Susan Njoki Kibe aka Susan Mungai v Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya (ICPAK) [2019] KEELRC 1813 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Employment Court ruled ICPAK unfairly sacked its finance manager, awarding her Kshs 2.3 million because the dismissal lacked valid reasons and a fair process.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether there were valid reasons for summary dismissal under Section 44(4)(c)
No valid reasons for gross misconduct were proved. The advance payment of Kshs. 45 million was authorised by the Director Finance and Strategy and cost the Respondent nothing as the bonds were fully paid; the telephone bill was written off by Telkom Kenya. The lapses did not amount to wilful negligence.
The court analysed the three charges: the iPad payment went through procurement; the 45 million advance payment was authorised by the Director Finance and Strategy, though the Claimant queried it being outside the contract, and the audit report indicated no loss to the Respondent; the telephone bill was waived by Telkom Kenya and cost the Respondent nothing. The Claimant as Finance Manager had some lapses in oversight but these did not constitute wilful negligence justifying summary dismissal.
Whether the Claimant was accorded due process before dismissal
No. The disciplinary process was hurried, the audit report relied on was not complete, the hearing letter did not specify the offences to be defended, the minutes of the Council review were not supplied, and the minutes of the hearing did not evidence a fair process under Section 41 of the Employment Act.
The show cause letter was issued while the audit was ongoing; the hearing was a day after notice; the committee reported the same day at 6.35 pm and the termination followed the next day. The hearing letter did not inform the Claimant of the areas to be covered, and no minutes of the Council meeting that reviewed her response were attached. The minutes did not clearly set out accusations and responses, so the process fell short of Section 41 and Section 45(2) requirements.
What remedies the Claimant is entitled to
The Claimant was awarded 35 leave days, 4 days' salary for March 2014, one month's salary in lieu of notice and six months' salary as compensation, plus costs and interest.
The Respondent had admitted willingness to pay accrued leave days and salary for days worked in March 2014. The court awarded those amounts, plus one month's notice pay given the unfair termination, and exercised discretion to award six months' salary as compensation for the unlawful termination, taking into account the Claimant's performance of work.
Legal principles established
#- Summary dismissal under Section 44(4)(c) of the Employment Act requires proof of wilful neglect or careless/improper performance of duties; mere misgivings or errors of judgment that cause the employer no loss do not amount to gross misconduct
- A termination letter must state the reasons for termination as required by Section 43 of the Employment Act; a letter merely citing Section 44(4)(c) without details is insufficient
- Minutes of a disciplinary hearing that do not clearly show the accusations and the employee's responses do not evidence a fair process under Section 41 of the Employment Act
Court orders
#- 1.Payment of Kshs. 327,815.80 for 35 leave days owing
- 2.Payment of Kshs. 37,465 as 4 days' salary for March 2014 (4/30 x 280,985)
- 3.Payment of one month's salary in lieu of notice of Kshs. 280,985
- 4.Payment of six months' salary as compensation for unlawful termination, Kshs. 1,685,910 (6 x 280,985)
- 5.Total award of Kshs. 2,332,175.80
- 6.Respondent to pay costs of the suit plus interest at court rates with effect from the date of the judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Employment and Labour Relations Court jurisdiction under the Employment Act, 2007
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Susan Njoki Kibe aka Susan Mungai v Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya (ICPAK) [2019] KEELRC 1813 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2019). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelrc/2019/1813/eng@2019-04-04
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.