increased tremendously over the two years of the existing CBA. The increment costs only Kshs 27,000 per year for 54 unionisable staff, a modest burden the employer can absorb.

p. 5
04

Employer's ability to pay

Holding

Respondent held able to afford the awarded increments

Reasoning

Total added financial burden of the three awards is approximately Kshs 2,579,248 over two years, against net profits of Kshs 3,334,570 (2020) and Kshs 2,914,614 (2021), with no contrary evidence from the respondent.

p. 6
05

CBA duration

Holding

CBA limited to 2 years effective May 1, 2021, with parties encouraged to negotiate future CBAs on 3-4 year cycles

Reasoning

The court agreed with the respondent that 2-year cycles keep parties in continuous negotiation, but confined itself to the 2-year period covered by the CPMU report, recommending longer cycles like the civil service going forward.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • Wage increment determinations depend on productivity, cost of living (inflation) and the employer's ability to pay

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Wage increment of 5.5% in the first year effective May 1, 2021 and 5.5% in the second year effective May 1, 2022 (clause 3 of proposed CBA).
  2. 2.Increment on leave travelling allowance from Kshs 8,000.00 to Kshs 8,500.00 per annum (clause 7).
  3. 3.Increase of Kshs 413 per month on house allowance, raising monthly house allowance to Kshs 7,913.00 in the first year and Kshs 8,326.00 in the second year (clause 18).
  4. 4.Duration of the CBA shall be 2 years effective May 1, 2021 (clause 28).
  5. 5.Each party to meet its own costs of the suit.
  6. 6.Parties directed to conclude the CBA forthwith.

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Employment Actsection 31
  • Employment Actsection 5
  • ELRC Procedure RulesRule 28(3)

Cases cited (3)

  • Kenya Tea Growers Association v Kenya Plantation & Agricultural Workers Union
    (2018) eKLR
  • Kenya Game Hunting & Safari Workers Union v Micato Safaris
    (2016) eKLR
  • Tailors & Textile Workers Union v African Cotton Industries Ltd
    (2017) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Employment and Labour Relations Court over a collective bargaining dispute referred after failed conciliation; no specific provision cited in the judgment

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kenya Union of Domestic, Hotels, Education Hospitals and Allied Workers v Nanyuki Cottege Hospital (Cause E039 of 2022) [2023] KEELRC 1068 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2023). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelrc/2023/1068/eng@2023-04-27

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.