Beatrice Ombaka Asienwa v City Council of Nairobi [2018] KEELRC 267 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A Kenyan employment court ordered a county government to pay a retired officer Kshs. 430,000 for pension deductions and leave pay it withheld, with interest dating back to 1999.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether the plaintiff was entitled to the Kshs. 250,000 unremitted superannuation contributions and accumulated leave pay of Kshs. 180,000 (total Kshs. 430,000)
Yes - the payslips and confirmation by the Fund manager established deductions without remission, and the defendant's own documents confirmed 205 accumulated paid leave days unpaid
The plaintiff's payslips evidenced monthly deductions to KLGOSF which the Fund manager confirmed were never remitted by the defendant. Following Morris Kavale Kasyoki v Narcol Alluminium Rolling Mills Ltd, such non-remission amounts to theft of the employee's money. The defendant's documents confirmed 205 approved accumulated leave days unpaid, justifying the Kshs. 180,000 award. The defendant filed no counterclaim and its post-clearance demands were found unfounded and intended to delay the plaintiff's benefits.
Whether the defendant could withhold benefits for alleged liabilities (imprest, overpayment, medical claim, security bond)
No - the plaintiff cleared without liability; the defendant filed no counterclaim and adduced no witness
The plaintiff had cleared from service with no disciplinary or recovery proceedings pending. Her evidence that an officer confirmed all issues were cleared was uncontradicted, the defendant having filed no witness statement or witness. The late demands were found to be a scheme to delay her benefits, and any genuine claim should have been raised by counterclaim, which was never filed.
Legal principles established
#- A deduction made from an employee's salary without remission by the employer amounts to extortion or outright theft of the employee's money
Court orders
#- 1.Payment of the sum of Kshs. 430,000.00 plus interest at Court rates from 01.08.1999 to 20.12.2018 as the principal amount awarded
- 2.The defendant to pay the plaintiff the sum in (a) by 31.01.2019 failing which interest at Court rates from the date of judgment till full payment
- 3.The defendant to pay the plaintiff costs of the suit
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Employment and labour relations dispute heard under the Court's original jurisdiction (specific provision not stated in the judgment)
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Beatrice Ombaka Asienwa v City Council of Nairobi [2018] KEELRC 267 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2018). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelrc/2018/267/eng@2018-12-20
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.