Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELRCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment (references Cause number 2119 of 2014 as a separate matter)· [2021] KEELRC 2210 (KLR)

Musa Mohamed Kaleve & 2 others v East Africa Portland Cement Company Limited [2021] KEELRC 2210 (KLR)

Employment and Labour Relations Court
5 May 2020
2,345 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan employment court paused enforcement of a money judgment, but only if the employer first deposits the full awarded amount in a joint bank account.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This ruling by Onesmus N Makau J of the Employment and Labour Relations Court at Nairobi determined the respondent's Notice of Motion dated 3.3.2020 seeking stay of execution of a judgment dated 14.2.2020 awarding gratuity to the claimants, pending an intended appeal brought under Rule 17 of the ELRC Procedure Rules and Order 42 Rules 6 & 7 of the Civil Procedure Rules. The applicant contended the gratuity had been wrongly computed under an expired CBA, that it would suffer substantial loss as the claimants were persons of straw, and that it was a publicly owned company able to honour the decree. The claimants opposed, relying on section 59(1) of the Labour Relations Act incorporating the CBA, and proposed half the decretal sum be released to them with the balance deposited in court. The court framed the sole issue as whether the Order 42 rule 6(2) threshold was met. It found the application made without unreasonable delay since execution could not issue before taxation of costs under Section 94 of the Civil Procedure Act, citing Eldoret Grains Ltd v NCPB. On substantial loss, applying Mateine Ole Kilelu, Mukuna v Abuoga and National Industrial Credit Bank v Wasike, it found the applicant had demonstrated the claimants, being retired with no shown assets, could not repay the decretal sum. Stay was granted on condition the entire decretal sum be deposited within 21 days into an interest-earning account in the joint names of counsel; the claimants' half-release proposal was rejected; costs were in the appeal.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the application was made without unreasonable delay

Holding

The application filed on 4.3.2020 after judgment of 14.2.2020 was made without unreasonable delay, since execution could not issue before taxation of costs

Reasoning

The court noted the judgment was delivered on 14.2.2020 and the application filed 4.3.2020, less than a month later, before costs had been taxed. Relying on Section 94 of the Civil Procedure Act and Eldoret Grains Limited v National Cereals Produce Board, execution could not issue before ascertainment of costs, so the relevant period for assessing delay ran only from awareness that execution could proceed.

p. 2
02

Whether the applicant will suffer substantial loss if stay is denied

Holding

Substantial loss was established because the claimants, being retired and having shown no assets or income, could not be shown to be capable of refunding the decretal sum

Reasoning

Applying Mateine Ole Kilelu, Mukuna v Abuoga and National Industrial Credit Bank v Wasike, the court held the applicant must demonstrate by affidavit a reasonable apprehension that the decretal sum would be irrecoverable. The claimants confirmed retirement and did not show any assets or source of income, so the apprehension was reasonable and substantial loss was established.

p. 3
03

Whether security should be furnished and on what terms

Holding

Stay granted on condition the whole decretal sum be deposited into an interest-earning joint account in the names of counsel for both parties within 21 days

Reasoning

Although the applicant did not in its papers indicate willingness to offer security, it admitted willingness in submissions. The claimants accepted security provided half the decretal sum was released to them. The court rejected half-release because the claimants had not proved capacity to refund, and conditioned stay on deposit of the entire decretal sum in a joint interest-earning account.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • Stay of execution pending appeal should be granted where the applicant shows the decretal sum will not be recovered, or only with considerable difficulty, if the appeal succeeds, and that the applicant is ready and willing to furnish sufficient security
  • The legal burden of showing inability of the decree-holder to refund lies on the applicant and must be discharged by affidavit on reasonable grounds, failing which the evidential burden does not shift
  • Execution of a decree of a superior court cannot take place before ascertainment of costs, except with leave of the court, so time before taxation is not counted in assessing delay

Court orders

#
  1. 1.An order for stay of execution of the judgment delivered on 14.2.2020 granted pending the hearing and determination of the intended appeal, on condition that the whole decretal sum be deposited within 21 days into an interest earning account opened in a reputable financial institution in the joint names of counsel on record for both parties
  2. 2.In default by the applicant to comply with the condition, the stay order shall lapse automatically after expiry of the 21 days period
  3. 3.Should the default be caused by the claimant, the applicant will have liberty to seek leave to deposit the security in Court
  4. 4.Costs of the application shall be in the appeal

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Employment and Labour Relations Court (ELRC) Procedure RulesRule 17; Rule 28(3)
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 42 Rules 6 & 7; Order 51 Rule 1
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 94
  • Labour Relations ActSection 59(1)

Cases cited (8)

  • Tassam Logistics Ltd v David Macharia & another
    [2018] eKLR
  • Kenya Commercial Bank Ltd v Sun City Properties Ltd & 5 others
    [2012] eKLR
  • Carter & Sons Ltd v Deposit Protection Fund Board & 2 others
    Civil Appeal No. 291 of 1997
  • Eldoret Grains Limited vs. National Cereals Produce Board
    [2014] eKLR
  • Mateine Ole Kilelu & 10 others v Moses K Nailole
    [2009] eKLR
  • Sarah N. Sakwa v Elizabeth Wamwanyi t/a Namukhosi Ltd & another
    [2017] eKLR
  • Mukuna v Abuoga
    [1988] KLR 645
  • National Industrial Credit Bank Limited –V- Aquinas Francis Wasike and Another
    [2006] e KLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Rule 17 of the Employment and Labour Relations Court (ELRC) Procedure Rules; Order 42 Rules 6 & 7 and Order 51 Rule 1 of the Civil Procedure Rules

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Musa Mohamed Kaleve & 2 others v East Africa Portland Cement Company Limited [2021] KEELRC 2210 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2020). Not stated in the judgment (references Cause number 2119 of 2014 as a separate matter). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelrc/2021/2210/eng@2021-02-05

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.