Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELRCDismissedNot stated in the judgment (application dated 17th March, 2021)· [2021] KEELRC 1396 (KLR)

Violet Mbeyu v Wasini Resorts Limited; Cytonn Investment Partners Twenty LLP (Objector) [2021] KEELRC 1396 (KLR)

Employment and Labour Relations Court
18 May 2021
1,297 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~5 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court dismissed an attempt to stop asset seizure because an unsigned, undated agreement alone cannot prove ownership.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This judgment of the Employment and Labour Relations Court at Nairobi (M. Mbaru, J) determined objection proceedings arising from execution of a consent judgment. The claimant had obtained a consent judgment against the respondent and, through auctioneers, proclaimed movable assets on 15th March, 2021. The objector, through Jennifer Ndaisi Solovea (its statutory manager), applied by notice dated 17th March, 2021 claiming that the proclaimed goods belonged to it under a Share Purchase Agreement executed in 2018 between it, Tiribe Estate Limited, Tinkerbird Securities Limited and Proactive Enterprises Limited (former owners of the respondent), conferring legal, equitable and beneficial ownership of all the respondent's assets. The claimant opposed, arguing the objector had not proved registered ownership and that the agreement was an attempt to defeat execution. The court framed the inquiry under Order 22 rule 51 of the Civil Procedure Rules, adopting Chotabhai M. Patel: an objector must show possession and some interest in the attached property at the date of attachment, and evidence of ownership is imperative. The court found the Share Purchase Agreement undated and unsupported by evidence of payment or passing of ownership, following the National Social Security Fund Board of Trustees v Central Bank of Kenya decision, holding that an agreement alone is insufficient proof of legal right and title. The objection was dismissed, execution was permitted to proceed, and the objector was ordered to pay the claimant's costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Legal or equitable interest required for objection under Order 22 Rule 51

Holding

The objector must show a legal or equitable interest in the attached property at the date of attachment; evidence of ownership is imperative and must be followed with possession and interest

Reasoning

The court set out Order 22 rule 51 and Chotabhai M. Patel, holding that the sole question is possession of, and some interest in, the property, with title relevant only insofar as it bears on whether possession is held for the judgment debtor. Evidence of ownership is imperative.

p. 2
02

Whether a Share Purchase Agreement proves ownership of proclaimed assets

Holding

A share purchase agreement on its own does not prove ownership; without evidence of payment or passing of ownership, the objection fails

Reasoning

The Share Purchase Agreement relied on was undated and its execution prior to the consent judgment could not be verified. Citing the NSSF v Central Bank of Kenya decision, the court found that without proof of payment or other records showing ownership had passed, the objector could not establish proprietary interest in the proclaimed goods.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • An objector in objection proceedings must have a legal or equitable interest in the attached property at the date of attachment, and the court investigates possession and interest
  • An agreement on its own is not sufficient evidence of legal right and title; proof of payment or passing of ownership is required

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Application dated 17th March, 2021 is dismissed
  2. 2.Execution of the decree shall proceed
  3. 3.The objector shall pay the claimant costs
Jurisdiction invoked
Order 22 Rule 51 of the Civil Procedure Rules (objection proceedings to attachment in execution of a decree)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Violet Mbeyu v Wasini Resorts Limited; Cytonn Investment Partners Twenty LLP (Objector) [2021] KEELRC 1396 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2021). Not stated in the judgment (application dated 17th March, 2021). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelrc/2021/1396/eng@2021-05-18

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.